Adam Johnson

ADAM JOHNSON
OSM CONDUCTOR-IN-RESIDENCE

SEASON PARTNER

Award-winning Canadian conductor Adam Johnson has been praised as “an exciting talent” and for his “charismatic, commanding presence” on the podium. In September 2016 he took up the position of the OSM’s assistant conductor, and was appointed Resident Conductor in June 2018. He works closely with OSM Music Director Kent Nagano and has conducted more than 40 concerts with the OSM.

Prior to his tenure in Montreal, Mr. Johnson served for three seasons with the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, initially as Resident Conductor (2013-2015) and subsequently as Associate Conductor (2015-2016); he returned to the Calgary Philharmonic to conduct main series concerts with pianist Charles Richard-Hamelin in April 2017. He regularly guest-conducts the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra and has also appeared as Guest Conductor of the Québec, Saskatoon and Thunder Bay symphony orchestras. He will additionally conduct the opening concert of the upcoming season of the Orchestre symphonique de Trois-Rivières.

In 2015, Adam Johnson received the prestigious Jean-Marie-Beaudet Award for Orchestral Conducting from the Canada Council for the Arts. He holds a Doctorate in Piano Performance from the Université de Montréal and a Prize in Orchestral Conducting from the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal. He also pursued additional training in conducting at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa and Pierre Monteux School in Maine, USA.

As a piano soloist and chamber musician, Adam Johnson has performed extensively throughout Canada as well as in France and Japan. He has participated in master classes at the Banff Centre for the Arts, the Orford Arts Centre, and Morningside Music Bridge in Calgary. In high demand as a pedagogue, he served on the faculties of the McGill Conservatory (2010-2013) and the Université du Québec à Montréal (2013). He has also taught harmony, analysis, and chamber music, and translated a major treatise on harmonic analysis from French to English.

Adam Johnson

ADAM JOHNSON
CHEF EN RÉSIDENCE DE L’OSM

PARTENAIRE DE SAISON

Chef d’orchestre primé, le Canadien Adam Johnson a été louangé pour son « grand talent » et sa « présence imposante et charismatique ». Il occupe depuis septembre 2016 le poste de chef assistant à l’OSM et est devenu chef en résidence en juin 2018, ce qui lui a permis de travailler étroitement avec le directeur musical Kent Nagano, en plus de diriger plus de 40 concerts avec l’Orchestre.

Avant d’occuper ce poste à Montréal, M. Johnson a dirigé l’Orchestre philharmonique de Calgary, d’abord comme chef en résidence (2013-2015), puis comme chef associé (2015-2016). En avril 2017, il retournait à la barre du même orchestre pour diriger des concerts avec le pianiste Charles Richard-Hamelin. Comme chef invité, il est fréquemment engagé par l’Orchestre symphonique d’Edmonton en plus de faire des apparitions à la tête des orchestres symphoniques de Québec, Saskatoon et Thunder Bay. Il dirigera également le concert d’ouverture de la saison 2018-2019 de l’Orchestre symphonique de Trois-Rivières.

En 2015, Adam Johnson recevait le prestigieux prix Jean-Marie Beaudet en direction d’orchestre, une récompense offerte par le Conseil des arts du Canada. Titulaire d’un doctorat en piano de l’Université de Montréal et d’un prix en direction d’orchestre du Conservatoire de musique de Montréal, il a aussi bénéficié d’une formation en direction au Centre national des Arts d’Ottawa et à l’école Pierre Monteux dans le Maine.

En tant que soliste et chambriste, Adam Johnson a joué d’un bout à l’autre du pays, ainsi qu’en France et au Japon. Il a participé à des cours de maître au Banff Centre for the Arts, au Centre d’arts Orford ainsi qu’au Morningside Music Bridge à Calgary. Très sollicité pour ses qualités de pédagogue, il a donné des cours au Conservatoire de McGill (2010-2013) et à l’Université du Québec à Montréal (2013). Il a aussi enseigné l’harmonie, l’analyse ainsi que la musique de chambre, et a traduit du français à l’anglais un important traité d’analyse harmonique.