Copied to clipboard

Charles Richard-Hamelin and Andrew Wan in Duo  2024-2025

Like a bracing and invigorating wind, this concert features Mendelssohn’s Concerto for Violin and Piano, an early masterpiece that brings together Andrew Wan and Charles Richard-Hamelin.

Season Presenting Partner

A bracing and invigorating wind runs through this concert bringing together Andrew Wan and Charles Richard-Hamelin in Mendelssohn’s carefree and high-energy Concerto for Violin and Piano. Similarly, Brahms’ Serenade no. 1 weaves its bucolic, luminous magic, conveying the composer’s energy and drive as a young composer, but also foreshadowing his later symphonies.


Paul McCreesh, conductor

Andrew Wan, violin

Charles Richard-Hamelin, piano


Felix Mendelssohn, The Hebrides, Overture, op. 26 (10 min.)

Felix Mendelssohn, Concerto for Violin, Piano and Strings in D minor, MWV O 4 (36 min.)

Intermission (20 min)

Johannes Brahms, Serenade no. 1 in D major, op. 11 (46 min.)

Total duration115minutes