Jury

JURY - CONCOURS OSM

PRÉSIDENT DU JURY

David Pickard

David Pickard studied Music at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, before starting his career as Company Manager of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. In his early career, David worked at the Open Air Theatre in Regent’s Park and was the Assistant Director for the Japan Festival (1991) before becoming Sir John Drummond’s deputy at the European Arts Festival. In 1993 he was appointed Chief Executive of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment where he significantly increased the orchestra’s artistic reputation and international profile, helping to establish the OAE as the pre-eminent period-instrument orchestra in the world.

In 2001 he was made General Director of Glyndebourne Festival where throughout his tenure he created an extensive digital programme including online streaming, big-screen and cinema relays and broadened the company’s audience base through specially priced performances for young people and a pioneering education programme.

In November 2015, David took up the role of Director of the BBC Proms. In his first two years David introduced a number of initiatives including an innovative series called ‘Proms at…’ exploring music in new spaces. Passionate about bringing new audiences to classical music and identifying and nurturing emerging talent, David has also made youth music-making and youth audiences a major focus of his work at the BBC Proms. In 2018, David steered the BBC Proms’ commitment to PRS’ Keychange Scheme, pledging 50/50 gender balance in new commissions by 2022. The 2019 BBC Proms season saw a reappraisal of the Proms’ central mission – to bring ‘the best of classical music to the widest possible audience’ – in the 150th-anniversary year of founder-conductor Sir Henry Wood’s birth.  

GRAND JURY

Kent Nagano

Kent Nagano has established an international reputation as one of the most insightful and visionary interpreters of both the operatic and symphonic repertoire. He is Music Director of the OSM since 2006. Maestro Nagano was General Music Director of the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich from 2006 to 2013. He became Principal Guest Conductor and Artistic Advisor of the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra in 2013. Since 2015, he has been General Music Director and Principal Conductor of the Hamburg State Opera and Philharmonic Orchestra. Born in California, Kent Nagano spent his early professional years in Boston, working in the opera house and as Assistant Conductor to Seiji Ozawa at the Boston Symphony Orchestra. He was Music Director of the Opéra national de Lyon (1988-1998), Music Director of the Hallé Orchestra (1991-2000), Associate Principal Guest Conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra (1990-1998) and Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin (2000-2006) and remains their Honorary Conductor. Kent Nagano was also the first Music Director of the Los Angeles Opera (2003-2006). As a much sought-after guest conductor, Maestro Nagano has worked with the Berlin, New York and Vienna Philharmonics, Chicago Symphony, Dresden Staatskapelle and Leipzig Gewandhaus, and at leading opera houses including the Opéra national de Paris, Berlin State Opera, Metropolitan Opera and Semperoper Dresden.

Leila Getz

As founder and Artistic Director of the Vancouver Recital Society, Leila Getz has presented the Canadian and/or Vancouver debut performances of some of the world’s most brilliant and respected young musicians.

Leila has served on the juries of the national finals of the Canadian Music Competitions, the Canada Council, the Ontario Arts Council, the Nominating Committee for the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards, and is also a member of the International Council for the Esther Honens International Piano Competition. In 2017, Leila was a screening jurist for the Concours Musical International de Montréal (CMIM), and was invited to serve on the International Advisory Council of the 15th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition.

In 1995, Leila was made a Member of the Order of Canada for her community service in cultivating Canada’s musical landscape. In 2004, she was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal and was appointed to the Order of British Columbia, the province’s highest award for outstanding achievement.

JURY PRINCIPAL

Masao Kawasaki, professeur de violon Julliard School

Masao Kawasaki leads an international career as soloist, recitalist, chamber musician, orchestral musician, and pedagogue of both violin and viola. His multi-faceted career has resulted in the development of musicians that now enjoy careers in every realm of the music field. As soloist he performs extensively with orchestras throughout Europe, Asia, and North America. As chamber musician he has collaborated in chamber music with the world’s most distinguished artists including Isaac Stern, Pinchas Zukerman, Lynn Harrell , Yo-Yo Ma, Mischa Maisky, Gil Shaham, Joshua Bell, and Yefim Bronfman and Leon Fleisher.  He is featured regularly at The Miyazaki International Music Festival and Aspen Music Festival and School where he is an artist-faculty member. Mr. Kawasaki has recorded for the CBS Sony, EMI, Nonesuch, Philips and Bis labels and has been featured globally on radio broadcasts.  In 2004 he was awarded the prestigious Presidential Scholars Program’s Teacher Recognition Award. He currently holds teaching positions at The Julliard School of Music.

JOHANNES MOSER

Hailed by Gramophone as “one of the finest among the astonishing gallery of young virtuoso cellists,” German-Canadian cellist Johannes Moser has performed with the world’s leading orchestras such as the Berliner Philharmoniker, New York Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Chicago Symphony, BBC Philharmonic at the Proms, London Symphony, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, Philadelphia and Cleveland Orchestras with conductors of the highest level. A dedicated chamber musician, Johannes is a regular at festivals worldwide and he has performed with Emanuel Ax, Joshua Bell, and Menahem Pressler, among many others.

Renowned for his efforts to expand the reach of the classical genre, Johannes is heavily involved in commissioning new works and has been committed to reaching out to all audiences, from kindergarten to college and beyond.

Johannes has a multi award-winning discography with his exclusive label PENTATONE. In 2019 his latest release features the works of Felix and Fanny Mendelssohn with Alasdair Beatson.

Johannes Moser plays on an Andrea Guarneri Cello from 1694 from a private collection.

JURY PRÉLIMINAIRE

Charles Bernard

Upon joining the Cleveland Orchestra in 1992, Charles Bernard was named Assistant Principal Cello in 2001 and holds the Helen Weil Ross Chair.

Mr. Bernard was awarded the First Prizes in cello and chamber music from the Montreal Conservatory, where he studied with Michael Kilburn. He received an Artist Diploma from The Cleveland Institute of Music (CIM) following his studies with Stephen Geber from 1987 to 1989.

Mr. Bernard has received grants from the Canadian Arts Council and the FCAR Foundation, and won the Feiman Memorial Prize in cello at CIM. As a winner of the CIM concerto competition, Mr. Bernard performed Tchaikovsy’s Variations on a Rococo Theme under the direction Louis Lane. Prior to joining The Cleveland Orchestra, he was principal cellist of the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra.

Darren Lowe

Darren Lowe received his professional training from some of the foremost violin teachers of the twentieth century, including Ivan Galamian, Joseph Gingold and Franco Gulli.

Lowe’s numerous prizes and distinctions notably include First Prize at the Indiana University Tchaikovsky Competition.

His frequent performances with various orchestras across Canada have earned him high critical praise.

Concertmaster of the Orchestre symphonique de Québec since 1987, Darren Lowe is currently Professor of Violin and Chamber Music at the Conservatoire de musique de Québec.

He is also an accomplished chamber musician who has performed in North America, Europe and Asia with members of the New York Philharmonic Orchestra and chamber musicians from the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Darren Lowe has served as an adjudicator at various national and international competitions and has many recordings to his name.

Neal Gripp

Appointed principal viola of l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal in 1990, Neal Gripp has been described by William Primrose as a “true virtuoso”.  His solo performances with orchestra include concerts in Alice Tully Hall in New York, Place des Arts in Montreal, the National Arts Centre in Ottawa, and at the Aspen Music Festival.  He has recorded Berlioz’s Harold en Italie with l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal for CBC Television and Glenn Buhr’s Concerto for Viola and Orchestra with the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra for CBC Records.  Neal Gripp made his debut in New York’s Town Hall followed by solo recitals in London’s Wigmore Hall and the Centre Culturel Canadien in Paris.  An active chamber musician, he has also created and directed chamber music series in collaboration with CBC/Radio Canada, the Canadian Centre for Architecture and the J. Paul Getty Museum in Los Angeles. In 2012, he was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for dedicated service to Canada.

As a composer, he has written works for orchestra and string quartet.  His Passacaglia was premiered by Kent Nagano and l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal in 2014 and subsequently recorded by Emmanuel Villaume and the National Youth Orchestra of Canada.

Eric Chappel

An active chamber musician and recitalist, Eric Chappell has collaborated with a wide range of ensembles performing early music to avant-garde repertoire. He has served as Assistant Principal Double Bass of the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal since 1999 and is also the OSM’s octobassist since 2016, when the octobass, an exceptionally rare instrument (owned by Canimex) was introduced in Quebec. Indeed, he has become a champion of this giant of the string family. Chappell taught at the Université de Montréal and the National Youth Orchestra of Canada and is currently on the faculty at the Schulich School of Music of McGill University.

Jury

JURY - CONCOURS OSM

PRÉSIDENT DU JURY

David Pickard, Directeur de BBC Proms

David Pickard étudie la musique au collège Corpus Christi de l’Université de Cambridge avant d’amorcer sa vie professionnelle comme gestionnaire du Royal Opera House (Covent Garden). Au début de sa carrière, il travaille à l’Open Air Theatre à Regent’s Park et il est directeur adjoint au Festival du Japon (1991) avant de devenir l’adjoint de Sir John Drummond au Festival européen des arts. En 1993, il est engagé comme directeur général de l’Orchestre de l’âge des Lumières, un ensemble dont il rehausse sensiblement la réputation et le profil international, contribuant à en faire l’un des orchestres les plus importants à jouer sur des instruments d’époque.

En 2001, il est nommé directeur général du Festival de Glyndebourne, un mandat qu’il consacre à la création d’une programmation numérique très élaborée incluant des contenus à diffusion en ligne et des retransmissions sur écrans géants ; il élargit aussi l’auditoire du Festival en présentant des événements à prix avantageux pour la clientèle jeunesse et en développant un programme éducatif novateur.

En novembre 2015, David Pickard assume le rôle de directeur des BBC Proms. Dans les deux premières années de son mandat, il lance un bon nombre d’initiatives, dont une série innovante intitulée « Proms at… » qui explore la musique dans de nouveaux espaces. Animé par la volonté d’amener de nouveaux publics à la musique classique, et d’identifier et de soutenir les talents émergents, M. Pickard place au cœur de son action aux BBC Proms la pratique musicale chez les jeunes et leur fréquentation des concerts. En 2018, il favorise l’adoption d’un système de primes de résultat visant à obtenir un équilibre des genres à 50/50 dans de nouveaux comités d’ici à 2022. Au cours de la saison 2019 des BBC Proms, on assiste à une réévaluation de la mission centrale du festival – offrir le meilleur de la musique classique au plus vaste auditoire possible – à l’occasion du 150e anniversaire de naissance du fondateur et chef d’orchestre Sir Henry Wood.

GRAND JURY

Kent Nagano directeur musical OSM  

Kent Nagano jouit d’une solide réputation internationale, étant l’un des interprètes les plus inspirés et avant-gardistes des répertoires symphonique et opératique. Il est directeur musical de l’OSM depuis 2006. Maestro Nagano a été directeur musical général du Bayerische Staatsoper à Munich de 2006 à 2013, puis il est devenu chef invité principal et conseiller artistique de l’Orchestre symphonique de Göteborg en 2013. Depuis 2015, il est directeur musical général et chef principal de l’Opéra d’État et de l’Orchestre philharmonique de Hambourg. Né en Californie, il a entamé sa carrière à Boston : il a travaillé à l’Opéra et fut l’assistant du chef d’orchestre Seiji Ozawa au Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Il a été directeur musical de l’Opéra national de Lyon de 1988 à 1998, directeur musical du Hallé Orchestra de 1991 à 2000, premier chef invité associé du London Symphony Orchestra de 1990 à 1998 et directeur artistique et premier chef du Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin de 2000 à 2006, dont il demeure chef d’orchestre honoraire. De 2003 à 2006, Kent Nagano fut le premier directeur musical du Los Angeles Opera. En tant que chef invité, maestro Nagano a dirigé les orchestres philharmoniques de Berlin, New York et Vienne, le Chicago Symphony, le Dresden Staatskapelle et le Leipzig Gewandhaus, de même que des maisons d’opéra prestigieuses tels l’Opéra national de Paris, l’Opéra allemand de Berlin, le Metropolitan Opera et le Semperoper Dresden.

Leila Getz, Directrice artistique Vancouver Recital Society

À titre de directrice artistique et fondatrice de la Vancouver Recital Society, Leila Getz a fait découvrir au public vancouvérois et canadien certains des jeunes musiciens les plus brillants et les plus respectés au monde.

Mme Getz a été membre du jury pour la finale du Concours de musique du Canada, ainsi que pour le Conseil des arts du Canada et le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario. Membre du comité d’évaluation des Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle, elle a aussi fait partie du conseil international du Concours international de piano Esther Honens. En 2017, elle a siégé au jury préliminaire du Concours musical international de Montréal (CMIM) ainsi qu’au conseil consultatif de la 15e édition du Concours international de piano Van Cliburn.

En 1995, Leila Getz a été nommée Membre de l’Ordre du Canada pour sa contribution à la vie musicale canadienne. En 2004, elle a reçu la Médaille du jubilé d’or de la reine Élizabeth II et a été investie de l’Ordre de la Colombie-Britannique, la plus haute distinction décernée par cette province.

JURY PRINCIPAL

Masao Kawasaki, professeur de violon Julliard School

En plus d’enseigner le violon et l’alto, Maseo Kawasaki mène une carrière internationale de soliste, de récitaliste, de chambriste et de musicien d’orchestre. Ce parcours aux multiples facettes lui a permis de former des musiciens qui œuvrent maintenant dans tous les domaines de la musique. Comme soliste, il est invité par de nombreux orchestres partout en Europe, en Asie et en Amérique du Nord. Comme chambriste, il a collaboré avec les plus célèbres artistes de l’heure, tels Isaac Stern, Pinchas Zukerman, Lynn Harrell, Yo-Yo Ma, Mischa Maisky, Gil Shaham, Joshua Bell, Yefim Bronfman et Leon Fleisher. On peut l’entendre régulièrement au Festival international de musique de Miyazaki ainsi qu’au Festival et à l’École de musique d’Aspen où il est membre du corps professoral. M. Kawasaki a enregistré pour les étiquettes CBS Sony, EMI, Nonesuch, Philips et Bis, et ses prestations sont très largement diffusées sur les ondes radiophoniques. En 2004, il a reçu le prestigieux prix Presidential Scholars Program en guise de reconnaissance pour son travail dans l’enseignement. Il est actuellement professeur à la Julliard School of Music.

JOHANNES MOSER

Le violoncelliste germano-canadien Johannes Moser a été salué par le magazine Gramophone comme « l’un des meilleurs parmi l’étonnante brochette de jeunes violoncellistes virtuoses ». Sous la direction des chefs d’orchestre les plus réputés, il s’est produit avec les plus grands orchestres du monde, tels le Berliner Philharmoniker, les orchestres philharmoniques de New York et de Los Angeles, l’Orchestre symphonique de Chicago, l’Orchestre philharmonique de la BBC dans le cadre des Proms, l’Orchestre symphonique de Londres, l’Orchestre symphonique de la radiodiffusion bavaroise, l’Orchestre de la Tonhalle de Zurich, et les orchestres de Philadelphie et de Cleveland. Chambriste passionné, M. Moser est un habitué des festivals internationaux et il a joué avec Emanuel Ax, Joshua Bell et Menahem Pressler, entre autres artistes.

Ne ménageant aucun effort pour accroître la portée de la musique classique, le violoncelliste s’emploie à commander des œuvres nouvelles et cherche à atteindre tous les auditoires, depuis les enfants de maternelle jusqu’aux jeunes des collèges et au-delà.

Johannes Moser a constitué une discographie maintes fois primée dont PENTATONE a l’exclusivité. Paru en 2019, son plus récent album présente des œuvres de Felix et Fanny Mendelssohn avec le pianiste Alasdair Beatson.

M. Moser joue un violoncelle Andrea Guarneri datant de 1694 issu d’une collection privée.

JURY PRÉLIMINAIRE

Charles Bernard

Après s’être joint à l’Orchestre de Cleveland en 1992, Charles Bernard y est nommé violoncelle solo associé en 2001, un poste parrainé par Helen Weil Ross.

M. Bernard a décroché des Premiers prix en violoncelle et en musique de chambre au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal où il a étudié avec Michael Kilburn. Il a reçu un Artist Diploma au Cleveland Institute of Music (CIM) au terme de ses études auprès de Stephen Geber de 1987 à 1989.

Le musicien a obtenu des bourses du Conseil des arts du Canada et de la Fondation FCAR et, au CIM, il a été récompensé du Feiman Memorial Prize en violoncelle. À titre de lauréat du concours de concertos de l’établissement, il a interprété les Variations sur un thème rococo de Tchaïkovski avec un orchestre placé sous la direction de Louis Lane. Avant de joindre les rangs de l’Orchestre de Cleveland, Charles Bernard était violoncelle solo de l’Orchestre philharmonique de Calgary.

Darren Lowe

Darren Lowe a reçu sa formation auprès de quelques-uns des plus grands pédagogues du violon du XXe siècle comme Ivan Galamian, Joseph Gingold et Franco Gulli.
Récipiendaire de nombreux prix et récompenses, il a gagné le Premier Prix de l’Indiana University Tchaikovsky Competition.
Ses fréquentes prestations avec différents orchestres à travers le Canada lui ont valu les plus grands éloges de la critique.
Il occupe le poste de violon solo à l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec depuis 1987 et actuellement professeur au Conservatoire de musique de Québec.
Darren Lowe est également un chambriste accompli qui s’est produit en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Asie avec des membres de l’Orchestre philharmonique de New York ainsi que des chambristes de l’Orchestre symphonique de Boston.
Darren Lowe a été membre de plusieurs jurys de concours nationaux et internationaux et il compte à son actif de nombreux enregistrements.

Neal Gripp

Nommé alto solo de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal en 1990, Neal Gripp a été qualifié d’« authentique virtuose » par William Primrose. Ses prestations en solo avec orchestre comprennent des concerts au Alice Tully Hall de New York, à la Place des Arts de Montréal, au Centre national des Arts d’Ottawa et au Festival de musique d’Aspen. Il a enregistré Harold en Italie avec l’OSM pour CBC Television, ainsi que le Concerto pour alto et orchestre de Glenn Buhr avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Winnipeg sur étiquette CBC Records. Neal Gripp a fait ses débuts au Town Hall de New York pour ensuite présenter des récitals au Wigmore Hall de Londres et au Centre culturel canadien de Paris. Chambriste très actif, il a aussi mis sur pied et dirigé des séries de concerts en collaboration avec CBC/Radio-Canada, le Centre canadien d’architecture et le J. Paul Getty Museum à Los Angeles. En 2012, il a été honoré de la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II en reconnaissance de son dévouement à son pays.
Comme compositeur, Neal Gripp a écrit des œuvres pour orchestre et quatuor à cordes. En 2014, sa Passacaglia a été créée par Kent Nagano et l’OSM, puis enregistrée par Emmanuel Villaume et l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada.

Eric Chappel

Très actif comme chambriste et récitaliste, Eric Chappell a interprété, avec un bon nombre d’ensembles, un vaste répertoire qui s’étend de la musique ancienne à la musique d’avant-garde. Depuis 1999, il occupe le poste de contrebasse assistant à l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal dont il est également l’octobassiste en titre depuis 2016. Cette année-là, l’octobasse – un instrument extrêmement rare (propriété de Canimex) – faisait son entrée au Québec et depuis lors, M. Chappell est devenu le maître incontesté de ce géant de la famille des cordes. Après avoir été professeur à l’Université de Montréal et à l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada, Eric Chappell fait actuellement partie du corps enseignant de l’École Schulich de l’Université McGill.