Classical spree - Saturday - Maison symphonique

12. The OSM and Kent Nagano : from Prokofiev to Glenn Miller

12. The OSM and Kent Nagano : from Prokofiev to Glenn Miller

Maison symphonique de Montréal

From the Concerto for two trombones by young Canadian composer Matthew Ricketts to the swingin’ tunes of Glenn Miller and Tommy Dorsey, brass instruments take centre stage under the baton of Maestro Kent Nagano. Treat yourself to this exquisite musical cocktail, a mix of jazz and classical spiced with the gripping modulations and humorous touches of Prokofiev’s Symphony no. 1.

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Kent Nagano, conductor
Ian Bousfield, trombone
James Box, trombone

 

Prokofiev, Symphony no. 1 in D major, op. 25, “Classical”

Matthew Ricketts, Halo, Concerto for two trombones, World premiere – OSM commission

David Martin, Tommy and Glenn, Homage to Glenn Miller and Tommy Dorsey, World premiere – OSM commission

TICKET PRICES

$22 to $45*

pastille_17_EN

SATURDAY August 10, 2019

1:00 P.M.

Win a pair of VIP tickets to the opening concert of the Classical Spree
and meet Maestro Kent Nagano!

Purchase a minimum of two Classical Spree concerts and you become eligible to win front row seats at the OSM’s concert on the Esplanade of Olympic Park, August 7! From the Parterre seated area, you will contemplate the Orchestra’s magic and even meet its conductor Kent Nagano during a private post-concert cocktail.

Your participation couldn’t be made any simpler: by purchasing two concerts or more through osm.ca or at the OSM ticket office, you are automatically entered in the draw to win 1 of 10 pairs of tickets, next August 1**. Get ready to immerse yourself at the heart of the music by transforming your concert experience into a simply unforgettable adventure!

*Valid exclusively for tickets purchased at osm.ca or at the OSM box office. Purchases via the Place des Arts website or ticket services will not be entered into the draw.
**For details, please consult the Contest Rules.
PROGRAMME NOTE

Prokofiev composed his First Symphony shortly after his first two piano concertos and Scythian Suite—all strikingly dissonant, modernist works. Premiered in 1918, the “Classical” Symphony departs significantly from this trend. In his memoirs, Prokofiev wrote, “It seemed to me that if Haydn had lived in our day, he would have retained his own compositional style while absorbing something of the new. This was the kind of symphony I wanted to write.”

Prokofiev’s writing is so compact that the Symphony barely runs fifteen minutes. In the opening sonata, the second theme spans two whole octaves; the Larghetto is a rondo with a smooth, high violin melody for the refrain. The Gavotte and central trio replace the traditional minuet, with some adventurous modulation in the outer gavotte sections, and the dashing finale returns to brilliant, Haydn-inspired sonata form.

Trombone takes center stage in the two premieres that follow. Matthew Ricketts’ double trombone concerto is his second OSM commission after last season’s Chaakapesh: The Trickster’s Quest (in collaboration with Cree playwright Tomson Highway). Tommy and Glenn, by conductor and trombonist David Martin, honours two trombonists and bandleaders of the swing era—Glenn Miller, beloved for his dance band and seamlessly crafted arrangements, and Tommy Dorsey, renowned for his versatile big band and instrumental prowess.

MORE INFORMATION

Kent Nagano

Ian Bousfield

James Box

DOWNLOAD THE BROCHURE

Virée classique - Samedi - Maison symphonique

12. L’OSM et Kent Nagano : de Prokofiev à Glenn Miller

12. L’OSM et Kent Nagano : de Prokofiev à Glenn Miller

Maison symphonique de Montréal

Du Concerto pour deux trombones du jeune compositeur canadien Matthew Ricketts au swing des mélodies de Glenn Miller et Tommy Dorsey, les cuivres seront à l’honneur sous la baguette du maestro Kent Nagano. Laissez-vous tenter par ce savoureux cocktail musical, mêlant le jazz au classique, pimenté par les mordantes modulations et les touches d’humour de la Symphonie no1 de Prokofiev.

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Kent Nagano, chef d’orchestre
Ian Bousfield, trombone
James Box, trombone

 

Prokofiev, Symphonie no 1 en ré majeur, op. 25, « Classique » 

Matthew Ricketts, Halo, Concerto pour deux trombones, Création mondiale – commande de l’OSM

David Martin, Tommy and Glenn, Hommage à Glenn Miller et Tommy Dorsey, Création mondiale – commande de l’OSM

PRIX DES BILLETS

De 22$ à 45$*

pastille_17_fr

SAMEDI 10 AOÛT 2019

13h00

Gagnez une paire de billets VIP pour le concert d’ouverture de la Virée classique
et rencontrez maestro Kent Nagano !

Achetez au minimum deux concerts de la Virée classique et courez la chance d’assister, en premières loges, au célèbre concert de l’OSM sur l’Esplanade du Parc olympique le 7 août prochain! Depuis la loge VIP, vous pourrez contempler la magie de l’Orchestre et même rencontrer son chef Kent Nagano lors du cocktail privé qui suivra.

Comment participer ? Rien de plus simple : en achetant deux concerts ou plus via osm.ca ou à la billetterie de l’OSM, vous serez automatiquement éligible pour le tirage des 10 paires de billets qui aura lieu le 1er août prochain**. Préparez-vous à plonger au cœur de la musique en transformant votre expérience de concert en une aventure tout simplement inoubliable!

* Valable seulement sur osm.ca et à la billetterie de l’OSM. Les achats sur le site web ou à la billetterie de la Place des Arts ne seront pas comptabilisés.
**Pour plus de détails, consultez les règlements du concours.
NOTE DE PROGRAMME

Sergueï Prokofiev a composé sa Première Symphonie en ré majeur peu après ses deux premiers Concertos pour piano et sa Suite scythe, trois œuvres résolument modernes qui frappent par leur emploi de la dissonance. La Symphonie, créée en 1918 et qualifiée de « Classique » par son auteur, s’inscrit dans une tout autre tradition. Prokofiev écrit : « Mon idée était d’écrire une symphonie dans le style de Haydn. Je pensais que si ce compositeur avait encore vécu, il aurait certainement agrémenté sa musique d’éléments nouveaux, tout en conservant sa façon de faire. C’est une symphonie fidèle à ce principe que j’ai voulu composer. »

L’œuvre est si concise qu’elle dure environ quinze minutes. Dans l’Allegro initial de forme sonate, le second thème couvre deux octaves; bâti comme un rondo, le Larghetto déploie une mélodie suave dans l’aigu du violon; le traditionnel menuet est remplacé par une gavotte émaillée d’audacieuses modulations, avec bien sûr un trio central; le finale revient à la forme sonate classique pour terminer le tout avec fougue.

Le trombone est à l’honneur dans les deux créations au programme. Le Concerto pour deux trombones de Matthew Ricketts répond à une commande de l’OSM, la seconde après Chaakapesh, ou le périple du fripon, opéra de chambre écrit en collaboration avec l’écrivain cri Tomson Highway et présenté l’an dernier. Tommy and Glenn, du chef et tromboniste David Martin, rend hommage à deux trombonistes et chefs de l’époque du swing, Glenn Miller, apprécié pour son orchestre de danse et ses parfaits arrangements musicaux, et Tommy Dorsey, renommé pour la polyvalence de son big band et pour sa virtuosité.

© Ariadne Lih
Traduction de François Filiatrault

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

Kent Nagano

Ian Bousfield

James Box

TÉLÉCHARGER LA BROCHURE