Copied to clipboard

Payare Conducts Berlioz and Beethoven 2024-2025

Berlioz’s famed Symphonie fantastique and Beethoven’s vibrant Piano Concerto no. 1 bring together Daniil Trifonov, Rafael Payare, and the OSM.

Season Presenting Partner

Beethoven’s masterful Piano Concerto no. 1 adheres to the rules of the Classical style, yet its lighthearted score, interspersed with inflections that foreshadow later works, announces the composer’s highly personal style. Since its premiere, Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique has continued to elicit enthusiasm from audiences. Its originality, along with its colourful and potent orchestration, have elevated it to the status of an icon of the symphonic repertoire.


Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Rafael Payare, conductor

Daniil Trifonov, piano


Michael Oesterle, World Premiere – OSM commission (12 min.)

*Canadian work

Ludwig van Beethoven, Piano Concerto no. 1 in C major, op. 15 (36 min.)

Intermission (20 min)

Hector Berlioz, Symphonie fantastique, H 48, op. 14 (49 min.)

Total duration120minutes