DO YOU KNOW RAFAEL PAYARE?


“He is a prodigious artist, who combines the gift of rare sound perfection with a deep, delicate, intense and quivering sensitivity.” Le Monde

French horn debut

Rafael Payare was born in Venezuela in 1980 and started learning music at the age of 14. He set his sights not on the piano or the violin… but on the French horn. He had been mesmerized by the sound of the instrument when, one day, he heard the music of Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture emanating from his brother’s room.

 

From instrumentalist…

Rafael Payare rose to the rank of principal horn of the prestigious Simón Bolívar Youth Symphony Orchestra. At the time, he felt that before he could become a conductor, he must first excel at his instrument, and then grow old and get white hair. Only then could he aspire to become a conductor.

…to conductor

And then the Italian maestro Giuseppi Sinopoli came to Venezuela. He got the orchestra to do exactly as he wanted without speaking a single word of Spanish. Rafael Payare was captivated by the power and profession of conductor. A few years later, the conductor José Antonio Abreu gave him the opportunity to prove himself as an orchestra conductor. Payare has been conducting some of the world’s greatest orchestras ever since.

The secret to his success?

Rafael Payare stands out. Those who have only seen him will say that it is because of his 70s rock-star looks. Those who have heard him conduct an orchestra quickly forget his physical appearance and are aware only of his total commitment to music, his authenticity and overflowing passion.

« Whenever you make music, you have to make it with total commitment and honesty, as if it’s the last breath that you will ever take » – Rafael Payare

Rafael Payare will conduct the OSM for two concerts on September 27.

CONNAISSEZ-VOUS RAFAEL PAYARE ?


« C’est un artiste prodigieux, qui allie le don d’une rare perfection sonore à une sensibilité profonde, délicate, intense, frémissante »Le Monde

Débuts au cor français

Rafael Payare est né au Venezuela en 1980 et débuta l’apprentissage de la musique à 14 ans. Il jeta son dévolu non sur le piano ou le violon… mais sur le cor français, dont le timbre l’avait tant charmé lorsqu’un jour, la musique de l’Ouverture 1812 de Tchaïkovski parvint jusqu’à ses oreilles.

 

De musicien…

Rafael Payare se hissa au rang de premier cor du prestigieux orchestre symphonique de jeunes Simón Bolívar. À l’époque, il considérait qu’avant de pouvoir accéder au rang de chef d’orchestre, il fallait d’abord devenir un excellent musicien. Puis, devenir vieux et avoir les cheveux blancs. Ensuite seulement, pouvait-on aspirer à devenir chef.

… à chef d’orchestre

C’est lors d’une visite du chef d’orchestre Giuseppi Sinopoli, alors que celui-ci obtint exactement ce qu’il voulait de l’orchestre sans prononcer un seul mot d’espagnol, que Rafael Payare fut séduit par le pouvoir et le métier de chef. Quelques années plus tard, le chef José Antonio Abreu lui offrit la chance de faire ses preuves en direction d’orchestre. Depuis, il a dirigé parmi les plus grands orchestres du monde.

D’où lui vient le succès ?

Rafael Payare se distingue. Ceux qui l’ont seulement vu diront que c’est grâce à son look tantôt de rock star, tantôt sorti des années 70. Ceux qui l’ont entendu avec orchestre oublient rapidement tout élément physique pour ne percevoir que l’engagement total qu’il a envers la musique, son authenticité ainsi que sa passion débordante.

« Chaque fois qu’on joue de la musique, il faut le faire avec un engagement et une authenticité des plus complets, comme si on prenait notre dernier souffle. » – Rafael Payare

Rafael Payare viendra diriger l’OSM lors de deux concerts le 27 septembre prochain.