Classical spree - Saturday - Maison symphonique

17. A Journey In Style: Jazz, Organ and Beyond

17. A Journey in Style: Jazz, Organ and Beyond

Maison symphonique de Montréal

Ensemble InSpirations presents a mosaic of different musical traditions: touches of folklore from the Balkans, klezmer, jazz, and a sprinkling of Latin flavour. An original programme conceived by five seasoned artists giving audiences the chance to discover an unexpected dimension of the Grand Orgue Pierre-Béique.

Ensemble InSpirations
André Moisan, clarinets and saxophones
Frédéric Alarie, double bass
Hélène Lemay, trombone
Paul Picard, percussions
Jean-Willy Kunz, organ

 

Balkan Traditional, Grana od bora (arr. Bojan Z Quartet & J.-W. Kunz)

Béla Kovács, Shalom Aleichem, rov Feidman!

Bart Howard, Fly Me to the Moon (arr. H. Lemay & R. Prévost)

Frédéric Alarie / John ColtraneIn Spirit / Impressions

Chick Corea, Spain

Paquito d’Rivera, Guataca City

“A solid and bright musical instinct”

– Frédéric Cardin, Ici Musique

TICKET PRICES

$22 to $45*

pastille_17_EN

SATURDAY August 10, 2019

03:15 P.M.

Win a pair of VIP tickets to the opening concert of the Classical Spree
and meet Maestro Kent Nagano!

Purchase a minimum of two Classical Spree concerts and you become eligible to win front row seats at the OSM’s concert on the Esplanade of Olympic Park, August 7! From the Parterre seated area, you will contemplate the Orchestra’s magic and even meet its conductor Kent Nagano during a private post-concert cocktail.

Your participation couldn’t be made any simpler: by purchasing two concerts or more through osm.ca or at the OSM ticket office, you are automatically entered in the draw to win 1 of 10 pairs of tickets, next August 1**. Get ready to immerse yourself at the heart of the music by transforming your concert experience into a simply unforgettable adventure!

*Valid exclusively for tickets purchased at osm.ca or at the OSM box office. Purchases via the Place des Arts website or ticket services will not be entered into the draw.
**For details, please consult the Contest Rules.
PROGRAMME NOTE

“With its large range,” writes Jean-Willy Kunz, the organ “can rival the double bass in the low registers, and join with the percussion to complete the rhythm section of this extraordinary quintet.” This description appears on Ensemble InSpirations’s 2015 album Impressions, from which this concert presents a broad spectrum of highlights.

Balkan folk song Grana od bora was first arranged by Yugoslavian-born jazz pianist Bojan Z and his quartet; Shalom Aleichem is an original klezmer composition by Hungarian clarinet virtuoso Béla Kovács. Klezmer—an instrumental folk genre from Eastern European Ashkenazi Jewish communities—reflects Jewish soundscapes, from the modes and articulations of cantorial (synagogue) music to dance rhythms. Kovács’s piece begins with a lament supported by clarinet trills and glissandi, then accelerates—not without some humorous effects—and comes to a sparkling conclusion.

First introduced in 1954, Bart Howard’s “Fly Me to the Moon” achieved mass popularity in an instrumental bossa nova version in 1962. Frédéric Alarie’s homage to renowned saxophonist and improviser John Coltrane takes up the latter’s famous standard, “Impressions.” Next comes Chick Corea’s jazz hit “Spain,” which quotes Joaquín Rodrigo’s 1939 guitar concerto Concierto de Aranjuez before settling into a samba-like rhythm that alternates between composed themes and improvisations. “Guataca City,” by Cuban-born saxophonist and clarinetist Paquito d’Rivera, closes out the concert.

MORE INFORMATION

InSpirations

DOWNLOAD THE BROCHURE

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Virée classique - Samedi - Maison symphonique

17. Jazz, orgue et compagnie

17. Jazz, orgue et compagnie

Maison symphonique de Montréal

L’Ensemble InSpirations vous offre une véritable mosaïque musicale colorée par le folklore des Balkans, la musique klezmer, le jazz et parsemée de quelques touches hispanisantes. Un programme original conçu par cinq artistes aguerris pour vous faire découvrir un visage inattendu du Grand Orgue Pierre-Béique.

Ensemble InSpirations
André Moisan, clarinettes et saxophones
Frédéric Alarie, contrebasse
Hélène Lemay, trombone
Paul Picard, percussions
Jean-Willy Kunz, orgue

 

Traditionnel des Balkans, Grana od bora (arr. Bojan Z Quartet & J.-W. Kunz)

Béla Kovács, Shalom Aleichem, rov Feidman!

Bart Howard, Fly Me to the Moon (arr. H. Lemay & R. Prévost)

Frédéric Alarie / John Coltrane, In Spirit / Impressions

Chick Corea, Spain

Paquito d’Rivera, Guataca City

De l’instinct musical sûr et intelligent. »

– Frédéric Cardin, Ici Musique

PRIX DES BILLETS

De 22$ à 45$*

pastille_17_fr

SAMEDI 10 AOÛT 2019

15h15

Gagnez une paire de billets VIP pour le concert d’ouverture de la Virée classique
et rencontrez maestro Kent Nagano !

Achetez au minimum deux concerts de la Virée classique et courez la chance d’assister, en premières loges, au célèbre concert de l’OSM sur l’Esplanade du Parc olympique le 7 août prochain! Depuis la loge VIP, vous pourrez contempler la magie de l’Orchestre et même rencontrer son chef Kent Nagano lors du cocktail privé qui suivra.

Comment participer ? Rien de plus simple : en achetant deux concerts ou plus via osm.ca ou à la billetterie de l’OSM, vous serez automatiquement éligible pour le tirage des 10 paires de billets qui aura lieu le 1er août prochain**. Préparez-vous à plonger au cœur de la musique en transformant votre expérience de concert en une aventure tout simplement inoubliable!

* Valable seulement sur osm.ca et à la billetterie de l’OSM. Les achats sur le site web ou à la billetterie de la Place des Arts ne seront pas comptabilisés.
**Pour plus de détails, consultez les règlements du concours.
NOTE DE PROGRAMME

« Avec ses immenses possibilités, l’orgue peut tout autant rivaliser avec les graves de la contrebasse que se joindre aux percussions dans les sections rythmiques de ce quintette extraordinaire », écrit Jean-Willy Kunz dans la notice du disque Impressions (2015) de l’Ensemble InSpirations, dont ce concert présente les meilleurs moments.

Le chant folklorique des Balkans Grana od bora a été arrangé par le pianiste de jazz yougoslave Bojan Z et son quartet. Shalom Aleichem est une composition originale dans le style klezmer du clarinettiste virtuose Béla Kovács. Genre instrumental populaire des Juifs ashkénazes d’Europe de l’Est, le klezmer incarne l’ethos sonore de ces communautés en mêlant les modes et l’articulation issus du chant de la synagogue aux rythmes de la danse. La pièce de Kovács s’ouvre sur un lamento émaillé de trilles et de glissandos à la clarinette, puis s’accélère, non sans quelque humour, avant de se conclure brillamment.

Écrite par Bart Howard en 1954, la chanson Fly Me to the Moon (Emmène-moi sur la Lune) est devenue très populaire en 1962 dans son adaptation instrumentale en bossa-nova. Frédéric Alarie rend hommage au saxophoniste et improvisateur de génie John Coltrane en reprenant Impressions, un des standards de ce dernier. Dans son grand succès Spain, le jazzman Chick Corea cite le Concierto d’Aranjuez pour guitare de Joaquín Rodrigo, avant d’adopter un rythme de samba sur lequel alternent thèmes écrits et improvisations. Et le concert se termine par Guataca City du saxophoniste et clarinettiste cubain Paquito d’Rivera.

© Ariadne Lih
Traduction de François Filiatrault

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

InSpirations

TÉLÉCHARGER LA BROCHURE