Distinctive online programming

Experience Incredible!

Digital experience

The OSM is pleased to unveil a new series of webcast concerts available each month, from October to December, on osm.ca.

To offer a unique digital viewing experience, the OSM enables you to learn more about the works performed and the historical context of the repertoire. Each concert is enhanced by exclusive content in the form of interviews with specialists, conductors, soloists, and musicologists!

This fall, you’ll be able to watch two concerts conducted by the OSM’s new Music Director Rafael Payare, including the opening concert in which he leads the Orchestra in Shostakovich’s famous Fifth Symphony, and another in which internationally renowned violinist Hilary Hahn is soloist.

Finally, American conductor David Zinman and Quebec pianist Louis Lortie are featured in the third and final webcast concert of 2021, in a program featuring two works, by Schumann and Shostakovich.


Accessible digital concerts and flexible viewing

$20/ concert (taxes not included)


Rafael Payare Conducts Shostakovich's Fifth Symphony

Available October 5

After incurring the wrath of the official Soviet press for his opera Lady Macbeth, Shostakovich sought to redeem himself by composing his bright, vigorous, and dramatic Fifth Symphony. But despite of appearances, this work unabashedly broaches the atmosphere of collective anguish during Stalin’s Great Purge of the 1930s. For his first concert as OSM Music Director, Rafael Payare delivers a poignant symphony that cannot avoid resonating with the difficult year that we have experienced.

Completing this program are two works associated with the Orchestra’s history. Ravel’s head-spinning La valse has been a mainstay for the OSM on several of its tours, while Kaleidoscope by Pierre Mercure, a key work of Quebec’s symphonic repertoire, was premiered by the OSM in 1948.

Get a 15% discount by opting for our bundle including all three concerts*.  

*Offer valid until November 2, 2021 10:00 p.m. on the regular price of the three concerts included in the Fall 2021 Webcast bundle. Final sale. No refunds. Cannot be applied to previously purchased tickets. Cannot be combined with any other promotional offer.

Once purchased, you will be emailed a viewing link giving you access to the webcast.  Pleaser refer to our Q&A section for more details.



Support the OSM by adding a donation to your purchase!

Your donation will contribute to the OSM’s mission of education, accessibility, and excellence.

Each donation allows the OSM to reach out to young people, the community and music lovers, through music.


A tax receipt is issued by the OSM for all donations of $25 or more. For any amount under $25, a receipt will be issued upon request.

Artists-in-residence for the 2021–2022 season


Michael Tilson Thomas is Co-Founder and Artistic Director of the New World Symphony, Music Director Laureate of the San Francisco Symphony and Conductor Laureate of the London Symphony Orchestra. In addition to conducting many of the finest orchestras the world over, he is also known for his work as a composer and producer of multimedia projects. He has won eleven Grammy Awards for his recordings, and is a recipient of the National Medal of Arts and of the 2019 Kennedy Center Honors, and is an Officer of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres of France.


Serbian-born Montreal composer Ana Sokolović is a prominent figure in contemporary music. Awarded several prestigious prizes and honoured in the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec Homage series, her works have been performed by acclaimed orchestras and artists and have seen international success. Ana Sokolović’s music draws on Balkan folklore to create vivid soundscapes, transporting listeners to a dreamlike magical world. Essential listening!

Season partner

Audiovisual production

Public partners