Copied to clipboard

Beethoven’s “Imperial” Concerto no. 5 2024-2025

Pianist Simon Trpčeski will return to the Maison symphonique with Beethoven’s majestic Concerto No. 5 conducted by Vasily Petrenko.

Season Presenting Partner

Through its bold innovations, Beethoven’s last piano concerto opened a new path to musical Romanticism. The relationship he instilled between soloist and orchestra mirrors his social status in the 19th century: that of an independent artist sometimes at odds with the world around him. The drive and intensity of Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto also enliven Sibelius’ Symphony no. 5, a radiant work that is often triumphant in character.


Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Vasily Petrenko, conductor

Simon Trpčeski, piano


Jennifer Higdon, blue cathedral (12 min.)

Ludwig van Beethoven, Piano Concerto no. 5 in E-flat major, op. 73, ‘‘Emperor’’ (38 min.)

Intermission (20 min)

Jean Sibelius, Symphony no. 5 in E-flat major, op. 82 (30 min.)

Total duration100minutes