The Carnival of the Animals on the organ

The Carnival of the Animals on the organ

The Grand Orgue Pierre-Béique: a gigantic instrument!

The OSM is proud to possess a large organ intended for orchestral use. Purchase of that organ was made possible by Mrs. Jacqueline Desmarais, who assumed the total cost. It bears the name of “Grand Orgue Pierre-Béique” in tribute to the founder and first general manager of the OSM, who served from 1939 to 1970.

This magnificent four-keyboard instrument has 83 stops, 109 registers, 116 ranks and 6,489 pipes made of lead, wood and tin. It is also equipped with two consoles, one of them mechanical and attached to the base of the instrument, while the other one is electric and can be moved around. The organist can then use the latter on the stage to activate the organ keyboards situated high up in the Maison symphonique.

The organ: a wind instrument?

The organ is classified as part of the wind-instrument family because the sound is produced by air driven through the different-length pipes. To play it, the organist has a console made up of keyboards (otherwise known as manuals), a pedalboard and stop controls. Each keyboard makes it possible to control a different section of the instrument, while the stop controls serve to choose the various tones produced by the pipes. Added to that, the organist also plays with his feet on the pedalboard, which generally consists of thirty or so notes!

Short glossary:

Register: Sliding piece of wood opening or closing the passage of air in a pipe.
Stops: Ensemble of pipes producing the same timbre, or tone color.
Keyboards and pedalboard: The keyboards consist of keys that make it possible to activate the mechanism of the organ. The instrument also has a keyboard played with the feet and which is known as a pedalboard.
Transcription: Adaptation of a piece of music intended for other voices or instruments than the ones for which it was written.

Did you know?

Certain composers, like Johann Sebastian Bach, used motifs, or patterns, that associate letters with notes. Thus, the name BACH can have four corresponding notes: B-flat, A, C and B-natural. The work by the composer Pierre Cholley that you’ll be hearing takes up Bach’s idea but is based on the motif DSCH, representing the notes D, E-flat, C and B, a nod in the direction of the composer Dimitri Shostakovich (Dmitri Schostakowitsch in German).

Concert program

Bach, Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565 (excerpt)

Pierre Cholley, Trois pièces sur DSCH:
“Tango”

Saint-Saëns, The Carnival of the Animals (trans. for organ by Jean-Willy Kunz)

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921), France

A virtuoso pianist and organist as well as a teacher and composer, Saint-Saëns was an ardent champion of the French music of his time.

Composed in 1886, The Carnival of the Animals was written for small orchestra and two pianos. Following its premiere, however, Saint-Saëns forbade any public performance until after his death, with the exception of the movement entitled “The Swan” which would become a staple of the cello repertoire. This suite consists of 14 pieces, which illustrate different animals. It contains a number of humorous allusions, as in the movement called “Pianists,” where we hear those “animals” practicing their scales! The version you’ll be listening during the concert is a transcription for organ done by Jean-Willy Kunz (OSM organist in residence).

Artists for the concert:

Jean-Willy Kunz,
organist

Mathieu Pichette,
host

Mika,
illustrator

Martin Gougeon,
stage director

Much more than a church instrument!

For hundreds of years the organ was the only instrument accepted by the Church to accompany singing. Today the biggest concert halls around the world contain an organ because there is an important repertoire for the instrument. From Bach’s toccatas and fugues to contemporary works, organists are also admirable improvisers. Moreover, were you aware that the OSM once gave an organ concert in collaboration with an astronaut in space? Visit our online resources at osm.ca in the “Education” section.

Did you know that…

… the world’s biggest maker of organs (they’re known as “organ builders”) is located in Québec? It is the house of Casavant Frères, founded in 1879. They are the maker of a number of prestigious organs, including the organ in Montréal’s Notre-Dame Basilica and the Grand Orgue Pierre-Béique. The latter bears the opus number 3 900, meaning it was the 3 900th.

CLASSROOM ACTIVITY

COLORING

Let’s add some colour to the music! While you listen to an excerpt of your choice from The Carnaval of the Animals by Saint-Saëns, bring life to the image that illustrator Mika specially created for the occasion! During the concert, you will see how she interprets with her crayons the music played on the organ by Jean-Willy Kunz

For more information

Organ and Space: Gaze up to the Heavens

From our planet to outer space and back again, only music can easily cross these bridges! Witness the moment when the astronaut Thomas Pesquet communicates live from the International Space Station communicates during an organ recital in May 2017.

A Disney movie about classical music?

That’s right! In the movie Fantasia 2000, every animated segment matches a classical music piece from different composers such as Beethoven and Stravinsky. Notice how in this excerpt the pink flamingos are in synch with the music in the final movement of The Carnaval of the Animals by Camille Saint-Saëns.

Le Carnaval des animaux à l’orgue

Le Carnaval des animaux à l’orgue

Le Grand Orgue Pierre-Béique : un instrument géant!

L’OSM est fier de posséder un grand orgue d’orchestre. L’achat de cet orgue a été rendu possible grâce à Madame Jacqueline Desmarais qui en a assumé le coût total. Il porte le nom de Grand Orgue Pierre-Béique en hommage au fondateur et premier directeur général de l’OSM de 1939 à 1970.

Ce magnifique instrument possède quatre claviers comprenant 83 jeux, 109 registres, 116 rangs et 6 489 tuyaux de plomb, de bois et d’étain. Il est également équipé de deux consoles, l’une mécanique, attachée à la base de l’instrument alors que l’autre est électrique et peut être déplacée. L’organiste peut ainsi actionner les claviers de l’orgue placés tout en haut de la Maison symphonique à partir d’une console située sur scène.

L’orgue : un instrument à vent?

On classe l’orgue dans la famille des instruments à vent puisque c’est l’air propulsé dans les tuyaux de différentes longueurs qui produit le son. Pour en jouer, l’organiste dispose d’une console composée de claviers, de pédaliers et de commandes de jeux. Chaque clavier permet de contrôler une section différente de l’instrument alors que les commandes de jeux (registres) servent à choisir les divers timbres produits par les tuyaux. A ceci, l’organiste joue également avec ses pieds sur le pédalier qui comprend généralement une trentaine de notes!

Petit glossaire :
Registres : Pièce de bois coulissante ouvrant ou fermant le passage de l’air dans un tuyau.
Jeux : Ensemble des tuyaux produisant le même timbre.
Claviers et pédalier : Les claviers sont constitués de touches qui permettent d’actionner le mécanisme de l’orgue. L’instrument possède également un clavier que l’on joue avec les pieds et qui porte le nom de pédalier
Transcription : Adaptation d’un morceau de musique pour d’autres voix ou instruments que pour lesquels il a été écrit.

Le savais-tu?

Certains compositeurs comme Jean-Sébastien Bach utilisent des motifs qui associent des lettres à des notes. Ainsi, le nom BACH peut se traduire par quatre notes : si bémol, la, do et si bécarre. L’œuvre du compositeur Pierre Cholley que tu entendras aujourd’hui, reprend l’idée de Bach mais se base sur le motif DSCH soit les notes ré, mi bémol, do et si, en clin d’œil aux initiales du compositeur Dimitri Chostakovitch (Dmitri Schostakowitsch en allemand).

Répertoire du concert

Bach, Toccata et fugue en ré mineur, BWV 565 (extrait)

Pierre Cholley, Trois pièces  sur DSCH :
 » Tango « 

Saint-Saëns, Carnaval des animaux (trans. pour orgue par Jean-Willy Kunz)

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921), France

Pianiste et organiste virtuose en plus d’être pédagogue et compositeur, Saint-Saëns est un ardent défenseur de la musique française de son époque.

Composé en 1886, le Carnaval des animaux est écrit pour petit orchestre et deux pianos. Après sa création, Saint-Saëns en interdira cependant toute exécution publique jusqu’à sa mort, exception faite du mouvement intitulé « Le Cygne » qui deviendra un incontournable du répertoire pour violoncelle. Cette suite comprend 14 pièces qui illustrent différents animaux. On y retrouve de nombreux clins d’œil humoristiques, comme dans le mouvement « Pianistes » où l’on entend ces « animaux » faire leurs gammes! La version que tu écouteras aujourd’hui est une transcription pour orgue réalisée par Jean-Willy Kunz (organiste en résidence de l’OSM).

Les artistes du concert :

Jean-Willy Kunz,
organiste

Mathieu Pichette,
animateur

Mika,
illustratrice

Martin Gougeon,
metteur en scène

Beaucoup plus qu’un instrument d’église!

Pendant des centaines d’années, l’orgue était le seul instrument accepté par l’Église pour accompagner les chants. Aujourd’hui les plus grandes salles de concert à travers le monde possèdent un orgue car le répertoire pour cet instrument est très important. Des toccatas et fugues de Bach aux œuvres contemporaines, les organistes sont également d’admirables improvisateurs.

Savais-tu que…

… le plus grand fabricant d’orgues (on dit en fait « facteur d’orgues ») au monde est québécois? Il s’agit de la maison Casavant Frères fondée en 1879. Ils sont les facteurs de plusieurs orgues prestigieux, dont l’orgue de la Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal et le Grand Orgue Pierre-Béique. Ce dernier porte le numéro d’opus 3900, ce qui correspond à la 3 900e commande reçue par la maison Casavant depuis sa fondation!

Activité en classe

Coloriage

Un peu de couleur avec la musique! En écoutant l’extrait de ton choix du Carnaval des animaux de Saint-Saëns, donne vie à cette image que l’illustratrice Mika a spécialement créée pour l’occasion! Durant le concert, tu pourras voir comment elle interprète avec ses crayons la musique jouée à l’orgue par Jean-Willy Kunz.

Pour aller plus loin :

Orgue et Espace: Regard vers le ciel

De la terre à l’espace et inversement, il y a des ponts que la musique franchit aisément! Admire le moment où l’astronaute de l’Agence spatiale européenne Thomas Pesquet communique en direct de la Station spatiale internationale dans le cadre d’un récital d’orgue présenté par Jean-Willy Kunz en mai 2017.

 

Un film de Disney sur la musique classique?

C’est exact! Dans Fantasia 2000, chaque segment d’animation concorde avec une œuvre de musique classique de différents compositeurs tels Beethoven et Stravinsky. Remarque bien dans cet extrait comme les flamants roses sont bien synchronisés avec le dernier mouvement du Carnaval des animaux de Camille Saint-Saëns.