Copied to clipboard

Strauss’ Towering Alpine Symphony 2024-2025

Bruce Liu performs Scriabin’s sole Piano Concerto, with Richard Strauss’ expansive Alpine Symphony completing this program conducted by Rafael Payare.

Season Presenting Partner

For his return to the Maison symphonique Bruce Liu will perform Scriabin’s sole Piano Concerto, written in a poetic and highly Romantic style. In contrast to this, the vast soundscape of Richard Strauss’ Alpine Symphony evokes the colossal grandeur of the Bavarian Alps. Iman Habibi reflects upon the climate crisis by placing his Jeder Baum spricht in perspective with Beethoven’s 5th and 6th symphonies.


Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Rafael Payare, conductor

Bruce Liu, piano


Iman Habibi, Jeder Baum spricht [Every Tree Speaks] (7 min) *

*Canadian work

Alexander Scriabin, Piano Concerto in F-sharp minor, op. 20 (28 min.)

Intermission (20 min)

Richard Strauss, Eine Alpensinfonie [An Alpine Symphony], op. 64, TrV 233 (47 min)

Total duration105minutes