JEAN PAPINEAU-COUTURE

JEAN PAPINEAU-COUTURE

SEASON PARTNER

papineau

Born in

1916

Death date

2000

Featured work

Three Pieces for Orchestra (1961)

Concert

November 2, 5 and 6, 2016

During his life, it was customary to consider Jean Papineau-Couture the dean of contemporary composers in Québec. Born in 1916, he in effect preceded by a decade or more the generation of those who would propel Canadian and Québec repertoires onto international music stages. Grandson of Guillaume Couture, one of the pioneers of Canadian music, Jean Papineau-Couture took a very early interest in the music of modern French composers. He was at first a student of Quebecers Gabriel Cusson and Léo-Pol Morin, before traveling to the United States, early in the 1940s, to study with Nadia Boulanger. Through her he met Igor Stravinsky, who would have a decisive influence on his work.

In Canada, Jean Papineau-Couture dedicated his career to championing Canadian music. In collaborating with composers in English Canada, gathered in Toronto around composer John Weinzweig, he contributed to the establishment of a good number of institutions that today are vital to the musical life of the country. We have only to think of the founding of the Canadian League of Composers or that of the Canadian Music Centre, or else the creation of the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ): Papineau-Couture played an important role in all of these. He was even, from 1968 to 1973, dean of the recently created Université de Montréal Faculty of Music. Over the years he earned numerous awards and distinctions, including the ranks of Grand Officer of the National Order of Québec and Companion of the Order of Canada.

Jean Papineau-Couture’s music underwent many transformations over time. His works, first shaped by the influence of Stravinsky and modern French composers, moved from a neoclassicism to a playfulness approaching that of Francis Poulenc’s to a more concentrated esthetic, where the harmony notably reflects more contemporary considerations.

These Three Pieces for Orchestra were commissioned from Papineau-Couture by the Saskatoon Cosmopolitan Club, and the Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra presented the premiere under the direction of the composer himself on November 25, 1962. The work is dedicated to the composer Murray Adaskin, who at the time was teaching at the University of Saskatchewan.

The three pieces in the work are a prelude, a chorale and a perpetual motion. The transparency of the prelude and its regular beat reflect a thinking still marked by neoclassicism. The texture is fine at first, then grows denser and denser, and this piece is based on multiple repetitions of musical patterns, constantly varied by instrumental color. The chorale, meanwhile, enlists only winds. The brass are dominant, and their offering is punctuated by the regular intervention from the woodwinds. The perpetual motion, finally, is characterized above all by its highly rhythmic element and by the accumulation of repeated motifs in all the voices. That accumulation lies at the source of the energy that fuels the perpetual motion.

Papineau-Couture’s notes on Three Pieces:

“The Three Pieces for Orchestra were finished on November 25, 1961.

“The work consists of three contrasting movements. The first, at a moderate pace, features a rather flowing melodic line over harmonies that are static in character, often based on an ostinato of two alternating notes.

“The second is a very slow ‘Chorale’ for wind instruments alone. In the second part of this “Chorale,” there are numerous entries in canon.

“The third piece is a sort of perpetual motion in the form of a rondo. It is the fastest and brightest of the three movements.

“The entire work uses the total-chromatic technique.”

– Notes by Jean Papineau-Couture, stored in the archives of the Canadian Music Centre in Montréal.

Videos

Listen to Jean Papineau-Couture talk about his formative years.

Recordings

Jean Papineau-Couture, Centrediscs, 1999.

Canadian Composers Portraits: Jean Papineau-Couture, Centrediscs, 2 discs,

2002.

Literature

BAIL MILOT, Louise. Jean Papineau-Couture: La vie, la carrière, l’œuvre. Lasalle, Hurtubise HMH, 1986.

JEAN PAPINEAU-COUTURE

JEAN PAPINEAU-COUTURE

PARTENAIRE DE SAISON

papineau

Né en

1916

Décédé en

2000

Œuvre au programme

Trois pièces pour orchestre (1961)

Concert

2, 5 et 6 novembre 2016

De son vivant, il était coutume de considérer Jean Papineau-Couture comme le doyen des compositeurs contemporains du Québec. Né en 1916, il devançait effectivement d’une bonne décennie la génération de ceux qui propulsèrent les répertoires canadien et québécois sur les scènes musicales internationales. Petit-fils de Guillaume Couture, l’un des pionniers de la musique canadienne, Jean Papineau-Couture s’intéresse très tôt à la musique des compositeurs modernes français. Il est d’abord l’élève des québécois Gabriel Cusson et Léo-Pol Morin, avant de se rendre aux États-Unis, au début des années 1940, pour étudier auprès de Nadia Boulanger. Par l’entremise de celle-ci, il rencontre Igor Stravinsky, qui a sur lui une influence déterminante.

Au Canada, Jean Papineau-Couture a consacré sa carrière à la défense de la musique canadienne. En collaborant avec les compositeurs du Canada anglais, réunis à Toronto autour du compositeur John Weinzweig, il a contribué à mettre sur pied un grand nombre d’institutions qui sont aujourd’hui vitales à la vie musicale du pays. Qu’on pense à la fondation de la Ligue canadienne des compositeurs ou à celle du Centre de musique canadienne, ou encore à la mise sur pied de la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ), Papineau-Couture a pris part à toutes les démarches. Il fut même, de 1968 à 1973, doyen de la jeune Faculté de musique de l’Université de Montréal. Au fil des ans, il s’est mérité de nombreux prix et distinctions, dont les grades de Grand officier de l’Ordre du Québec et de Compagnon de l’Ordre du Canada.

La musique de Jean Papineau-Couture s’est beaucoup transformée au cours des années. Ses œuvres, d’abord fortement imprégnées de l’influence de Stravinsky et des compositeurs modernes français, sont passées d’un néo-classicisme à l’espièglerie proche de celle de Francis Poulenc, à une esthétique plus concentrée, où l’harmonie reflète notamment des considérations plus contemporaines.

Ces Trois pièces pour orchestre furent commandées à Papineau-Couture par le Cosmopolitan Club de Saskatoon, et c’est sous la direction du compositeur lui-même que l’Orchestre symphonique de Saskatoon en assura la création, le 25 novembre 1962. L’œuvre est dédiée au compositeur Murray Adaskin, qui enseignait à l’époque à l’Université de la Saskatchewan.

Les trois pièces de cet opus sont un prélude, un choral et un mouvement perpétuel. La transparence du prélude et sa pulsation régulière témoignent d’une pensée encore marquée par le néo-classicisme. D’une texture d’abord fine, puis de plus en plus dense, ce morceau repose sur de multiples répétitions de motifs, constamment variés par la couleur instrumentale. Le choral, pour sa part, ne fait appel qu’aux vents. Les cuivres y sont dominants, et leur discours est ponctué par l’intervention régulière des bois. Le mouvement perpétuel, enfin, est surtout caractérisé par son aspect très rythmé et par l’accumulation de motifs répétés dans toutes les voix. Cette accumulation est à la source de l’énergie qui engendre le mouvement perpétuel.

Notes de Papineau-Couture au sujet des Trois pièces :

« Les « Trois pièces pour Orchestre » […] furent terminées le 25 novembre 1961.

Ce sont trois courts mouvements contrastants. Le premier, d’allure modérée expose une ligne mélodique plutôt coulante contre des harmonies de caractères statiques souvent basées sur un ostinato de deux notes alternées.

Le second est un « Choral » très lent pour les instruments à vent seuls. Dans la deuxième partie de ce « Choral », on trouve de nombreuses entrées en canon.

La troisième pièce est une sorte de mouvement perpétuel sous forme de rondo. C’est le plus rapide et le plus brillant des trois mouvements.

Toute l’œuvre utilise la technique du total-chromatique. »

– Notes de Jean Papineau-Couture, conservées dans les archives du Centre de musique canadienne à Montréal.

Vidéos

Écoutez Jean Papineau-Couture parler de ses années de formation.

Enregistrements

Jean Papineau-Couture, Centredisques, 1999.

Portraits de compositeurs canadiens : Jean Papineau-Couture, Centredisques, 2 disques, 2002.

Littérature

BAIL MILOT, Louise. Jean Papineau-Couture : La vie, la carrière, l’œuvre. Lasalle, Hurtubise HMH, 1986.