375e symphonie Montréalaise

 

 

SYMPHONIE MONTRÉALAISE

 

 

SEASON PARTNER

CLOSING CONCERT OF THE 2016-2017 SEASON

SPECIAL EVENT TO MARK THE 375TH ANNIVERSARY OF MONTRÉAL.

 

UNE ODYSSÉE MAGIQUE, EN QUATRE MOUVEMENTS, INSPIRÉE DE L’ÂME POÉTIQUE DE SA VILLE, MONTRÉAL

 

The OSM invites you to an out-of-the-ordinary symphonic experience, the fruit of a collaboration between the internationally heralded young Canadian composer, Samy Moussa, and the equally world-renowned multimedia entertainment studio Moment Factory to create a unique new work celebrating the 375th anniversary of Montréal. Completing the program will be Dvořák’s stirring “New World” Symphony, a work full of promise, a bridge linking the past and the future.

 

 

VIDÉO CAPSULES

EPISODE 1: “THE SYMPHONY”

EPISODE 2: THE VISUAL EXPERIENCE

EPISODE 3: THE CONCERT

 

 

OEUVRES

Old worlds and new worlds – all qualifiers are relative depending on the stance of the observer. Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony no. 9 “From the New World” was inspired by the novelty of turn-of-the-century America viewed through the lens of a European expatriate, while Samy Moussa’s Symphony no. 1 “Concordia,” contrasts 375 years of municipal history to some 8,000 years of human activity on the island of Montreal. As a musical exploration of place, this programme suggests that “worlds” are new and new again with each passing moment, reborn through creative rediscovery.

 

 

 

CONCORDIA SALUS *

The OSM presents an all-new experience, the result of a collaboration between composer Samy Moussa and multimedia studio Moment Factory.
With the music setting the tone, the walls of the Maison symphonique undergo a metamorphosis as you embark on a dreamlike tour of Montreal. The work is paced by four living tableaux – Earth, Fire, Water and Air – that bring together the future and the past.
Each movement is introduced by the words of poetic souls who left their mark on Montreal’s history. Forgotten poets, tormented souls with arresting, compelling visions.
Surrender to this moving tribute to the city’s eternal vitality.

 

*Concordia Salus [salvation through harmony] is the city’s of Montreal motto.

 

 

 

ARTISTS

Samy_Moussa

SAMY MOUSSA

MORE INFORMATION

Born in Montreal in 1984, composer and conductor Samy Moussa has been a regular collaborator with orchestras and ensembles, including the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, the MDR Sinfonieorchester Leipzig, the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, the Vancouver CBC Radio Orchestra, the Orchestre national de Lorraine, the Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra, and the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra. Samy Moussa was also Assistant Conductor of the hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt and the Ensemble Modern. In 2010, Moussa was appointed Music Director of the INDEX Ensemble in Munich.
His first opera, L’autre frère, was premiered at the 12th Munich Biennale in 2010. His second opera, Vastation, received its premiere also at the Munich Biennale, in 2014, with the Regensburg Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by the composer and staged by Christine Mielitz, with subsequent performances in Regensburg. The libretto was written by author Toby Litt. His music for orchestra has been championed by world renowned musicians such as Kent Nagano, who commissioned from him five orchestral works for the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. His music is known for its clarity and power as well as its refined orchestration, and his conducting is characterized by energetic and inspired style.

 

Samy Moussa took part in several master classes in conducting with Pierre Boulez, Peter Eötvös, and Klaus Arp, among others. He studied composition and conducting at the Université de Montréal, where his principal teacher was José Evangelista, in addition to pursuing studies in conducting in the Czech Republic with Paolo Bellomia and an invitation to study in Finland with Magnus Lindberg. In 2007, Samy Moussa settled in Germany, where he enrolled at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater München with Matthias Pintscher and Pascal Dusapin. Additional studies include the Royaumont Voix Nouvelles course and lessons from Salvatore Sciarrino.
Samy Moussa lives in Paris and Berlin. He was awarded the Bayerischen Kunstförderpreis 2012 for his work as conductor with the INDEX Ensemble, and won the Composers’ Prize 2013 from the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation. His orchestral work Crimson was commissioned by Pierre Boulez for the Lucerne Festival, and premiered in 2015. The same year, he was named Quebec’s “Composer of the Year” by the Conseil québécois de la musique (Opus Prize). In 2017, he was awarded the Hindemith Prize. His music is published by Durand (Universal Music Publishing Classical).

kentnagano

KENT NAGANO

MORE INFORMATION

Kent Nagano has established an international reputation as one of the most insightful and visionary interpreters of both the operatic and symphonic repertoire. Since 2006 he is Music Director of the OSM, a contract extended until 2020, and was General Music Director of the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich from 2006 to 2013. He became Principal Guest Conductor and Artistic Advisor of the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra in 2013. Since 2015, he has been General Music Director and Principal Conductor of the Hamburg State Opera and Philharmonic Orchestra.
Born in California, Kent Nagano spent his early professional years in Boston, working in the opera house and as Assistant Conductor to Seiji Ozawa at the Boston Symphony Orchestra. He was Music Director of the Opéra national de Lyon (1988-1998), Music Director of the Hallé Orchestra (1991-2000), Associate Principal Guest Conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra (1990-1998) and Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of the Deutsches Symphonie- Orchester Berlin from 2000 to 2006 and remains their Honorary Conductor. Kent Nagano was the first Music Director of the Los Angeles Opera from 2003 to 2006. As a much sought-after guest conductor, Maestro Nagano has worked with most of the world’s finest orchestras – the Vienna, Berlin and New York Philharmonics, Chicago Symphony, Dresden Staatskapelle and Leipzig Gewandhaus and at leading opera houses including the Opéra national de Paris, Berlin State Opera, Metropolitan Opera and Semperoper Dresden. He has won two Grammy awards for his recording of Kaija Saariaho’s L’ amour de loin with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester and for Busoni’s Doktor Faust, recorded with the Opéra national de Lyon, among other awards.
In 2013, he was named Great Montrealer by the Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal, and he received the insignia of Grand Officer of the Order of Quebec.

photo

MOMENT FACTORY

MORE INFORMATION

Moment Factory is a multimedia studio based in Montreal with a full range of production expertise under one roof. Our team combines specializations in video, lighting, architecture, sound and special effects to create remarkable experiences. Since its inception in 2001, Moment Factory has created more than 400 unique shows and destinations around the world, including productions for Royal Caribbean, the LUMINA night walks, AURA, the immersive experience at Notre-Dame Basilica and live production design for Madonna and Céline Dion.

 

The team approaches each project as an opportunity to push the limits of creativity and technology, deepening audience engagement. The Montreal studio’s innovative exploratory approach has allowed it to develop a unique expertise: Moment Factory tells stories using multimedia, inspiring strong emotional responses and giving audiences unforgettable shared experiences.

 

Moment Factory’s work on the Symphonie montréalaise reflects a desire, shared with Kent Nagano and the OSM, to spark the audience’s imagination and awaken its senses. To create this multimedia work, the studio’s team, led by director Marie Belzil, immersed itself in the power of Samy Moussa’s composition. A visual metamorphosis unfolds in the heart of the Maison symphonique, transforming the hall in step with the music. It is an immersive multisensory experience that comes together in a dreamlike evocation of Montreal.

 

As a multimedia director, Marie Belzil mobilizes her team, infusing it with a collaborative spirit and pushing individuals to surpass themselves. Marie has a gift for telling the story of a place, capturing its true soul. Driven by a desire to give the studio’s installations and events deep meaning, she specializes in experiences with strong narrative lines. With each project, Marie invites audiences into worlds imbued with magic and emotion. On these immersive voyages, the lines between the tangible and the virtual, between art and technology, are blurred, inspiring audiences to share fully in the dream and the journey.

 

 

moment_factory_OSM.pdf - Google Chrome 2017-05-23 13.49.05
moment_factory_feu
moment_factory_eau
moment_factory_air

 

 

PARTNERS

 

 

150x52
Logocartouche-150x60
CAM_grandcoul-150x116
300x69
Calq_noir-150x67

375e symphonie Montréalaise

 

 

SYMPHONIE MONTRÉALAISE

 

 

PARTENAIRE DE SAISON

CONCERT DE CLÔTURE DE LA SAISON 2016-2017

ÉVÉNEMENT SPÉCIAL POUR LE 375è ANNIVERSAIRE DE MONTRÉAL.

UNE ODYSSÉE MAGIQUE, EN QUATRE MOUVEMENTS, INSPIRÉE DE L’ÂME POÉTIQUE DE SA VILLE, MONTRÉAL

 

 

L’OSM vous convie à une expérience symphonique hors du commun, fruit de la rencontre entre Samy Moussa, jeune compositeur canadien salué internationalement, et Moment Factory, artiste multimédia, aussi reconnu mondialement. Une œuvre unique sera créée à l’occasion des célébrations du 375e anniversaire de Montréal. Pour compléter ce programme, la célèbre Symphonie « Du Nouveau Monde », comme une promesse d’avenir, un trait d’union entre le passé et le futur.

ESPACE VIDÉO

VISIONNEZ LE CONCERT  « LA SYMPHONIE MONTRÉALAISE »

 

 

CAPSULES VIDÉO

 

 

ÉPISODE 1 : « LA SYMPHONIE« 

ÉPISODE 2 : L’EXPÉRIENCE VISUELLE

ÉPISODE 3 : LE CONCERT

 

 

OEUVRES

Anciens mondes, nouveaux mondes… les qualificatifs dépendent du point de vue de l’observateur. La Symphonie no 9, « Du Nouveau Monde », d’Antonín Dvořák puise son inspiration à la nouveauté et au potentiel de l’Amérique du tournant du siècle dernier, telle que la percevait un expatrié européen. Quant à la Symphonie no 1, « Concordia », de Samy Moussa, elle met en contraste 375 ans d’histoire municipale avec quelque 8 000 ans d’activité humaine sur l’île de Montréal. Il ressort du programme de ce soir, qui présente une sorte d’exploration musicale des caractères propres à chaque lieu, que les « mondes » se renouvellent à chaque instant, qu’ils renaissent grâce à notre imagination créative.

 

 

CONCORDIA SALUS *

L’OSM vous invite à vivre une expérience inédite, fruit de la collaboration du compositeur Samy Moussa et du studio multimédia Moment Factory.
Sous l’impulsion de la musique, les murs de la Maison symphonique se métamorphosent pour vous faire voyager dans une évocation onirique de Montréal. Unissant le futur au passé, quatre tableaux vivants rythment la pièce : Terre, Feu, Eau et Air.
Chaque mouvement est introduit par les mots des âmes poétiques qui ont tissé l’histoire de Montréal. Des poètes oubliés, des écorchés vifs dont la vision interpelle et bouscule.
Laissez-vous envoûter par cet hommage poignant à la vitalité historique de la ville.

 

*Concordia Salus [le salut par la concorde] est la devise de la ville de Montréal.

 

 

ARTISTES

Samy_Moussa

SAMY MOUSSA

PLUS D'INFORMATION

Né à Montréal en 1984, le compositeur et chef d’orchestre Samy Moussa a déjà eu l’occasion de diriger plusieurs formations, dont les orchestres symphoniques radiophoniques de Vienne, de Francfort et de Bavière, le Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, le MDR Sinfonieorchester Leipzig, l’Orchestre national de Lorraine, l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, le Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra, le Vancouver CBC Radio Orchestra et le Vancouver Symphony Orchestra. Il a aussi été chef assistant au hr-Sinfonieorchester et à l’Ensemble Modern, tous deux à Francfort, et a été nommé directeur musical de l’Ensemble INDEX de Munich en 2010.
Son premier opéra, L’autre frère, a été créé en 2010, lors de la 12e Biennale de Munich. Son deuxième, Vastation, dont le livret est signé Toby Litt, l’a été dans le cadre du même événement quatre ans plus tard, en 2014. Samy Moussa dirigeait alors lui-même l’Orchestre philharmonique de Ratisbonne qui a ensuite donné, dans cette ville, d’autres représentations de l’oeuvre dont la mise en scène avait été confiée à Christine Mielitz. Ses compositions orchestrales, réputées pour leur clarté, leur impact et leur raffinement, sont interprétées par des musiciens de réputation mondiale dont Kent Nagano, qui lui a commandé cinq oeuvres pour l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal.
Samy Moussa a d’abord acquis sa formation en composition et en direction d’orchestre à l’Université de Montréal, où le compositeur José Evangelista a été son principal professeur. Il a ensuite perfectionné sa direction d’orchestre auprès de Paolo Bellomia, en République tchèque, et de Magnus Lindberg, en Finlande, et en participant à plusieurs classes de maître données notamment par Pierre Boulez, Peter Eötvös et Klaus Arp. En 2007, il s’est installé à Munich pour étudier auprès de Matthias Pintscher et de Pascal Dusapin à la Hochschule für Musik und Theater. Il a aussi participé au programme Voix Nouvelles de Royaumont, et suivi des cours dispensés par Salvatore Sciarrino.
Samy Moussa réside à Paris et à Berlin. Il a reçu en 2012 le Bayerischen Kunstförderpreis pour son travail à titre de directeur musical de l’Ensemble INDEX et, en 2013, le Prix de composition de la Fondation Ernst von Siemens. En 2015, il a remporté le prix québécois Opus dans la catégorie « Compositeur de l’année », et son oeuvre Crimson, une commande de Pierre Boulez, a été créée au Festival de Lucerne. Tout récemment, en 2017, il recevait le prestigieux Prix Hindemith. Ses partitions sont publiées aux Éditions Durand (Universal Music Publishing Classical).

kentnagano

KENT NAGANO

PLUS D'INFORMATION

Kent Nagano jouit d’une solide réputation internationale, étant l’un des interprètes les plus profonds et avant-gardistes des répertoires symphonique et opératique. Depuis 2006, il est directeur musical de l’OSM, un contrat renouvelé jusqu’en 2020, et a été directeur musical général du Bayerische Staatsoper à Munich de 2006 à 2013. Il est devenu chef invité principal et conseiller artistique de l’Orchestre symphonique de Göteborg en 2013. Depuis 2015, il est directeur musical général et chef principal de l’Opéra d’État et de l’Orchestre philharmonique de Hambourg.
Né en Californie, il a entamé sa carrière à Boston : il a travaillé à l’Opéra et fut l’assistant du chef d’orchestre Seiji Ozawa au Boston Symphony Orchestra. Il a été directeur musical de l’Opéra national de Lyon de 1988 à 1998, directeur musical du Hallé Orchestra de 1991 à 2000, premier chef invité associé du London Symphony Orchestra de 1990 à 1998 et directeur artistique et premier chef du Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin de 2000 à 2006, dont il demeure chef d’orchestre honoraire. De 2003 à 2006, Kent Nagano fut le premier directeur musical du Los Angeles Opera. Très prisé en tant que chef invité, maestro Nagano a dirigé presque tous les grands orchestres – les orchestres philharmoniques de Vienne, Berlin et New York, le Chicago Symphony, le Dresden Staatskapelle et le Leipzig Gewandhaus, de même que des maisons d’opéra prestigieuses tels l’Opéra national de Paris, l’Opéra allemand de Berlin, le Metropolitan Opera et le Semperoper Dresden. Il a notamment remporté deux Grammy : pour son enregistrement de L’amour de loin de Kaija Saariaho avec le Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester et pour Doktor Faust de Busoni, enregistré avec l’Opéra national de Lyon.
En 2013, il a été nommé Grand Montréalais par la Chambre de commerce du Montréal métropolitain, en plus d’avoir reçu l’insigne de grand officier de l’Ordre national du Québec.

photo

MOMENT FACTORY

PLUS D'INFORMATION

Moment Factory est un studio de divertissement multimédia spécialisé dans la conception et la production d’environnements immersifs. Combinant la vidéo, l’éclairage, l’architecture, le son et les effets spéciaux, nous créons des expériences mémorables. Depuis ses débuts en 2001, Moment Factory a créé plus de 400 projets uniques dans les quatre coins du monde, que ce soit les spectacles signés pour la Royal Caribbean, les parcours nocturnes LUMINA, la mise en valeur de la Basilique Notre-Dame avec AURA ou la scénographie des tournées de Madonna et Céline Dion.

Chaque projet donne l’occasion à l’équipe de repousser les limites de la créativité et de la technologie au bénéfice de l’expérience du public. C’est cette exploration innovante qui permet au studio montréalais de grandir en développant une expertise unique en son genre : raconter des histoires grâce à la magie du multimédia, pour susciter l’émotion et faire vivre des expériences collectives mémorables.


Participer à la Symphonie montréalaise s’inscrit dans ce désir partagé avec Kent Nagano et l’OSM de stimuler l’imaginaire et d’éveiller les sens du public. Pour créer cette oeuvre multimédia, l’équipe créative de Moment Factory – guidée par la réalisatrice Marie Belzil – s’est laissée porter par la pulsion de la musique de Samy Moussa. La métamorphose visuelle se déploie ainsi au coeur de la Maison symphonique, transformant la salle en rythme avec la composition orchestrale. Une plongée immersive et multisensorielle qui offre une évocation onirique de Montréal.

En tant que réalisatrice multimédia, Marie Belzil rassemble et guide son équipe dans un esprit collaboratif qui pousse chaque talent à se dépasser. Marie a le don de faire ressortir les histoires d’un lieu pour en exprimer l’âme. Portée par le désir de donner un sens aux installations et aux évènements créés par le studio, elle se spécialise dans la conception d’expériences au fort pouvoir narratif. À travers les différents projets, Marie plonge le public dans des univers empreints de magie et d’émotion. Un voyage immersif où les limites entre le tangible et le virtuel, entre l’art et la technologie, se brouillent pour susciter le rêve et l’évasion.

 

 

moment_factory_OSM.pdf - Google Chrome 2017-05-23 13.49.05
moment_factory_feu
moment_factory_eau
moment_factory_air

 

 

PARTENAIRES

 

150x52
Logocartouche-150x60
CAM_grandcoul-150x116
300x69
Calq_noir-150x67