ALEXANDER BROTT

ALEXANDER BROTT

SEASON PARTNER

brott

Born in

1915

Death date

2005

Featured work

Spheres in Orbit (1960)

Concert

March 9, 2017

Alexander Brott is one of the most important anglophone composers to have made his career in Québec. A Montréal native, he first studied violin and composition at the McGill Conservatorium (later Conservatory) before moving on to the prestigious Juilliard School in New York, in 1934, to continue his training. While there he worked on the violin under Sascha Jacobsen, on composition with Bernard Wagenaar and on orchestra conducting with Albert Stoessel, three disciplines in which he would make a name for himself throughout his career.

First a violinist with the Montreal Orchestra starting in 1930, he joined the faculty of McGill University in 1939 as professor of violin and composition. In the course of his first year on the job he founded the McGill String Quartet, which in time became the McGill Chamber Orchestra – still active today under the direction of his son Denis. In 1945 Alexander Brott was appointed concertmaster with the Orchestre des concerts symphoniques de Montréal(the future OSM), a position he kept until 1958 while also serving as assistant conductor of the orchestra. Over the years the composer was honored on many occasions: three honorary doctorates, along with the titles of Member of the Order of Canada, Night of the National Order of Québec and Knight of Malta of the Order of St. John of Jerusalem. In 1962 he became the first Canadian composer to be invited to conduct his own music, along with various works of his compatriots’, in a USSR in mid–Cold War.

Spheres in Orbit is one work in the vast catalogue of compositions by Alexander Brott, which consists of over 100 titles written for voice and for various instrumental ensembles. Renowned conductors like Otto Klemperer, Leopold Stokowski and Charles Dutoit have interpreted his music in concert.

About the work Spheres in Orbit

Commissioned by the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal in 1960, this fresco for orchestra – of “descriptive realism,” in the words of the composer – seeks to represent the age of space flight. The audiences is invited to take part in the new space odyssey, just getting started at the time the work was composed. The spheres evoked in the title are a direct reference to the first Russian satellite, Sputnik.

Approaching extremes, drawing together the resources made available to the composer, Spheres in Orbit is in a way a symphonic poem with a rich power of evocation, featuring at the same time the grand-scale, the martial and the infinite solitude of celestial objects. Throughout the piece, passages reveal themselves to be both contrasting and complementary: its vast ternary form is effectively based on the opposition of forte (orchestral tutti) and piano dynamics (especially soli or passages in small instrumental groups), elaborated over successive accumulations of layers of sound. The great masses at the start and the finish deploy all the grandeur of a rhythmic, percussive orchestra, one often dominated by the power and brilliance of the brass. The central passage, calmer, has the instruments engaging in more of a dialogue with one another.



Alexander Brott’s program note for the premiere of Spheres in Orbit:

Spheres in Orbit is dedicated to my friends of long standing in the Montreal Symphony Orchestra. To speak of structure, technique or device strikes me as superfluous, and to submit extravagant program notes is to encourage conviction without trial. Music only comes to life with the active participation of an aware audience. I therefore invite you to join me in this flight of fancy called Spheres in Orbit.

The Space Ship is ready.

The Count-Down begins.

The awe of revelation invades us.

This is the supreme moment.”

– Alexander Brott, “My Most Successful Work,” The Canadian Composer, No. 24, December 1967, p. 21.

Recordings

Hear the version of the work by the Greater Symphony Orchestra of Soviet Radio and Television under the direction of the composer, recorded in 1961 on the Baroque Records label and reissued in 2009 by Orion.

[Citation : ]
“In October of 1962 I was asked to perform this work with various Russian orchestras as guest conductor on a tour of the Soviet Union as part of the Cultural Exchange Program. Although serial works are generally not appreciated in the U.S.S.R., Spheres in Orbit was an overwhelming success and provoked enthusiastic applause and bravos. That may be partly due to the Russian translation of the title: Sputnik na Orbitje! It was performed in Moscow, Leningrad, Teblisi and Yerevan. Before leaving Russia, I was asked to conduct a recording with the Soviet Bolshoi Radio and Television Orchestra.”

– Alexander Brott, “My Most Successful Work,” The Canadian Composer, No. 24, December 1967, p. 21.

Not much of Alexander Brott’s music has been recorded over the past 20 years. The Analekta label did however produce a disc in 2012 taken from a taping that dates from the early 1990s.

Works by Alexander Brott, Analekta, 2012. (ANC 9801)

Fans of vinyl might consider the seven records contained in the Anthology of Canadian Music.

Anthology of Canadian Music: Alexander Brott, Radio-Canada International, 1985. (ACM 20)

Literature

– Brott, Alexander, and King, Betty Nygaard. My Lives in Music. Oakville, Ont.: Mosaic Press, 2005.

Citation

“I had the honour of being the first Canadian composer to conduct his own work in the USSR. Lotte and I were conscious of our responsibility as Canadian cultural ambassadors, hoping to connect through the universal language of music and perhaps paving the way for political dialogue. With the Canadian Department of External Affairs and Soviet Ministry of Culture I carefully selected the program featuring my most recent composition, a twelve-tone work which I called Spheres in Orbit. The piece conveys the seeming weightlessness of the Sputnik satellite, which we had seen in the sky over our cottage in 1958.”

– Alexander Brott and Betty Nygaard King, My Lives in Music (Oakville, Ont.: Mosaic Press, 2005), p. 118.

ALEXANDER BROTT

ALEXANDER BROTT

PARTENAIRE DE SAISON

brott

Né en

1915

Décédé en

2005

Œuvre au programme

Spheres in Orbit (1960)

Concert

9 mars 2017

Alexander Brott est l’un des plus importants compositeurs anglophones à avoir fait carrière au Québec. Natif de Montréal, il étudie d’abord le violon et la composition au Conservatorium McGill, avant de se rendre à la prestigieuse Juiliard School de New York, en 1934, afin de poursuivre sa formation. Là, il travaille le violon auprès de Sascha Jacobsen, la composition sous la tutelle de Bernard Wagenaar et la direction d’orchestre avec Albert Stoessel, trois disciplines dans lesquelles il se démarquera tout au long de sa carrière.

D’abord violoniste du Montreal Orchestra dès 1930, il se joint au corps enseignant de l’Université McGill en 1939 à titre de professeur de violon et de composition. Au cours de sa première année en poste, il fonde le Quatuor à cordes McGill, appelé à devenir l’Orchestre de chambre McGill – toujours actif aujourd’hui sous la direction de son fils Denis. En 1945, Alexander Brott obtient la chaise de violon solo de l’Orchestre des concerts symphoniques de Montréal (le futur OSM), poste qu’il conserve jusqu’en 1958 parallèlement à ses activités de chef adjoint de l’orchestre. Au fil des ans, les honneurs se sont accumulés pour ce compositeur : trois doctorats honoris causa lui ont été remis, de même que les titres de Membre de l’Ordre du Canada, de Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Québec et de Chevalier de l’Ordre de Malte. En 1962, il devient le premier compositeur canadien à être invité à diriger sa propre musique, de même que diverses œuvres de ses compatriotes, dans une URSS en pleine Guerre froide.

Spheres in Orbit s’inscrit dans le vaste catalogue des œuvres d’Alexander Brott, qui compte plus d’une centaine de titres destinés tant à la voix qu’à des formations instrumentales diverses. Des chefs réputés, tels qu’Otto Klemperer, Leopold Stokowski et Charles Dutoit, ont dirigé sa musique en concert.

Commandée par l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal en 1960, cette fresque pour orchestre d’un « réalisme descriptif », selon les mots du compositeur, cherche à représenter l’âge du vol spatial. Le public est invité à prendre part à la nouvelle odyssée spatiale, qui n’en est qu’à ses débuts au moment de la composition de l’œuvre. Les sphères évoquées dans le titre sont une référence directe au tout premier satellite russe, Spoutnik.

Voisinant avec les extrêmes, polarisant les ressources mises à la portée du compositeur, Spheres in Orbit est en quelque sorte un poème symphonique au riche pouvoir d’évocation, qui met en scène à la fois le grandiose, le martial et l’infinie solitude des objets célestes. Tout au long de la pièce, les passages se révèlent à la fois contrastants et complémentaires : la vaste forme ternaire repose en effet sur l’opposition des dynamiques forte (tutti orchestraux) et piano (surtout des soli ou des passages en petits groupes instrumentaux), élaborées au fil d’accumulations successives de couches sonores. Les grandes masses du début et de la fin déploient toute la grandeur d’un orchestre rythmé, percussif et souvent dominé par la puissance et l’éclat des cuivres. Le passage central, plus calme, fait davantage dialoguer les instruments entre eux.

Notes du programme de la création de Spheres in Orbit, par Alexander Brott :

« Spheres in Orbit est dédié à mes amis de vieille date, l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. Parler de structure, de technique ou de truc me paraît superflu et ce serait susciter la conviction sans l’épreuve que de présenter des notes de programme extravagantes. La musique ne prend vie qu’avec la participation d’un auditoire éclairé. Je vous invite donc à vous joindre à moi dans cette envolée de la fantaisie appelée Spheres in Orbit.

La capsule est prête.
Le compte à rebours commence.
Une révélation grandiose nous envahit.
Voici le moment suprême. »

– Alexander Brott, « Mon plus grand succès », Le compositeur canadien / The Canadian Composer, n° 24, décembre 1967, p. 21.

Enregistrements

Écoutez l’enregistrement de l’œuvre par le Greater Symphony Orchestra of Soviet Radio and Television sous la direction du compositeur, enregistré en 1961 sous étiquette Baroque records et réédité en 2009 chez Orion.

Citation

« En octobre 1962, j’étais invité à exécuter cette œuvre avec divers orchestres russes en qualité de chef invité d’une tournée de l’Union soviétique dans le cadre du Programme d’échanges culturels. Même si les œuvres de musique sérielle ne sont pas appréciées de façon générale en U.R.S.S., Spheres in Orbit a remporté un succès monstre et provoqué des applaudissements et des bravos enthousiastes. C’est peut-être jusqu’à un certain point attribuable à la traduction russe du titre : Sputnik na Orbitje ! L’œuvre a été exécutée à Moscou, Léningrad, Teblisi et Yerevan. Avant mon départ, j’ai été invité à diriger l’Orchestre soviétique Bolshoï de la radio et de la télévision dans l’enregistrement de l’œuvre. »

Alexander Brott, « Mon plus grand succès », Le compositeur canadien / The Canadian Composer, n° 24, décembre 1967, p. 21.

La musique d’Alexander Brott a fait l’objet de peu d’enregistrements au cours des vingt dernières années. L’étiquette Analekta a cependant produit un disque en 2012, tiré d’une captation datant du début des années 1990.

Œuvres d’Alexander Brott, Analekta, 2012. (ANC 9801)

Les amateurs de vinyle pourront se rabattre sur les sept disques que contient l’Anthologie de la musique canadienne.

Anthologie de la musique canadienne : Alexander Brott, Radio-Canada international, 1985. (ACM 20)

Littérature

BROTT, Alexander et Betty Nygaard King. Mes réincarnations en musique : mémoires, traduit de l’anglais par Léonard Rosmarin. Toronto, Éditions du GREF, 2015.

BROTT, Alexander et Betty Nygaard King. My Lives in Music. Oakville (Ont.), Mosaic Press, 2005.

Citation

« J’ai eu l’honneur d’être le premier compositeur canadien à diriger sa propre musique en U.R.S.S. Ma femme Lotte et moi-même étions conscients de notre responsabilité à titre d’ambassadeurs culturels canadiens, et espérions établir des contacts par l’entremise du langage universel de la musique, et peut-être ainsi paver la voie vers un dialogue politique. En collaboration avec le Département canadien des affaires extérieures et le Ministère soviétique de la culture, j’ai consciencieusement élaboré le programme, auquel s’inscrivait ma composition la plus récente, une œuvre sérielle intitulée Spheres in Orbit. Cet opus véhicule l’apparente légèreté du satellite Spoutnik, que nous avions aperçu dans le ciel au-dessus de notre maison en 1958. »

BROTT, Alexander et Betty Nygaard King. My Lives in Music. Oakville (Ont.), Mosaic Press, 2005, p. 118. Traduction libre de la rédaction.