Ana Sokolović

ARTIST-IN-RESIDENCE

Ana Sokolović: Imagining Music as Colours

Drawn to artistic expression from early childhood, Ana Sokolović had already begun taking ballet classes at the age four, before training in theatre and ultimately, music. She began her studies in piano and embraced composition from the age of 16. Fleeing the political upheavals of former Yugoslavia, she settled in Montreal in 1992, completing her master’s in composition at the Université de Montréal under José Evangelista.

Her career quickly took off in Montreal. Beginning in 1995, her piece Ambient V was included in a program presented by the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ); she subsequently composed Cinq locomotives et quelques animaux for the Ensemble contemporain de Montréal (ECM+). She went on to receive commissions from several sources: the Molinari Quartet, the Montreal Baroque Orchestra, the Pentaèdre wind quintet, among many others. Oro was her first OSM commission in 2001 and premiered at the Théâtre Maisonneuve under the direction of Charles Dutoit. The Orchestra performed her music the following year for the Montreal International Musical Competition and in 2007, commissioned a new work, the Concerto for Orchestra, performed on multiple occasions by the OSM under Kent Nagano during a Canadian tour. Ana Sokolović’s repertoire had, by this time, also been performed outside Quebec via commissions from the Esprit Orchestra (1999), the Soundstreams company (2001) and the Arraymusic ensemble (2002), in addition to the Toronto-based Queen of Puddings Music Theatre, for which she wrote three operas. The first of these, The Midnight Court (2005) was performed at the Royal Opera House in London.

Ana Sokolović never fails to reach her audience and captivate her listeners with music imbued with Balkan folk rhythms, adorned with scintillating colours, and evocative of playful images. In April 2012, just as the Homage Series dedicated to her by the SMCQ was coming to a close, the Quebec Minister of Culture, Communications and the Status of Women, Christine St-Pierre, declared Ana Sokolović a “national treasure,” an accolade that followed several others and preceded the Serge-Garant Award in 2015 from the Fondation Émile-Nelligan. A Juno Award winner in the category Classical Composition of the Year in Canada in both 2019 and 2020, in August 2020 Ana Sokolović was signed to the prestigious roster of Boosey & Hawkes, the international music publisher.

Réjean Beaucage

* Artist-in-residence generously sponsored by The Rossy Foundation

Ana Sokolović

ARTISTE EN RÉSIDENCE

Ana Sokolović : penser la musique en couleurs

Attirée par l’expression artistique dès son plus jeune âge, Ana Sokolović suivait déjà des cours de ballet classique à quatre ans, avant de se tourner vers le théâtre et, enfin, vers la musique. Elle apprend d’abord le piano, avant de se consacrer à la composition vers l’âge de 16 ans. Fuyant le climat politique instable qui envahissait alors la Yougoslavie, elle s’installe à Montréal en 1992. C’est là, à l’Université de Montréal, qu’elle a complété auprès de José Evangelista des études de maîtrise en composition.

Sa carrière prend rapidement son envol à Montréal. Dès 1995, sa pièce Ambient V est inscrite à un programme de la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ), puis elle compose Cinq locomotives et quelques animaux pour l’Ensemble contemporain de Montréal (ECM+). Par la suite les commandes se succèdent : Quatuor Molinari, Orchestre baroque de Montréal, quintette à vent Pentaèdre, etc. En 2001, l’OSM lui commande une première œuvre, ce sera Oro, dont la création est donnée au Théâtre Maisonneuve sous la direction de Charles Dutoit. L’orchestre joue sa musique l’année suivante lors du Concours musical international de Montréal et lui commande une nouvelle œuvre en 2007 ; son Concerto pour orchestre accompagne l’OSM et Kent Nagano en tournée canadienne. Le répertoire d’Ana Sokolović s’était déjà fait entendre à l’extérieur du Québec grâce à des commandes du Esprit Orchestra (1999), de la société Soundstreams (2001) ou de l’ensemble Arraymusic (2002), sans oublier le Queen of Puddings Music Theatre, de Toronto, pour qui elle a composé trois opéras dont le premier, The Midnight Court (2005), a été présenté à la Royal Opera House de Londres.

La musique d’Ana Sokolović trouve son public à chaque fois, le séduisant par les rythmes du folklore des Balkans dont elle garde la trace, par les couleurs chatoyantes dont elle se pare ou les images ludiques qu’elle évoque. En avril 2012, alors que s’achevait la série hommage que lui avait consacré la SMCQ, la ministre de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine du Québec, Madame Christine St-Pierre, déclarait Ana Sokolović « trésor national », une reconnaissance arrivant après plusieurs autres, et avant celle que lui offrait la Fondation Émile-Nelligan en 2015 en lui remettant le prix Serge-Garant. Lauréate des JUNO saluant la composition classique de l’année au Canada en 2019 et en 2020, la compositrice a rejoint en août 2020 le prestigieux catalogue de la maison d’édition musicale internationale Boosey & Hawkes.

Réjean Beaucage

* Artiste en résidence généreusement parrainé par La Fondation Rossy