Classical spree - friday - Piano nobile

3. Beethoven’s “Archduke” Trio

3. Beethoven’s “Archduke” Trio

Piano Nobile

Dedicated to the Archduke Rudolf of Austria, Beethoven’s patron, friend and student, the Piano trio, op. 97 is the composer’s most monumental work in the genre. From the majesty of the opening Allegro to the truculence of the final Rondo, it is a true delight for the listener! First Chairs of the OSM Andrew Wan and Brian Manker join Herbert Schuch in bringing to life this inspired work.

Andrew Wan, violin
Brian Manker, cello
Herbert Schuch, piano

 

Beethoven, Piano Trio no. 7 in B-flat major, op. 97, “Archduke”

“Wan played the inaugural cadenza with commanding assurance, full sonority and fuller personality. One had the impression of an operatic tenor decrying his hard lot, but with more in the way of depth and subtlety.”- Arthur Kaptainis, Ludwig van Montréal

TICKET PRICES

$22*

pastille_17_EN

FRIDAY August 9, 2019

6:45 P.M.

PROGRAMME NOTE

The Archduke Rudolf of Austria began studying piano with Beethoven at sixteen, and his relationship to the composer gradually became one of profound mutual admiration and lifelong friendship. In conjunction with two other Viennese dignitaries, he established a lifelong annuity for Beethoven in 1809, on the condition that Beethoven remain in Vienna. Composed in 1814, the Piano Trio in B-flat major—one of eleven works dedicated to the Archduke—comes from a time when Beethoven was enjoying immense popularity while his hearing grew progressively worse. The Trio’s premiere performances were Beethoven’s last appearances as a concert pianist.

The Allgemeine musikalische Zeitung remarked in 1813 that any new work by Beethoven was expected to be “completely original in its harmonies, form, and modulations.” At four movements and forty-five minutes, the Trio is unusually expansive in form, and the majestic opening Allegro features a second theme in the surprising key of G major. The simple, tongue-in-cheek Scherzo features a trio section that contrasts a zigzagging, chromatic fugato theme with a spirited waltz. The serene slow movement, an imaginative set of variations on a hymn-like theme, leads directly into the finale—a lighthearted rondo with a dashing presto conclusion.

© Ariadne Lih

MORE INFORMATION

Andrew Wan

Brian Manker

Herbert Schuch

DOWNLOAD THE BROCHURE

Virée classique - vendredi - Piano nobile

3. Le Trio « À l’Archiduc » de Beethoven

3. Le Trio « À l'Archiduc » de Beethoven

Piano Nobile

Dédicacé à l’Archiduc Rodolphe, protecteur, ami et élève de Beethoven, le Trio, op. 97 est le plus monumental des trios écrits par ce compositeur. De la majesté de l’Allegro initial à la truculence du Rondo final, c’est un véritable régal pour les oreilles! Andrew Wan et Brian Manker, tous deux premières chaises l’OSM, se joignent à Herbert Schuch pour interpréter cette œuvre inspirée.

Andrew Wan, violon
Brian Manker, violoncelle
Herbert Schuch, piano

 

Beethoven, Trio avec piano no 7 en si bémol majeur, op. 97, « À l’Archiduc »

“Wan a joué la cadence initiale avec assurance, une sonorité pleine et une personnalité assumée. On avait l’impression d’entendre un ténor opératique en plein solo dramatique, mais avec beaucoup plus de profondeur et de subtilité » – Arthur Kaptainis, Ludwig van Montréal

PRIX DES BILLETS

22$*

pastille_17_fr

VENDREDI 9 AOÛT 2019

18h45

Redirection vers la Place des Arts

NOTE DE PROGRAMME

L’Archiduc Rodolphe d’Autriche devint l’élève de piano de Beethoven à seize ans; cette relation pédagogique allait avec le temps se doubler d’une profonde admiration mutuelle et se transmuer en une longue amitié. Conjointement à deux de ses pairs, le prince a versé à Beethoven, de 1809 à la fin de ses jours, une rente annuelle, à la condition que le maître demeure à Vienne. Comptant parmi la dizaine d’ouvrages dédiés à l’archiduc, le Trio pour piano et cordes en si bémol majeur est daté de 1814, un temps où Beethoven jouissait d’une immense popularité, tout en souffrant de la rapide perte de l’ouïe. C’est d’ailleurs lors de la création de l’œuvre que le compositeur fit sa dernière prestation publique.

L’Allgemeine musikalische Zeitung écrivait en 1813 qu’à chaque annonce d’une œuvre nouvelle de Beethoven, le public devait s’attendre à « des harmonies, des formes et des modulations tout à fait originales ». Avec ses quatre mouvements et long d’une quarantaine de minutes, le Trio « L’Archiduc » est particulièrement élaboré, et l’imposant Allegro initial surprend avec un deuxième thème en sol majeur. Le Scherzo pince-sans-rire oppose une allure de valse légère à un trio consistant en un fugato louvoyant et chromatique. Le mouvement lent, plein de sérénité, déroule une série d’ingénieuses variations sur un thème calme comme un hymne, avant qu’un Allegro moderato en rondo ne conclue le tout en se transformant in extremis en un Presto débridé.

 

© Ariadne Lih
Traduction de François Filiatrault

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

Andrew Wan

Brian Manker

Herbert Schuch

TÉLÉCHARGER LA BROCHURE