Christoph Eschenbach: A conductor with an extraordinary career path


Copyright Manu Theobald

Marked for life by war

Christoph Eschenbach was born as the Second World War was raging, in 1940, Breslau (Germany), now Wrocław (Poland). His mother died at birth and his father died during the war, after being sent to the front. Young Eschenbach was placed in a camp of 60 refugees. Living in atrocious conditions, 59 of them fell victim to disease. The sole survivor at the end of the war, he was taken in by his mother’s cousin. As a result of this trauma, Eschenbach stopped speaking.

“ – Do you remember when you first started to speak again? – Well I said ‘I want to play.’”

– Christoph Eschenbach

Copyright Jonas Holthaus

Reborn through music

In his new family, Christoph Eschenbach was introduced to the piano, which soon became an obsession. Music “allowed him to rediscover the joy of living before it became his reason for living.” (Renaud Machart, Le Monde). At the age of ten, he won his first major competition in Hamburg and continued his studies, learning, in addition to the piano, the organ, the violin, the viola and eventually conducting.

A dazzling career

From first-place prizes at various music competitions to recordings with prestigious labels and acclaimed performances, Christoph Eschenbach racked up one success after another at the piano. And as if that wasn’t enough, the talented musician frequently appeared with orchestras as both guest soloist and conductor. A bit like Mozart or Beethoven did in their time, he recalls.

Inspired by the greats

At the age of 11, the young boy was awestruck when he heard Wilhelm Furtwängler conducting the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and witnessed how fired up the dozens of musicians around him. Twenty years later, Christoph Eschenbach conducted his first concert, performing Bruckner’s Third Symphony. For the maestro, his art is all about breathing; its mastery is essential to allowing the music to breathe with life.

“No minute goes by without visible effort as he strives to guide and mold and shape the sound, sometimes palming the baton and using hands alone, as if to rid himself of the needless intermediary between himself and the music he wants so much to touch.”  The Washington Post

 

To learn more:

Christoph Eschenbach : Un chef au parcours hors du commun


Copyright Manu Theobald

Marqué à vie par la guerre

Christoph Eschenbach nait dans la tempête : 1940, à Breslau (Allemagne), devenue Wrocław (Pologne). Sa mère décède à sa naissance et son père est emporté dans les affres de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Celui-ci se retrouve dans un camp de 60 réfugiés, au sein duquel les conditions terribles ont raison de 59 d’entre eux. Seul survivant à la fin de la guerre, il est pris en charge par la cousine de sa mère. Traumatisé, il ne prononce plus un mot.

« Vous souvenez-vous du moment où vous avez recommencé à parler? – J’ai dit : « Je veux jouer. » »

– Christoph Eschenbach

Copyright Jonas Holthaus

Renaître par la musique

Dans sa nouvelle famille, Christoph Eschenbach est initié au piano et en devient rapidement obsédé. La musique « lui fait retrouver la joie de vivre avant qu’elle ne devienne sa raison de vivre » (Renaud Machart, Le Monde). À dix ans, il gagne un premier concours important à Hambourg et poursuit ses études, lors desquelles, en plus du piano, il apprendra l’orgue, le violon, l’alto et éventuellement, la direction d’orchestre.

Une carrière fulgurante

Premiers prix de concours, enregistrements sous étiquettes renommées, concerts acclamés; Christoph Eschenbach accumule les succès pianistiques. Et comme si ce n’était pas suffisant, le talentueux musicien en vient à diriger l’orchestre, alors même qu’il est le soliste invité. Un peu, rappelle-t-il, comme le faisaient Mozart ou Beethoven à leur époque.

Inspiré par les plus grands

À 11 ans, le jeune garçon avait été ébloui en entendant Wilhelm Furtwängler diriger l’Orchestre philharmonique de Berlin et en voyant la force avec laquelle il inspirait les dizaines de musiciens autour de lui. 20 ans plus tard, Christoph Eschenbach dirigeait son premier concert, interprétant la Troisième Symphonie de Bruckner. Pour le maestro, tout son art se conçoit à travers la respiration, dont la maîtrise est une condition sine qua non pour que la musique vive.

« Pas une minute ne s’écoule sans effort visible, alors qu’il s’évertue à guider et modeler le son, brandissant parfois la baguette de chef ou n’utilisant que ses mains, comme pour se débarrasser d’un intermédiaire inutile entre lui-même et la musique qu’il veut tant touchée. »         – Washington Post

 

Pour en apprendre plus (vidéo en anglais seulement) :