Classical spree - friday - Maison symphonique

1. Legend and Poetry with Marc Hervieux and Kent Nagano

1. Legend and Poetry with Marc Hervieux and Kent Nagano

Maison symphonique de Montréal

Charismatic Montreal tenor Marc Hervieux performs Britten’s song cycle Les Illuminations, setting to music the poetry of Rimbaud. Kent Nagano will conduct excerpts from Suites nos. 1 & 2 of Peer Gynt, Grieg’s music for Ibsen’s fantastical play. The melodic richness of these suites has made them a huge success ever since their first performance.

Presented in collaboration with   ici musique

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Kent Nagano, conductor
Marc Hervieux, tenor

 

Britten, Les illuminations, op. 18

Grieg, Peer Gynt, Suite for Orchestra nos. 1 & 2, excerpts

TICKET PRICES

$22 to $45*

pastille_17_EN

FRIDAY August 9, 2019

6:30 P.M.

Win a pair of VIP tickets to the opening concert of the Classical Spree
and meet Maestro Kent Nagano!

Purchase a minimum of two Classical Spree concerts and you become eligible to win front row seats at the OSM’s concert on the Esplanade of Olympic Park, August 7! From the VIP loge, you will contemplate the Orchestra’s magic and even meet its conductor Kent Nagano during a private post-concert cocktail.

Your participation couldn’t be made any simpler: by purchasing two concerts or more through osm.ca or at the OSM ticket office, you are automatically entered in the draw to win 1 of 10 pairs of tickets, next August 1**. Get ready to immerse yourself at the heart of the music by transforming your concert experience into a simply unforgettable adventure!

*Valid exclusively for tickets purchased at osm.ca or at the OSM box office. Purchases via the Place des Arts website or ticket services will not be entered into the draw.
**For details, please consult the Contest Rules.
PROGRAMME NOTE

Britten composed his orchestral song cycle Les Illuminations in 1939, shortly after leaving Britain for the United States, and around the beginning of his lifelong romantic and artistic partnership with tenor Peter Pears. This work sets ten prose and free-verse poems by Arthur Rimbaud: these wild, kaleidoscopic texts contain dark, ecstatic, even sexual imagery, and the music responds in kind.

An American composer, probably Copland, observed that he “did not know how Britten dared to write the melody” of Antique, which ends with the delirious “et je danse” on a high B-flat while the violas and cellos strum like a great guitar. Being Beauteous, the cycle’s longest setting, is dedicated to Pears. Parade, the ghostly march that follows, features the third and last return of the enigmatic refrain “I alone hold the key to this savage parade,” and the cycle ends with the more collected Départ.

Henrik Ibsen’s play Peer Gynt premiered with Grieg’s incidental music in 1876; two orchestral suites were published in 1888 and 1893. Grieg wrote that perhaps the best-known number, “In the Hall of the Mountain King,” “reeks of cow-pads and super-Norwegianism… but I am hoping that the irony will be able to make itself felt.” Whether or not his hope was justified, the Peer Gynt suites have proved perennially fresh, charming, and contagious.

MORE INFORMATION

Kent Nagano

Marc Hervieux

DOWNLOAD THE BROCHURE

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Virée classique - Vendredi - Maison symphonique

1. Légende et poésie avec Marc Hervieux et Kent Nagano

1. Légende et poésie avec Marc Hervieux
et Kent Nagano

Maison symphonique de Montréal

Marc Hervieux, le charismatique ténor montréalais, interprétera Les Illuminations de Britten, un cycle de mélodies sur des poèmes de Rimbaud. Kent Nagano dirigera des extraits des suites 1 et 2 de Peer Gynt, musique illustrant le drame fantastique d’Ibsen. La richesse mélodique de ces suites leur a assuré un succès jamais démenti depuis leur création.

Présenté en collaboration avec   ici musique

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Kent Nagano, chef d’orchestre
Marc Hervieux, ténor

 

Britten, Les Illuminations, op. 18

 

Grieg, Peer Gynt, Suite pour orchestre nos 1 & 2, extraits

PRIX DES BILLETS

De 22$ à 45$*

VENDREDI 9 AOÛT 2019

18h30

Redirection vers la Place des Arts

Gagnez une paire de billets VIP pour le concert d’ouverture de la Virée classique
et rencontrez maestro Kent Nagano !

Achetez au minimum deux concerts de la Virée classique et courez la chance d’assister, en premières loges, au célèbre concert de l’OSM sur l’Esplanade du Parc olympique le 7 août prochain! Depuis l’espace Parterre, vous pourrez contempler la magie de l’Orchestre et même rencontrer son chef Kent Nagano lors du cocktail privé qui suivra.

Comment participer ? Rien de plus simple : en achetant deux concerts ou plus via osm.ca ou à la billetterie de l’OSM, vous serez automatiquement éligible pour le tirage des 10 paires de billets qui aura lieu le 1er août prochain**. Préparez-vous à plonger au cœur de la musique en transformant votre expérience de concert en une aventure tout simplement inoubliable!

* Valable seulement sur osm.ca et à la billetterie de l’OSM. Les achats sur le site web ou à la billetterie de la Place des Arts ne seront pas comptabilisés.
**Pour plus de détails, consultez les règlements du concours.
NOTE DE PROGRAMME

Benjamin Britten achève son cycle pour voix aiguë et orchestre à cordes Les Illuminations en 1939, peu après avoir quitté l’Angleterre pour les États-Unis et au début de sa longue et heureuse relation, tant musicale qu’intime, avec le ténor Peter Pears. L’œuvre met en musique dix poèmes en prose et en vers libres d’Arthur Rimbaud, rendant parfaitement le côté indomptable et bigarré des textes, avec leurs images noires, extravagantes et allusivement sexuelles.

Un compositeur américain, probablement Aaron Copland, a avoué ne pas savoir comment Britten avait osé écrire la mélodie d’Antique, qui se termine par le délirant « et je danse » sur le si bémol supérieur alors qu’altos et violoncelles résonnent comme une guitare géante! Being Beautous, le morceau le plus long du cycle, est dédié à Peter Pears, tandis que Parade, la marche hallucinée qui lui fait suite, fait entendre pour la troisième et dernière fois le mystérieux vers « J’ai seul la clef de cette parade sauvage », et le cycle se conclut de façon plus sereine par Départ.

L’année 1876 vit la création de la pièce Peer Gynt d’Henrik Ibsen avec la musique d’Edvard Grieg. Une partie de celle-ci fut publiée en deux suites d’orchestre en 1888 et 1893. Le compositeur considérait que le morceau le plus populaire de l’ensemble, Dans l’antre du roi de la montagne, empestait la vache et la Norvège profonde, tout en espérant que l’ironie en serait perçue. Quoi qu’il en soit, les Suites de Peer Gynt n’ont rien perdu de leur inaltérable charme et de leur fraîcheur contagieuse.

© Ariadne Lih
Traduction de François Filiatrault

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

Kent Nagano

Marc Hervieux

TÉLÉCHARGER LA BROCHURE