FESTIVAL VIRÉE CLASSIQUE

Take part in the symphonic event of the summer!

For the 7th year in a row, the OSM Classical Spree will contribute to the wild excitement that takes hold of Montreal in the summer! In the space of a few short days, more than 30 affordable and varied concerts will reverberate in the heart of this metropolis, along with scores of free activities the whole family can enjoy. The only one of its kind in North America, this musical celebration opens the door to a wealth and diversity of classical music. 

CONCERTS ON SALE NOW

FRIDAY AUGUST 31, 7:00PM

SATURDAY SEPTEMBER 1, 9:15PM

KENT NAGANO CELEBRATES THE GREAT CHORUSES OF WAGNER AND VERDI

Maison symphonique

Maestro Kent Nagano and the OSM Chorus present the choral works of Wagner and Verdi, two leading lights of German and Italian Romanticism. The concert features the most beautiful excerpts from the operas Aida, Nabucco, Tannhaüser and Die Walküre (The Valkyrie), all examples of the grandiose use that was made of choruses and the orchestra in these composers’ lyrical works.

ARTISTS AND PROGRAM :

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal
Kent Nagano, conductor
The OSM Chorus
Andrew Megill, OSM chorus master

 

Opera excerpts from Tannhaüser and Die Walküre (The Valkyrie) by Wagner and Nabucco and Aïda by Verdi (45 min.)

kent_nagano_ultime_symphonique_chostakovitch_orchestre_symphonique_de_montreal_314_178

FRIDAY AUGUST 31, 8:45PM

FOLKLORE AND HUNGARIAN DANCES

Maison symphonique

Kent Nagano invites you to traverse the picturesque villages of Hungary in the company of Brahms, Kodály and Bartók. Tinged with nostalgia and arousing an irrepressible desire to dance and revel in traditional festivities, the Hungarian Dance no. 6 and Dances of Galánta capture the imagination with their rhythmic verve and poignant melodies. Also on the program will be the gripping Violin Concerto no. 1, written by a young Bartók, who drew inspiration from his Hungarian roots.

ARTISTS AND PROGRAM :

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal
Kent Nagano, conductor
Patricia Kopatchinskaïa, violin, GRAMMY award winner for Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble performance

 

Bartók, Violin Concerto No. 1, Sz. 36 (22 min.)
Kodály, Dances of Galánta (15 min.)
Brahms, Hungarian Dance No. 6 (5 min.)

SATURDAY SEPTEMBER 1, 7:30PM

TCHAIKOVSKY’S CELEBRATED PIANO CONCERTO

Maison symphonique

On the heels of his resounding success in Montreal last November, pianist Alexei Volodin returns to the OSM and Kent Nagano. Regarded as one of the outstanding pianists of his generation, Volodin this time brings his masterful technique and musical refinement to a performance of Tchaikovsky’s Concerto no. 1. One of the most beloved works in the piano repertoire, the concerto had to be staunchly defended by the Russian composer who, when challenged to revise it, pledged, “I shall not change a single note!”

ARTISTS AND PROGRAM :

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal
Kent Nagano, conductor
Alexei Volodin, piano

 

Tchaikovsky, Piano Concerto No. 1 (38 min.)

PDA_Ver_co fond transparent
Logo_Quebec

FESTIVAL VIRÉE CLASSIQUE

Prenez part à l’événement symphonique de l’été!

Pour une 7e année consécutive, la Virée classique de l’OSM contribuera à la frénésie qui s’empare du Montréal estival! En l’espace de quelques jours seulement, plus de 30 concerts abordables et variés feront vibrer le cœur de la métropole, en plus de nombreuses activités gratuites qui sauront plaire à toute la famille. Unique en Amérique du Nord, cette célébration musicale est une porte ouverte sur la musique classique, dans toute sa richesse et sa diversité.

CONCERTS EN VENTE DÈS MAINTENANT

VENDREDI 31 AOÛT, 19 H 00

SAMEDI 1ER SEPTEMBRE, 21 H 15

NAGANO CÉLÈBRE LES GRANDS CHŒURS DE WAGNER ET VERDI

Maison symphonique

Maestro Kent Nagano et le chœur de l’OSM présenteront les œuvres chorales de Wagner et Verdi, deux figures de proue du romantisme allemand et italien. Vous retrouverez les plus beaux extraits des opéras Tannhaüser, Die Walküre (La Valkyrie), Nabucco et Aïda qui témoignent de l’utilisation grandiose des chœurs et de l’orchestre dans les œuvres lyriques de ces compositeurs.

ARTISTES ET ŒUVRES :

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal
Kent Nagano, chef d’orchestre
Chœur OSM
Andrew Megill, chef de chœur

 

Extraits des opéras de Tannhaüser et Die Walküre (La Valkyrie) de Wagner et Nabucco et Aïda de Verdi (45 min)

VENDREDI 31 AOÛT, 20H45

LE FOLKLORE HONGROIS DE BRAHMS ET BARTÓK

Maison symphonique

Kent Nagano vous invite à parcourir les villages pittoresques de la Hongrie en compagnie de Brahms, Kodály et Bartók. Empreintes de nostalgie et de l’irrépressible envie de danser des fêtes traditionnelles, la Danse hongroise no 6 et les Danses de Galánta marquent l’imaginaire par leur verve rythmique et leurs touchantes mélodies. Le programme sera partagé avec le saisissant Concerto pour violon no 1, composé par le jeune Bartók, inspiré de ses racines hongroises.

 

ARTISTES ET ŒUVRES :

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal
Kent Nagano, chef d’orchestre
Patricia Kopatchinskaïa, violon, Lauréate du GRAMMY de la meilleure performance de musique de chambre.

 

Bartók, Concerto pour violon no 1, Sz. 36 (22 min)
Kodály, Danses de Galánta (15 min)
Brahms, Danse hongroise no 6 en ré bémol (5 min)

SAMEDI 1ER SEPTEMBRE, 19H30

L’INCONTOURNABLE CONCERTO POUR PIANO DE TCHAÏKOVSKI

Maison symphonique

Fort de son retentissant succès à Montréal en novembre dernier, le pianiste Alexei Volodin est de retour avec l’OSM et Kent Nagano. Considéré comme l’un des pianistes les plus remarquables de sa génération, Volodin mettra cette fois sa technique et son raffinement au service du Concerto no 1 de Tchaïkovski. Cette œuvre, l’une des plus appréciées du répertoire pour piano, a dû être fermement défendue par le compositeur russe, qui devant la critique aurait déclaré : « Je n’y changerai pas une note ! »

 

ARTISTES ET ŒUVRES :

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal
Kent Nagano, chef d’orchestre
Alexei Volodin, piano

 

Tchaïkovski, Concerto pour piano no 1 (38 min)

PDA_Ver_co fond transparent

 

Logo_Quebec