Classical spree - Saturday - Salle Claude-Léveillé

19. Carte Blanche to the Double Bass

19. Carte Blanche to the Double Bass

Salle Claude-Léveillé

The OSM’s Principal Bass Ali Yazdanfar also pursues a successful career as a chamber music performer, recitalist and pedagogue. To introduce you to the incredible potential of the double bass, he will lead you from the Romanticism of Schumann to the Parisian jazziness of Desenclos, through swing music by Gould and Persian-inspired melodies from Rajbaran. Join this astonishing musical escapade

Ali Kian Yazdanfar, bass
Todd Cope, clarinet
Sanaz Sotudeh, piano

 

Schumann, Adagio and Allegro, for horn and piano, op. 70 (arr. for bass and piano)


Behzad Ranjbaran, Ballade, for unaccompanied double bass
Morton Gould, Benny’s Gig, for clarinet and double bass
Alfred Desenclos, Aria et Rondo, for double bass and piano

“Yazdanfar a tout joué avec justesse et un vibrato constant, tandis que Nagano et l’OSM ont admirablement soutenu leur collègue »

– Arthur Kaptainis, Classica Voice of America

TICKET PRICES

$10*

pastille_17_EN

SATURDAY August 10, 2019

3:15 P.M.

PROGRAMME NOTE

Schumann’s self-described “most fruitful year,” 1849, saw him embark upon a series of chamber miniatures for hitherto neglected melodic instruments and piano. He often tolerated and even suggested alternative scorings for these works; this Adagio and Allegro for horn and piano specifies the option of substituting a string instrument. Schumann shows his mastery of both lied and character piece for piano here: the songlike Adagio spans a wide range on the instrument and requires flawless lyrical playing, while the brilliant sonata form Allegro calls for agility and endurance.

Persian composer Behzad Ranjbaran has been described as “music’s magical realist” (Philadelphia Inquirer); his Ballade for contrabass solo was commissioned by the International Society of Bassists in 1999. Next comes Benny’s Gig, composed by Morton Gould in honour of virtuoso clarinetist and swing bandleader Benny Goodman in 1962. Goodman commissioned works from over a dozen classical composers, and this set of jazzy, virtuosic, playful duets for clarinet and double bass was created for Goodman’s upcoming tour of the USSR. Gould added the eighth duet in 1979 for the clarinetist’s 70th birthday. Finally, Alfred Desenclos’s 1952 Aria and Rondo brings together bass and piano once more in an expressive, neoclassical duet.

MORE INFORMATION

Todd Cope

Ali Kian Yazdanfar

DOWNLOAD THE BROCHURE

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Virée classique - samedi - Salle Claude-Léveillé

19. Carte blanche à la contrebasse

19. Carte blanche à la contrebasse

Salle Claude-Léveillée

Contrebassiste solo de l’OSM, Ali Kian Yazdanfar poursuit également une belle carrière de chambriste, de récitaliste et pédagogue. Pour vous dévoiler l’incroyable potentiel de la contrebasse, il vous conduira du romantisme de Schumann au Paris jazzy de Desenclos, en passant par le swing de Gould et les mélodies d’inspiration persane de Ranjbaran. Prenez part à cette étonnante escapade musicale.

Ali Kian Yazdanfar, contrebasse
Todd Cope, clarinette
Sanaz Sotudeh, piano

 

Schumann, Adagio et allegro, op. 70 (arr. pour contrebasse et piano)


Behzad Ranjbaran, Ballade, pour contrebasse seule
Morton Gould, Benny’s Gig, pour clarinette et contrebasse
Alfred Desenclos, Aria et Rondo, pour contrebasse et piano

“Yazdanfar a tout joué avec justesse et un vibrato constant, tandis que Nagano et l’OSM ont admirablement soutenu leur collègue »

– Arthur Kaptainis, Classica Voice of America

PRIX DES BILLETS

10$*

SAMEDI 10 AOÛT 2019

15h15

Redirection vers la Place des Arts

NOTE DE PROGRAMME

Durant l’année 1849, qu’il considérait comme sa plus féconde, Robert Schumann composa plusieurs petites musiques de chambre pour divers instruments mélodiques et piano. Leur distribution n’était pas fixe cependant, comme en fait foi l’Adagio et Allegro pour cor et piano, où le cuivre peut être remplacé par un instrument à cordes, ici la contrebasse. Schumann y démontre sa maîtrise à la fois du lied et de la pièce de caractère pour piano; l’Adagio déroule son chant sur le large ambitus de l’instrument, demandant chaleur et lyrisme, tandis que l’Allegro de forme sonate exige souplesse et détermination.

Le compositeur iranien Behzad Ranjbaran a été qualifié de « réaliste enchanté de la musique » par le Philadelphia Enquirer, et sa Ballade pour contrebasse seule est le fruit d’une commande en 1999 de la Société internationale des contrebassistes. Quant à Benny’s Gig, Morton Gould l’a composé pour le clarinettiste et chef de l’ère du swing Benny Goodman – qui a commandé des œuvres à plus d’une douzaine de compositeurs « classiques ». Cette suite de duos pour clarinette et contrebasse, jazzée, virtuose et ludique, a été créée en 1962 en vue de la tournée de Goodman en URSS. Gould lui a ajouté un huitième duo en 1979, à l’occasion des 70 ans du clarinettiste. Enfin, Aria et Rondo d’Alfred Desenclos, daté de 1952, réunit la contrebasse et le piano dans un duo expressif de tradition néoclassique.

© Ariadne Lih
Traduction de François Filiatrault

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

Todd Cope

Ali Kian Yazdanfar

TÉLÉCHARGER LA BROCHURE

VOUS AIMEREZ AUSSI