DEBUSSY: PELLÉAS ET MÉLISANDE

Maison symphonique de Montréal
Ticket Prices
$42* to $200*
Concert dates
Tuesday, September 8, 2015 - 8:00 PM Done
Wednesday, September 9, 2015 - 8:00 PM Done
Artists
Kent Nagano, conductorchef d’orchestre
Hélène Guilmette, soprano (Mélisande)soprano (Mélisande)
Bernard Richter, tenor (Pelléas)ténor (Pelléas)
Philippe Sly, baritone (Golaud)baryton (Golaud)
Nicolas Testé, bass (Arkel, King of Allemonde) basse (Arkel, roi d'Allemonde)
Marie-Nicole Lemieux, contralto (Geneviève)contralto (Geneviève)
Florie Valiquette, soprano (Yniold, the son of Golaud)soprano (Yniold, fils de Golaud)
Hugo Laporte, baritone (a doctor and a shepherd)baryton (un médecin et un berger)
OSM ChorusChœur de l’OSM
Andrew Megill, OSM chorus masterchef de chœur de l’OSM

Presentation of the concert

Debussy, Pelléas et Mélisande (approx. 170 min.)

 

Debussy longed to create an opera whose music would give life to its words. He weaves a spellbinding story, a theatrical tale of impossible love. Join us for this opening concert of the season reuniting the Orchestra and the OSM Chorus conducted by Kent Nagano in a dazzling display of vocal power and dramatic expression.

 

September 9

Networking event by the Club des jeunes ambassadeurs for ages 34 and under

 

CLAUDE DEBUSSY

Born in St. Germain-en-Laye, August 22, 1862 – Died in Paris, March 25, 1918

PELLÉAS ET MÉLISANDE
LYRIC DRAMA IN FIVE ACTS BY CLAUDE DEBUSSY

Taken from the play Pelléas et Mélisande by Maurice Maeterlinck (1892)

 

“I do not claim to have discovered everything in Pelléas. But I have tried to denote a path that others might follow and develop in their own ways so as, perhaps, to free dramatic music from the heavy constraints under which it has been held for so long.”

– Claude Debussy, “Why I Wrote Pelléas,” 1902

 

Pelléas et Mélisande holds a very special place in the repertory of late 19th and early 20th-century French opera. In an age conspicuous for the overbearing influence of Wagner, Debussy’s only completed opera represents the result of his attempt to create a new kind of theatrical drama, something “après Wagner et non pas d’après Wagner” (post Wagner but not derivative of Wagner), as Debussy himself put it following the premiere in Paris in April 1902. The score of Pelléas et Mélisande is unquestionably the product of the staunchly Wagnerian era in which it was created. Among other things, Debussy employed a system of musical motifs in a manner quite close to the Wagnerian Leitmotiv. The opera’s musical language, as well as Debussy’s choice of libretto, indicate, however, a search for new paths in opera that would have a profound impact on the further development of the genre.
 

Debussy’s literary source was the eponymous play by the Belgian Symbolist poet Maurice Maeterlinck (1862-1949), whose plays had been making the rounds of Parisian theaters since the early 1890s. Fascinated by what he called the “dream atmosphere” of Pelléas, Debussy set nearly the entire text to music, adopting the prosody as it existed in all of Maeterlinck’s half-tints and making only a few cuts. Pelléas is thus one of the first French operas to have as its “libretto” a theatrical play written in prose – and not just any play: Maeterlinck’s work was the source of inspiration for other composers as well, including Arnold Schoenberg, whose symphonic poem Pelleas und Melisande, premiered in 1905, was written within a few months following the first performance of Debussy’s opera.

 

To set Maeterlinck’s highly evocative text to music, one in which the simplest words are often those most heavily laden with symbolic meaning, Debussy used a very free declamation close to the spoken word, orchestra “speaks” very much in the manner of the voices, adding to the mystery of characters for whom silences are at times more revelatory than words.

 

ACT I

Scene 1: A forest.While out hunting, Prince Golaud becomes lost in the forest. He spies a young woman crying beside a fountain, asks her many questions, but succeeds in learning nothing more than her name, Mélisande. He nevertheless manages to convince her to follow him out of the forest.

Scene 2: A room in the castle. Golaud’s mother Geneviève is reading to old King Arkel a letter Golaud has sent to his half-brother Pelléas. Golaud tells of his recent marriage to Mélisande and of his apprehension over how Arkel will regard Mélisande when they return to the castle. Arkel announces that he will accept Mélisande as his own daughter.

Scene 3: In front of the castle. Geneviève and Mélisande, out for a bit of sun, are walking in the castle garden. They meet Pelléas, who tells Mélisande that he will soon depart the castle.

 

ACT II

Scene 1: A well in the park. Pelléas leads Mélisande to a well that long ago had the property of making the blind see. While playfully leaning over the water, Mélisande drops the wedding band Golaud had given her.

Scene 2: A room in the castle. Mélisande is at Golaud’s bedside. He was injured when thrown from his horse, at the very moment when Mélisande lost the wedding band. She does not dare tell him what really happened; she claims it slipped off in a cave near the sea. Golaud furiously orders her to return there immediately and search for it.

Scene 3: Outside a cave. Pelléas and Mélisande start to enter a cave by the light of the moon, but upon seeing three derelicts sleeping within, they become distraught and flee.
 

ACT III

Scene 1: A castle tower. Mélisande is singing while combing her long hair by the window of her room. Beneath her, at the foot of the tower, Pelléas again announces his intent to leave on the morrow. He attempts to draw close in order to kiss her hand, and finds himself engulfed in Mélisande’s hair, which has fallen all about him from the castle window. Golaud unexpectedly arrives and puts an end to their little rendezvous.

Scene 2: The dungeons below the castle. Together Pelléas and Golaud explore the dark, forbidding underground regions of the castle.

Scene 3: A terrace at the entrance to the dungeons. Upon returning to the fresh air, Golaud warns Pelléas that he saw what was going on at the tower window, and that he wants no more of this behavior, especially as Mélisande is soon to become a mother and it is his responsibility to ensure all goes well.

Scene 4: In front of the castle. Golaud uses Yniold, his son from a previous marriage, to spy on Mélisande. From him, Golaud learns that Pelléas is with her in her room.
 

ACT IV

Scene 1: A room in the castle. Pelléas arranges to meet Mélisande by the Blind Men’s Well.

Scene 2: A room in the castle. Golaud behaves contemptuously and violently toward Mélisande. Arkel asks her what is the meaning of all this. She replies that Golaud no longer loves her.

Scene 3: A well in the park. Little Yniold is trying in vain to retrieve his golden ball that has become lodged behind a large stone. A flock of sheep comes into view. They are not heading for the fold, and Yniold worriedly asks the shepherd where they will spend the night.

Scene 4: A well in the park. Pelléas assures Mélisande that the reason he must leave the castle is that he is in love with her. Mélisande’s response to Pelléas, trembling with anticipation, is accompanied by total silence from the orchestra: “I love you too.” They both suddenly realize that Golaud is watching them. They embrace passionately, heedless of the lurking danger. Golaud mortally wounds Pelléas with his sword, and Mélisande flees, with Golaud in pursuit.
 

ACT V

A room in the castle. Golaud implores Mélisande, on her deathbed, for forgiveness after the shameful way he has treated her. In hope of learning the truth, he presses her with questions about her true relationship with Pelléas. Exactly how did they love, he wants to know. Her responses are couched in oracular ambiguity. Arkel hands Mélisande the child she has brought into the world, a little girl. The household servants all enter the room just as Mélisande dies. Golaud collapses, sobbing. The last words go to Arkel, who affirms that now it is the turn of Mélisande’s poor little child to live on in her place.

 

© Marie-Hélène Benoit-Otis

English translation by Robert Markow

Concert categories
Similar Concerts
Concert series
* Prices, artists, repertoire, and, concert dates and times may be modified without notice.

Prices include a non-refundable service fee of $9.00 per ticket. Some handling fee may be charged.

DEBUSSY : PELLÉAS ET MÉLISANDE

Maison symphonique de Montréal
Prix des billets
42$* à 200$*
Dates de ce concert
Mardi 8 Septembre 2015 - 20h00 Terminé
Mercredi 9 Septembre 2015 - 20h00 Terminé
Artistes
Kent Nagano, conductorchef d’orchestre
Hélène Guilmette, soprano (Mélisande)soprano (Mélisande)
Bernard Richter, tenor (Pelléas)ténor (Pelléas)
Philippe Sly, baritone (Golaud)baryton (Golaud)
Nicolas Testé, bass (Arkel, King of Allemonde) basse (Arkel, roi d'Allemonde)
Marie-Nicole Lemieux, contralto (Geneviève)contralto (Geneviève)
Florie Valiquette, soprano (Yniold, the son of Golaud)soprano (Yniold, fils de Golaud)
Hugo Laporte, baritone (a doctor and a shepherd)baryton (un médecin et un berger)
OSM ChorusChœur de l’OSM
Andrew Megill, OSM chorus masterchef de chœur de l’OSM

Présentation du concert

Debussy, Pelléas et Mélisande (approx. 170 min.)

 

CLAUDE DEBUSSY
Né à Saint-Germain-en-Laye, le 22 août 1862 – Mort le 25 mars 1918, à Paris

PELLÉAS ET MÉLISANDE
DRAME LYRIQUE EN CINQ ACTES DE CLAUDE DEBUSSY
D’après la pièce de Maurice Maeterlinck Pelléas et Mélisande (1892)

« Je ne prétends pas avoir tout découvert dans Pelléas, mais j’ai essayé de frayer un chemin que d’autres pourront suivre, l’élargissant de trouvailles personnelles qui débarrasseront peut-être la musique dramatique de la lourde contrainte dans laquelle elle vit depuis si longtemps. »
– Claude Debussy, « Pourquoi j’ai écrit Pelléas », 1902.

Pelléas et Mélisande occupe une place très particulière dans le répertoire lyrique français de la fin du 19e siècle et du début du 20e siècle. À une époque marquée par l’influence écrasante de Wagner, l’unique opéra que Debussy ait terminé représente l’aboutissement de ses efforts pour créer un genre lyrique nouveau, « après Wagner et non pas d’après Wagner », comme l’écrivait Debussy lui-même peu après la création de son opéra à Paris en avril 1902. Certes, la partition de Pelléas et Mélisande demeure marquée par l’époque résolument wagnérienne qui l’a vue naître : Debussy y a notamment utilisé un système de symboles musicaux assez proche du principe wagnérien du leitmotiv. Aussi bien le langage musical de l’opéra que le livret choisi par Debussy témoignent cependant d’une recherche de nouvelles avenues lyriques qui devait marquer profondément l’histoire de l’opéra.

La source littéraire du drame lyrique de Debussy est la pièce Pelléas et Mélisande de Maurice Maeterlinck (1862-1949), poète symboliste belge dont les oeuvres dramatiques circulaient sur les scènes parisiennes depuis le début des années 1890. Séduit par ce qu’il appelait « l’atmosphère de rêves » de la pièce, Debussy a choisi de la mettre en musique presque intégralement, reprenant telle quelle (à quelques coupures près) la prose tout en demi-teintes de Maeterlinck. Pelléas et Mélisande est donc l’un des premiers opéras français à avoir pour « livret » une pièce de théâtre en prose – et pas n’importe laquelle : la pièce de Maeterlinck a en effet inspiré plusieurs compositeurs, parmi lesquels Arnold Schoenberg dont le poème symphonique Pelleas und Melisande, créé en 1905, a été composé dans les mois suivant la première représentation de l’opéra de Debussy.

Pour mettre en musique le texte hautement évocateur de Maeterlinck, dans lequel les mots les plus simples sont souvent les plus lourds de significations symboliques, Debussy a favorisé une déclamation libre et proche du langage parlé, générant des mélodies aux antipodes des grands airs de l’opéra traditionnel. Dans cette musique d’une immense subtilité, l’orchestre « parle » au moins autant que les voix, ajoutant au mystère de personnages dont les silences sont parfois plus révélateurs que les paroles.

 

ACTE I

Scène 1 : Une forêt. Au cours d’une expédition de chasse, le prince Golaud s’est perdu dans la forêt. Il y trouve une jeune femme en pleurs au bord d’une fontaine. Malgré ses questions, il ne parvient à apprendre d’elle que son nom : Mélisande. Il arrive néanmoins à la convaincre de le suivre hors de la forêt.

Scène 2 : Un appartement dans le château. La mère de Golaud, Geneviève, lit au vieux roi Arkel une lettre que Golaud a envoyée à son demi-frère, Pelléas. Golaud y annonce son récent mariage avec Mélisande, et exprime son inquiétude : peut-il rentrer au château sans craindre qu’Arkel rejette sa nouvelle épouse ? Arkel accepte la décision de Golaud et décide d’accueillir Mélisande comme sa propre fille.

Scène 3 : Devant le château. Geneviève et Mélisande, à la recherche d’un peu de soleil, se promènent dans les jardins du palais. Elles croisent Pelléas, qui annonce à Mélisande qu’il partira bientôt.

ACTE II

Scène 1 : Une fontaine dans le parc. Pelléas montre à Mélisande une fontaine qui, jadis, ouvrait les yeux des aveugles. En jouant au-dessus de l’eau, Mélisande y laisse tomber l’anneau de mariage que Golaud lui a donné.

Scène 2 : Un appartement dans le château. Mélisande est au chevet de Golaud blessé, qui a été désarçonné par son cheval au moment même où elle perdait sa bague. Elle n’ose pas lui avouer ce qui s’est passé, et prétend que l’anneau a glissé de son doigt dans une grotte près de la mer. Furieux, Golaud lui ordonne de retourner y chercher la bague immédiatement.

Scène 3 : Devant une grotte. Pelléas et Mélisande tentent d’entrer dans la grotte à la clarté de la lune. Ils s’enfuient, effrayés par trois pauvres hères qui dorment dans la grotte.

 

ACTE III

Scène 1 : Une des tours du château. Mélisande chante en peignant ses longs cheveux à la fenêtre de sa chambre. Debout au pied de la tour, Pelléas lui annonce encore une fois son départ prochain; il cherche à s’approcher d’elle pour l’embrasser et lui tenir la main, et se retrouve submergé par les cheveux de Mélisande qui tombent par la fenêtre de la tour. Golaud survient et met fin à leur rencontre.

Scène 2 : Les souterrains du château. Pelléas et Golaud explorent ensemble les sombres et sinistres souterrains du château.

Scène 3 : Une terrasse au sortir des souterrains. De retour à l’air libre, Golaud prévient Pelléas : il a vu ce qui s’est passé à la fenêtre de la tour, et il ne veut pas que cela se reproduise, d’autant plus que Mélisande attend un enfant et qu’il faut la ménager pour que tout se passe bien.

Scène 4 : Devant le château. Golaud utilise Yniold, son fils né d’un premier mariage, pour espionner Mélisande. Il découvre ainsi que Pelléas est avec elle dans sa chambre.

 

ACT IV

Scène 1 : Un appartement dans le château. Pelléas donne rendez-vous à Mélisande près de la fontaine des aveugles.

Scène 2 : Un appartement dans le château. Golaud traite Mélisande avec violence et mépris. À Arkel qui l’interroge sur ce qui vient de se passer, Mélisande répond que Golaud ne l’aime plus.

Scène 3 : Une fontaine dans le parc. Le petit Yniold cherche en vain à récupérer une balle d’or qu’il a perdue derrière une grosse pierre. Il entend passer un troupeau de moutons qui ne se dirige pas vers l’étable, et se demande avec angoisse où ils vont passer la nuit.

Scène 4 : Une fontaine dans le parc. Pelléas avoue à Mélisande la raison pour laquelle il doit s’éloigner du château : il est amoureux d’elle. Il reçoit en tremblant la réponse de Mélisande, accompagnée par un grand silence de l’orchestre : « Je t’aime aussi ». Tous deux s’aperçoivent soudain que Golaud les observe; face au danger, ils s’embrassent éperdument. Golaud frappe mortellement Pelléas de son épée, et Mélisande s’enfuit, poursuivie par Golaud.
 

ACTE V

Une chambre dans le château. Mélisande est alitée, mourante. Golaud lui demande pardon pour le mal qu’il lui a fait, puis la presse de questions dans l’espoir de découvrir enfin la vérité : l’a-t-elle trompé avec Pelléas ? Une fois de plus, elle ne lui fait que des réponses sibyllines. Arkel présente à Mélisande l’enfant qu’elle a mis au monde, une petite fille. Toutes les servantes du palais entrent dans la chambre au moment de la mort de Mélisande; Golaud sanglote, désespéré. Arkel conclut en affirmant que c’est maintenant l’enfant de Mélisande qui doit continuer à vivre : « C’est au tour de la pauvre petite ».

 

© Marie-Hélène Benoit-Otis

Catégories de ce concert
Concerts similaires
Séries de ce concert
* La tarification, les artistes, le répertoire, les dates et les heures des concerts peuvent être modifiés sans préavis.

Les prix indiqués incluent des frais non remboursables de 9 $. Certains frais de manutention peuvent être exigés.