Andrew Wan

Andrew Wan

Concertmaster

Andrew Wan studied with Masao Kawasaki and Ronald Copes at the Juilliard School. As a soloist, he has performed throughout the world under conductors including Vengerov, Petrenko, Labadie, Rizzi, Oundjian, Stern and DePreist, and has performed in concert with several artists, including the Juilliard String Quartet, Repin, Hamelin, Trifonov, Pressler, Widmann, Ax, Ehnes and Shaham. A consummate and accomplished musician, Andrew Wan is active as a soloist, chamber musician and as Concertmaster of the OSM. He also teaches at McGill University.

Joined the OSM in: 2008

Model of instrument: Michel’Angelo Bergonzi, 1744; Dominique Peccatte bow, 1860

Hometown: Edmonton

Prizes and scholarships: Grand Prize and Best Performance of a Canadian Work at the OSM Competition; Opus, Juno and Félix Awards for his recordings; First Prizes at the Canadian Music Competition as well as the Juilliard and Aspen concerto competitions.

Favourite composers: Schubert, Ravel

Favourite works: Schubert’s piano trios

Recent recordings: Complete Violin Concertos of Saint-Saëns with Kent Nagano and the OSM (Analekta); Franz Schubert—Octet in F major and Beethoven & Strauss—Septet in E-flat major and Till Eulenspiegel with the OSM Chamber Soloists (Analekta); Beethoven: Violin Sonatas nos. 6, 7 & 8, with Charles Richard-Hamelin (Analekta); Brahms String Quartets, op. 51, nos. 1 & 2 (Bridge); Par Quatre chemins (ATMA); Jacques Hétu—Complete Chamber Works for Strings (Naxos); and Schubert and Beethoven with the New Orford Quartet (Bridge).

Interests: The Edmonton Oilers

If you hadn’t chosen to become a musician, you would be …: A teacher or hockey blogger

Andrew Wan

Andrew Wan

Violon solo

Andrew Wan a étudié avec Masao Kawasaki et Ronald Copes à la Juilliard School.  À titre de soliste, il a joué à travers le monde sous la direction de chefs d’orchestre tels que Vengerov, Petrenko, Labadie, Rizzi, Oundjian, Stern et DePreist et s’est produit en concert avec plusieurs artistes, dont le Juilliard String Quartet, Repin, Hamelin, Trifonov, Pressler, Widmann, Ax, Ehnes et Shaham. Musicien complet et accompli, il est actif comme soliste, chambriste et violon solo de l’OSM, en plus d’enseigner à l’Université McGill.

À l’OSM depuis : 2008

Modèle d’instrument : Michel’Angelo Bergonzi, 1744; archet Dominique Peccatte, 1860

Ville d’origine : Edmonton

Prix et bourses : Premier prix et meilleure interprétation d’une œuvre canadienne au Concours OSM; Prix Opus, JUNO et Félix pour ses enregistrements. Premiers prix aux Concours de musique du Canada, Concours de concerto de Juilliard et d’Aspen.

Compositeurs favoris : Schubert, Ravel

Œuvres favorites : Les trios avec piano de Schubert

Récents enregistrements : Intégrales des Concertos pour violon de Saint-Saëns, avec Kent Nagano et l’OSM (Analekta); Franz Schubert – Octuor en fa majeur ainsi que Beethoven & Strauss – Septuor en mi bémol majeur et Till Eulenspiegel avec les Solistes OSM (Analekta); Beethoven : Sonates pour violon et piano nos 6, 7 & 8, avec Charles Richard-Hamelin (Analekta), Brahms String Quartets, op. 51, nos 1 & 2, Par Quatre chemins, Hétù Chamber Works for Strings ainsi que Schubert et Beethoven avec le New Orford Quartet (Bridge)

Intérêts : Les Oilers d’Edmonton

Si vous n’aviez pas été musicien, vous auriez aimé être… : Professeur ou blogueur de hockey