BAL DES ENFANTS 2022

The Wizard of Oz

Illustration: Caroline Hamel

BAL DES ENFANTS

La citée d'émeraude

A festive event for children aged 5 and older, along with their families, each year the Bal des enfants is held under a different theme. This year, the OSM calls upon the magic of the original tale of the Wizard of Oz to enchant young and old.

The one-hour theatrical concert introduces young people to symphonic music and theatre with an original adaptation of a work of children’s literature. For this 9th edition of the Bal des enfants, the OSM will continue this tradition begun by Kent Nagano under our new Music Director, Rafael Payare.

The honorary committee, composed of volunteers from the Montreal business community, is pleased to invite you to this fundraising event to support the OSM’s educational and accessibility mission.

This concert is presented in French only.

CONCERT AND FAMILY TICKETS

Lion

CORPORATE PACKAGES

Singe
 

HOW ARE DONATIONS USED?

Accessibilité

Funds raised in connection with the Bal des enfants enable the OSM to continue developing its future audiences by providing an early introduction to classical music. These funds also allow the Orchestra to implement inclusive projects in the community for lowest-access groups; to encourage young local musicians; and to offer summer programming that is accessible to all. The OSM continues to fulfill this education and accessibility role despite the ongoing pandemic.

Since the Bal des enfants’s was initiated 9 years ago, the OSM has been able to invest close to $18M in its education and accessibility programs, and to provide the opportunity of attending the Bal des enfants free of charge to more than 2,650 people from families sponsored by organizations devoted to children’s causes.

Developing future audiences

  • Each year, some 25,000 young people aged 5 to 17 attend the Children’s Corner (family concerts) and School Matinee (concerts for schools) series;
  • 7 Opus Prizes awarded by the Conseil québécois de la musique in recognition of high-quality concerts
  • Affordable pricing (from $9 to $12 per schoolchild);
  • Classroom support for making classical music more accessible (pedagogical materials, turnkey digital concerts, educational resources, video clips, playlists).

Coordinating inclusive projects in the community for lowest-access groups;

  • Some ten projects per year in collaboration with community organizations and special education programs;
  • Clientele among the most vulnerable groups (underserved and low-income neighbourhoods, children with Autism Spectrum Disorder, refugee families, newcomers to Quebec, and other groups);

Encouraging young local musicians;

  • Involvement with emerging and nonprofessional artists from Quebec and Canada (training, masterclasses, support for amateur artists as part of our summer programming and other initiatives.);
  • Annual OSM Competition since 1940, the largest classical music competition in Canada: a high-level contest, mentorship and career-building support for laureates, prestigious international jury and partners.

Offering accessible summer programming

  • 3 concerts in the parks of Greater Montreal and a large-scale outdoor concert on the Esplanade of the Olympic Park that drew more than 50,000 people in 2019;
  • The Classical Spree festival, drawing tens of thousands of festival goers for the past 8 years and offering low-cost concerts (starting at $10), free performances and activities for a 5-day period at Place des Arts and on rue Sainte-Catherine. This event involves approximately 500 artists.

RELIVE THE 2019 BAL DES ENFANTS

BAL DES ENFANTS 2022

Le magicien d'Oz

Illustration : Caroline Hamel

BAL DES ENFANTS

La cité d'émeraude

Événement festif destiné aux enfants de 5 ans et plus accompagnés de leur famille, le Bal des enfants se déroule chaque année sous un thème différent. Cette année, l’OSM fait appel à la magie du conte original du Magicien d’Oz pour enchanter petits et grands.

Le concert-spectacle d’une durée d’une heure sans entracte initie les jeunes à la musique symphonique et au théâtre, avec une adaptation originale d’une œuvre de la littérature jeunesse. Pour cette 9e édition du bal des enfants, l’OSM poursuivra la tradition initiée par Kent Nagano alors que le nouveau directeur musical, Rafael Payare dirigera le concert.

Le comité d’honneur composé de bénévoles issus de la communauté d’affaires de Montréal a le plaisir de vous inviter à cet événement-bénéfice afin d’amasser des fonds pour soutenir la mission éducative et d’accessibilité de l’OSM.

CONCERT ET BILLETS

Lion

FORFAITS D'ENTREPRISE

Singe
 

Où vont les dons?

Accessibilité

Les fonds amassés dans le cadre du Bal des enfants permettent à l’OSM de continuer à développer son public de demain et à l’initier dès le plus jeune âge à la musique classique, à mettre sur pieds des projets inclusifs avec la communauté auprès de ceux qui en ont le plus besoin, à encourager la relève musicale d’ici et à offrir une programmation estivale accessible à tous. Un rôle que l’OSM continue à jouer malgré la pandémie actuelle.

Depuis les débuts du Bal des enfants, il y a 9 ans, l’OSM a pu investir près de 1,8 M$ dans ses programmes d’éducation et d’accessibilité et a permis à plus de 2 650 personnes, provenant de familles parrainées par des organismes dédiés à l’enfance, d’assister gracieusement au Bal des enfants.

Développer notre public de demain

  • 25 000 jeunes de 5 à 17 ans assistent annuellement aux Jeux d’enfants (concerts famille) et aux Matinées scolaires
    (concerts aux écoles);
  • 7 prix Opus remis par le Conseil québécois de la musique qui reconnait la qualité des concerts;
  • Tarification accessible (de 9 $ à 12 $ par écolier);
  • Soutien aux écoles afin de rendre la musique classique plus accessible (matériel pédagogique, concerts numériques clés en main, ressources éducatives, capsules vidéo, listes de lecture).

Coordonner des projets inclusifs avec la communauté qui en a le plus besoin

  • Une dizaine de projets par année en collaboration avec des organisations communautaires et en adaptation scolaire;
  • Clientèle parmi les plus démunis (milieux défavorisés, enfants vivants avec le spectre de l’autisme, familles réfugiées, nouveaux arrivants, etc.)

Encourager la relève musicale d’ici

  • Soutien aux jeunes talents du Québec et du Canada (formation, cours de maître, parrainage d’artistes amateurs dans le cadre de notre programmation estivale, etc.);
  • Concours OSM depuis 1940, le plus grand concours de musique classique au pays : une compétition de haut niveau, mentorat et soutien au développement de carrière pour les lauréats, jurys et partenaires internationaux prestigieux.

Offrir une programmation estivale accessible

  • 3 concerts dans les parcs du Grand Montréal et un grand concert en plein air sur l’Esplanade du Parc Olympique qui ont attiré en 2019 plus de 50 000 personnes;
  • Festival La Virée classique qui attire des dizaines de milliers de festivaliers depuis 8 ans : concerts à petit prix (à partir de 10 $), prestations et activités gratuites pendant 5 jours à la Place des arts et sur la rue Sainte-Catherine. Quelque 500 artistes y participent.

REVIVEZ LE BAL DES ENFANTS 2019