Brian Current

Brian Current

SEASON PARTNER

current

Born in

1972

Featured work

The Seven Heavenly Halls

Concert

October 19, 2016

At this point in time, Brian Current is one of the most highly regarded composers on the Canadian music scene. A native of Ottawa, he first took a degree at McGill University – where he studied under the supervision of composers Bengt Hambraeus and John Rea – before entering a doctoral program at the University of California at Berkeley, from which he graduated in 2002.

Brian Current’s career embraces both composition and orchestra conducting, two dimensions that feed into each other. The concern for orchestral textures that characterizes his style comes directly from his knowledge of instruments acquired over years of conducting. On the other hand, his work as a composer may well have an impact on the repertoire he champions in concert. Also evident in his music is a pronounced interest in a lively and fluid rhythmic writing, one that recalls the energetic minimalism of American composer John Adams.

Brian Current’s music has been performed around the world. Programmed both by large symphony orchestras and ensembles specializing in contemporary music, his works have found favor with audiences and musicians alike. They have earned him numerous awards and distinctions in the course of his career; these include a prestigious Guggenheim Fellowship in the U.S., the Barlow Prize for Orchestral Music, and the Premio Fedora, which he was awarded in Italy for his chamber opera Airline Icarus. His piece for orchestra For the Time Being (1999) was also an award winner, at UNESCO’s International Rostrum of Composers, which took place in Paris in 2001.

Program note

Current’s note on the subject of The Seven Heavenly Halls:

I became interested in the Zohar (the Book of Enlightenment) while researching texts for The River of Light, a large-scale multi-movement oratorio for choir, orchestra and soloists. The name of the cycle comes from Dante’s Paradiso, where the Pilgrim enters the glowing core of heaven and declares: “And I saw a light in the form of a river, radiant as gold, between banks painted with wondrous springs.” My frequent collaborator and librettist Anton Piatigorsky has written several plays inspired by Jewish mysticism, so I asked him if he knew of any historical texts from the Jewish tradition that were similar in theme to Dante’s journey. He introduced me to the Zohar, which he described as the most central book in the Kabbalah and the most mysterious of Jewish mystical texts.

It’s a beautiful document largely attributed to Rabbi Moses de León (1250-1305), writing as Simeon bar Yochai in the 2nd century. While reading through the Zohar, I immediately heard turbulent and gestural music full of orchestral colors:

“When the King conceived ordaining He engraved engravings in the luster on high. A blinding spark flashed within the Concealed of the Concealed from the mystery of the Infinite, a cluster of vapor in formlessness, set in a ring, not white, not black, not red, not green, no color at all. When a band spanned, it yielded radiant colors. Deep within the spark gushed a flow imbuing colors below, concealed within the concealed of the mystery of the Infinite.”

Even more inspiring and brimming with musical possibilities was the Zohar’s reference to The Seven Heavenly Halls, a series of ecstatic stages where each vision is marked by a different color. After passing through each of the colored halls a mystical traveler will, much like Dante’s Pilgrim, enter a seventh and “colorless” state. Color in music refers to the timbre of a sound as created by different combinations of overtones. Sounds with high overtones produce very bright musical colors and sounds with lower overtones create darker ones. Like many composers, I like to create colors across the entire orchestra, so envisioned a piece made up of seven ecstatic stages represented by different musical colors and textures. With the addition of three introductory movements, the piece is divided into ten sections, to be performed with little or no pause between them:

  1. Introduction: The Enlightened will Shine Like the Splendour of the Sky
  2. This is the Light
  3. Les sept palais célestes
  4. Hall One: Yesod (Foundation)
  5. Hall Two: Hod (Splendor)
  6. Hall Three: Netzach (Victory)
  7. Hall Four: Gevura (Strength)
  8. Hall Five: Ahava (Love)
  9. Hall Six: Ratzon (Will)
  10. Hall Seven: Kodesh Ha Kadashim (Holy of Holies)

Throughout, the tenor soloist acts as both our guide through The Heavenly Halls and as our medium into the texts of the Zohar. In calmer moments he sings in a style resembling cantillation, using scales based on the traditional Ahavah Rabbah, Magein Avot and Adonai Malach modes. The chorus, on the other hand, is envisioned as a myriad (of) voices within the texture of the orchestra so that the music is layered with the sounds of the traditional Sefirot: keter, binah, chochmah, da’at, chesed, gevurah, tiferet, hod, netzach, yesod and malchut. These are placed stereophonically in the choir in columns of right, middle and left as they are traditionally configured (S=Soprano, A=Alto, T=Tenor, B=Bass):

Keter (T3, B3)

Binah (S3) Chachmach (A3)

Gevurah (S2) Hesed (A2)

Tiferet (T2, B2)

Hod (S1) Netzach (A1)

Yesod (T1, B1)

The Seven Heavenly Halls forms Part I of The River of Light, a large-scale multi-movement cycle for choir, orchestra and soloists. Made up of seven separate pieces, The River of Light is about transcendence and is based on the texts of several traditions (Hindu, Christian, Jewish, First Nations Canadian, Sufi, Maori and Chinese) that describe mystical journeys towards an exalted state.

Many thanks to Anton Piatigorsky for introducing me to and adapting these beautiful texts, to Yehoshua Rosenthal in Jerusalem for translating them, and to the scholars Daniel Matt (UC Berkeley), Nathan Wolski (Monash University) and Arthur Haberman (York University) for helping me find and interpret them. A big thank you as well goes to the Montreal Symphony and Chorus for premiering the work with the stellar Frédéric Antoun in the tenor role. And the biggest thanks of all goes to the Azrieli Foundation for all their work behind the scenes and for their visionary example of patronage, which I’m sure will inspire many others to support artists for years to come.

– Brian Current

The Seven Heavenly Halls is part of the Azrieli Music Project, which celebrates, encourages and ensures the creation of new Jewish orchestral music.

Videos

Listen to Brian Current’s Strata (2010), performed by the Continuum ensemble.

Recordings

Brian Current: Airline Icarus, Naxos – Canadian Classics, 2014. (8.660356)

Brian Current: This Isn’t Silence, Centrediscs, 2007. (CMCCD 12607)

Brian Current

Brian Current

PARTENAIRE DE SAISON

current

Né en

1972

Œuvre au programme

The Seven Heavenly Halls

Concert

19 octobre 2016

À l’heure actuelle, Brian Current est l’un des compositeurs les plus prisés de la scène musicale canadienne. Natif d’Ottawa, il obtient d’abord un diplôme de l’Université McGill – où il étudie sous la supervision des compositeurs Bengt Hambraeus et de John Rea – avant d’entamer un doctorat à la réputée Université de Californie à Berkeley, d’où il gradue en 2002.

La carrière de Brian Current touche tant à la composition qu’à la direction d’orchestre, et ces deux dimensions se nourrissent mutuellement. Le travail sur les textures orchestrales qui caractérise son style découle directement de la connaissance des instruments qu’il a acquise au fil des ans à titre de chef. D’autre part, son travail de compositeur pourrait avoir un impact sur le répertoire qu’il défend en concert.

On décèle aussi dans sa musique un intérêt prononcé pour une écriture rythmique vive et fluide, qui ne manque pas de rappeler le minimalisme énergique du compositeur américain John Adams.

La musique de Brian Current a été exécutée à travers le monde. Programmées tant par les grands orchestres symphoniques que par les ensembles spécialisés en musique contemporaine, ses œuvres ont su gagner à la fois la faveur du public et celle des musiciens, ainsi qu’en témoignent les nombreux prix et distinctions obtenus au cours de sa carrière. Parmi ceux-ci, soulignons une prestigieuse Bourse Guggenheim (É.-U.), le Barlow Prize pour la musique d’orchestre et le Premio Fedora, qui lui fut décerné en Italie pour son opéra de chambre Airline Icarus. Sa pièce pour orchestre For TheTime Being (1999) a aussi été primée à l’occasion de la Tribune internationale des compositeurs de l’UNESCO, qui s’est tenue à Paris en 2001.

Note de programme

Notes de Brian Current au sujet de The Seven Heavenly Halls (Les sept palais célestes)

Je me suis intéressé au Zohar (Livre de la Splendeur) lors de ma recherche de textes pour The River of Light (Le fleuve de lumière), un oratorio de grande envergure en plusieurs mouvements pour chœur, orchestre et solistes. Le titre du cycle provient du Paradis de Dante, lorsque le pèlerin pénètre dans le centre lumineux du paradis et déclare : « Je vis lumière en forme d’un grand fleuve, roulant sa reflambie entre deux rives peintes de trop mirable primevère ». Le librettiste Anton Piatigorsky, avec qui je collabore fréquemment, a écrit plusieurs pièces de théâtre inspirées par la mystique juive ; je lui ai donc demandé s’il connaissait des textes historiques juifs dont les thèmes s’apparentaient au voyage de Dante. Il m’a initié au Zohar, qu’il décrit comme l’œuvre maîtresse de la Kabbale et la plus mystérieuse de la mystique juive.

Il s’agit d’un merveilleux document écrit sous le nom de Simeon bar Yochai (IIe siècle) mais principalement attribué par les spécialistes à Rabbi Moïse de Léon (1240-1305). En lisant le Zohar, j’ai immédiatement entendu une musique mouvementée pleine de couleurs orchestrales.

« Avant toutes choses, le Roi a permis la transformation du vide en un éther transparent, fluide, impondérable, pareil à la lumière provenant des corps phosphorescents. Ensuite par un mystère des plus secrets de l’infini, ce fluide se métamorphosa en un gaz dépourvu de toute configuration aériforme, ni blanc, ni noir, ni rouge, ni vert, ni d’aucune couleur] … [dans la lumière il existe une onde qui est la cause efficiente de la variété des couleurs en ce bas monde. »

Ce qui m’a encore plus inspiré dans le Zohar, c’est la référence à sept palais célestes correspondants à autant de visions de l’extase. Après avoir traversé six palais, chacun d’une couleur distincte, un voyageur mystique, tel le pèlerin de Dante, atteint un septième état « incolore ». En musique, la couleur réfère au timbre créé par les différentes combinaisons d’harmoniques. Les harmoniques aigues génèrent des couleurs brillantes et les graves, des couleurs sombres. Comme bien des compositeurs, j’aime utiliser toutes les possibilités de couleurs orchestrales ; j’ai imaginé une œuvre composée de sept états extatiques représentés par des couleurs et des textures différentes, en y ajoutant trois mouvements d’introduction. La pièce est divisée en dix sections :

  1. 1. Introduction : Ceux qui auront été savants brilleront comme les feux du firmament
  2. 2. Ceci est la lumière
  3. 3. Les sept palais célestes
  4. 4. Premier palais : Yesod (Fondation)
  5. 5. Deuxième palais : Hod (Splendeur)
  6. 6. Troisième palais : Netzach (Victoire)
  7. 7. Quatrième palais : Gevura (Force)
  8. 8. Cinquième palais : Ahava (Amour)
  9. 9. Sixième palais : Ratzon (Volonté)
  10. 10. Septième palais : Kodesh Ha Kadashim (Saint des saints)

   

Le ténor soliste sert de guide pour la traversée des palais célestes et d’intermédiaire aux textes du Zohar.  Dans les moments calmes, il chante dans un style proche de la cantillation, inspiré des modes traditionnels Ahavah Rabbah, Magein Avot et Adonai Malach. Par contraste, le chœur est imaginé comme une myriade de voix se mêlant à la texture de l’orchestre superposant les sons du Sefiroth : keter, binah, chochmah, da’at, chesed, gevurah, tiferet, hod, netzach, yesod et malchut. Ceux-ci sont placés en stéréo dans le chœur en trois colonnes (gauche, milieu, droite) selon la configuration traditionnelle (S=Soprano, A=Alto, T=Ténor, B=Basse) :

Keter (T3, B3)

Binah (S3) Chachmach (A3)

Gevurah (S2) Hesed (A2)

Tiferet (T2, B2)

   Hod (S1) Netzach (A1)

Yesod (T1, B1)

The Seven Heavenly Halls est la première partie de River of Light, un oratorio qui traite de la transcendance et est fondé sur des textes issus de plusieurs traditions (hindoue, chrétienne, juive, des Premières Nations, soufie, maorie et chinoise) qui décrivent des parcours mystiques vers un état d’extase.

Merci à Anton Piatigorsky de m’avoir fait découvrir ces textes et de les avoir adaptés, à Yehoshua Rosenthal à Jérusalem pour les avoir traduits, ainsi qu’aux spécialistes Daniel Matt (Université de Californie à Berkeley), Nathan Wolski (Université de Monash) et Arthur Haberman (Université de York) de m’avoir aidé à trouver et à interpréter les textes. Un grand merci aussi à l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal de créer l’œuvre avec l’extraordinaire ténor Frédéric Antoun. Mes remerciements les plus vifs vont à la Fondation Azrieli pour son énorme travail en coulisse et son approche visionnaire de l’appui aux arts qui, j’en suis persuadé, inspirera plusieurs mécènes pour des années à venir.

Brian Current   

The Seven Heavenly Halls s’inscrit dans le projet de musique Azrieli, qui célèbre, encourage et assure la création de nouvelles musiques orchestrales juives.

Vidéos

Écoutez Strata (2010) de Brian Current, interprété par l’ensemble Continuum.

Enregistrements

Brian Current : Airline Icarus, Naxos – Classiques canadiens, 2014. (8.660356)

Brian Current : This Isn’t Silence, Centredisques, 2007. (CMCCD 12607)