Hors-série 23-24

Masaaki Suzuki and Bach’s St John Passion

Masaaki Suzuki and Bach’s St John Passion

Maison symphonique de Montréal



A peerless specialist of the music of Bach, Masaaki Suzuki joins the OSM to conduct the stirring St John Passion. In the hands of the composer, the sacred text is transformed through the music’s accentuation of its tragic character. The Evangelist’s account, suffused with an ardent expressivity, is the common thread of a drama interspersed with contemplative arias. The meditative chorales entrusted to the choir provide the work with its structure, imparting it with a timeless, universal dimension.


Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Masaaki Suzuki, conductor
Sherezade Panthaki, soprano
Reginald Mobley, countertenor
Werner Güra, tenor
Mauro Peter, tenor
Bernhard Hansky, bass
Chœur de l’OSM
Andrew Megill, OSM chorusmaster

The chorusmaster chair is generously sponsored by Mrs. Ann Birks, in loving memory of Barry Drummond Birks.


J.S. Bach, St John Passion, BWV 245 (114 min.)

With intermission


Starting at (taxes not included)

Regular price: $35*
34 years and under: $34*
17 years and under: $25*

Wednesday, March 27 – 7:30 p.m.

Price code B

Thursday, March 28 – 7:30 p.m.

Price code B



Drop by the Espace OSM before or after the concert! Adjacent to the Maison symphonique, this interactive space offers a variety of free events such as transitory installations, permanent exhibitions, listening clubs, talks and much more.



Thanks to your donations, the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal is able to continue its projects for the artistic development and democratization of symphonic music for all. Thank you!

A tax receipt is issued by the OSM for all donations of $25 or more. For any amount under $25, a receipt will be issued upon request.

*Taxes not included. Prices, artists, repertoire, and concert dates and times may be modified without notice. Prices include a non-refundable service fee of $12.00 per ticket. Some handling fees may be charged. See all terms and conditions.

This presentation is made possible thanks to the Gouvernement du Québec program Plan de relance économique du milieu culturel.