YOUTH MONTH

YOUTH MONTH

Since its founding in 1934, the Orchestra has put education at the heart of its mission. Thanks to bold and innovative projects, the Orchestra makes it possible for younger generations to incorporate music as a lasting feature of their lives.

November is Youth Month, a special time for the OSM to show its engagement with young people! Whether it’s with the OSM Competition, which supports the next generation of musicians, the Musique aux enfants program, which introduces young children to music, or the Euphonie project, which gives children from different backgrounds an opportunity to get together, the OSM will be showcasing its various educational initiatives throughout the month!

The OSM Competition

Following the massive success of its first virtual edition, the Competition is back in strength for a second year, using a formula designed for both artists and music lovers. Its web platform will allow candidates to be seen and heard from coast to coast. Dedicated to singing, this 82nd edition will take place from September 13 to November 27.

OSMose

An initiative of the OSM and philanthropist Michel Phaneuf in collaboration with music therapist Nathalie Leroux and École Saint-Etienne in Montreal, this project, which began in 2018, enables several children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) as well as regular school students to approach music and art through adapted workshops. The project will culminate in two concerts on April 7 and 10—one for schools and one for families—at the Maison symphonique.

School Matinees

Year after year, School Matinees are unmissable events that bring together the OSM and students for whom the opportunity to discover the different facets of the Orchestra is always a source of great enthusiasm! Once again, elementary and secondary schools will be given the opportunity to register for an OSM School Matinee, providing them with the chance to attend these concerts. Be on the lookout on January 11 to discover upcoming School Matinees!

CHILDREN'S CORNER

Aimed primarily at youth aged 5 to 12, the Children’s Corner series is conceived as an opportunity for the whole family to share and discover music. These concerts are original OSM productions that invite the young and not-so-young to learn in a fun and interactive way. On March 20 and May 15, connect with the fascinating world of the symphony orchestra.

LA MUSIQUE AUX ENFANTS

La musique aux enfants is a musical pre-school and kindergarten program in the borough of Montréal-Nord in which over 200 children can develop and benefit from intensive music instruction. In addition, the program reaches out to over 100 families in the community each week, enabling them to discover the world of classical music through a variety of activities. More than ever, it is essential to support the musical education of young children, fostering their development, opening their minds, and sharing the joy and well-being music brings.

EUPHONIE

Euphonie is an initiative of the OSM to instigate intercultural encounters between elementary school students from the Association of Jewish Schools and public schools in Quebec. This musical project will take place in 3 phases, in which 30 junior and senior classes are paired with the goal to co-create a text and a musical work. This fall, students will have the opportunity to develop their knowledge of the symphony orchestra through a digital concert and a meeting with an OSM musician. The project continues throughout the school year, so stay tuned!

This project is made possible with the generous support of the Jewish Community Foundation and Ruth and David Steinberg.

UNE CHANSON À L'ÉCOLE

The Orchestre symphonique de Montréal is proud to be associated with Culture pour tous and the activity Une chanson à l’école (A song for your school) during the Journées de la culture this year! This is a unifying project allowing students throughout Quebec and French-speaking communities elsewhere to discover an original song written especially for them. This year, Ariane Moffatt composed Ensemble, sensibles, a rhythmic, dancy and optimistic song recorded with the OSM at the Maison symphonique. The participating schools were able to discover the orchestra through pedagogical tools designed especially for them, and the OSM provided scores adapted for schools with instrumental ensembles. Discover here the video summarizing this project, in which more than 1000 schools took part!

A MOZART CONCERT IN MONTRÉAL-NORD

Discover some of Mozart’s best-known melodies with your family next November 28 in a free concert presented by the OSM in partnership with the borough of Montréal-Nord. This event is hosted by La musique aux enfants educator Lybid Roque Pinedo with the participation of four OSM musicians. Guaranteed to be a beautiful musical moment for young people!

November 28th at 2 p.m. at Maison Culturelle et Communautaire de Montréal-Nord, Oliver Jones Hall

Reserve your seats

TIPS FROM THE PROS

The OSM is proud to present a series of educational clips specially designed for high school students and teachers. These clips feature OSM musicians helping young people overcome technical challenges specific to the instruments of the symphony orchestra. Their aim is to offer teachers and students pedagogical tools that meet their specific needs.

All these initiatives are made possible thanks in great part to the support of our loyal donors. Their gifts allow the OSM to pursue its mission of accessibility and education and to develop initiatives that promote the benefits that music can bring, so essential for young peoples’ development. If you too would like to make a donation:

Public partners

Mois de la jeunesse

Mois de la jeunesse

Depuis sa fondation en 1934, l’OSM place l’éducation au cœur de sa mission. Grâce à des initiatives audacieuses et innovantes, l’Orchestre permet aux jeunes générations d’inscrire durablement la musique dans leur parcours de vie.

En novembre plus particulièrement, l’OSM célèbre le mois de la jeunesse! Que ce soit avec le Concours OSM qui contribue au rayonnement de la relève musicale, le programme La musique aux enfants qui permet d’initier les jeunes à la musique, ou encore le projet Euphonie qui propose des rencontres musicales entre des enfants d’horizons différents, tout au long du mois l’OSM vous fera découvrir ses diverses initiatives éducatives !

CONCOURS OSM

Suite au grand succès de sa première édition virtuelle, le Concours revient en force pour une deuxième année avec une formule pensée à la fois pour les artistes et les mélomanes. Sa plateforme web permettra aux candidats d’être vus et écoutés d’un océan à l’autre. Consacrée au chant, cette 82e édition se déroulera du 13 septembre au 27 novembre.

OSMose

À l’initiative de l’OSM et du philanthrope Michel Phaneuf, en collaboration avec Nathalie Leroux, musicothérapeute, et l’École Saint-Etienne à Montréal, ce projet initié en 2018 permet à plusieurs enfants présentant un trouble du spectre de l’autisme (TSA) ainsi qu’à des élèves de classe régulière, de se rapprocher de la musique et de l’art, par le biais d’ateliers adaptés. Le projet culminera par deux concerts les 7 et 10 avril prochains – un pour les écoles et un pour les familles – à la Maison symphonique.

Matinées scolaires

Année après année, les Matinées scolaires sont des rendez-vous incontournables entre l’OSM et les élèves de niveau primaire, pour qui l’occasion de découvrir les différentes facettes de l’Orchestre provoque un enthousiasme assuré. Afin d’offrir la possibilité à plusieurs écoles d’assister à ces concerts, l’OSM proposera de nouveau aux écoles primaires et secondaires de s’inscrire à une Matinée scolaire. Soyez à l’affût le 11 janvier prochain, afin de découvrir les prochaines Matinées scolaires!

Jeux d’enfants

Destinée principalement aux jeunes de 5 à 12 ans, la série Jeux d’enfants est pensée comme un moment de partage et de découverte pour toute la famille. Ces concerts sont des productions originales de l’OSM qui invitent petits et grands à apprendre de façon ludique et interactive. Le 20 mars et 15 mai, entrez dans l’univers fascinant de l’orchestre symphonique.

LA MUSIQUE AUX ENFANTS

La musique aux enfants est une prématernelle et maternelle musicale dans l’arrondissement de Montréal-Nord, qui permet chaque année à plus de 200 enfants de s’épanouir et de bénéficier d’un enseignement intensif en musique. De plus, le programme rejoint chaque semaine plus de cent familles de la communauté qui découvrent l’univers de la musique classique par le biais d’une variété d’activités. Plus que jamais, il est primordial de soutenir l’éducation musicale des jeunes enfants, favorisant le développement, l’ouverture d’esprit et le partage dans une dynamique de joie et bien-être.

Projet Euphonie

Euphonie est une initiative de l’OSM visant à initier des rencontres interculturelles entre les élèves du primaire de l’association des écoles juives et des écoles publiques du Québec. Ce projet musical se déroulera en 3 phases où 30 classes du 2e et 3e cycle seront jumelées pour co-créer un texte et une œuvre musicale. Cet automne, les élèves auront la chance de développer leur connaissance sur l’orchestre symphonique grâce à un concert numérique et à la rencontre d’un musicien de l’OSM. Le projet se poursuit tout au long de l’année scolaire donc restez à l’affût!

Cette initiative est rendue possible grâce au généreux soutien de la fondation communautaire juive de Montréal et de Ruth et David Steinberg.

Une chanson à l’école

L’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal est fier de s’associer cette année à Culture pour tous dans le cadre de l’activité Une chanson à l’école des Journées de la culture! Ce projet rassembleur permet de faire découvrir aux élèves à travers le Québec et la francophonie une chanson originale écrite spécialement pour eux. Cette année, Ariane Moffatt a composé Ensemble, sensibles, une chanson rythmée, dansante et optimiste qui fut captée en compagnie de l’OSM à la Maison symphonique. Les écoles participantes ont pu découvrir l’orchestre par des outils pédagogiques conçus pour eux, de plus l’OSM a fait réaliser des partitions adaptées pour les écoles avec ensemble instrumental. Découvrez ici la vidéo récapitulative de ce projet où plus de 1000 écoles ont participé!

Un concert de Mozart à Montréal-Nord

Venez découvrir en famille quelques-unes des mélodies les plus connues de Mozart à travers un concert gratuit présenté par l’OSM en partenariat avec l’arrondissement de Montréal-Nord, le 28 novembre prochain. Animé par Lybid Roque Pinedo, éducatrice au programme La musique aux enfants, et avec la participation de quatre musiciens de l’OSM, l’événement promet aux jeunes un beau moment musical.

28 novembre à 14h, Maison Culturelle et Communautaire de Montréal-Nord, Salle Oliver Jones

Réservez vos places

Capsules Astuces de pros

L’OSM est fier de présenter une série de capsules éducatives destinées aux élèves et aux enseignants des écoles secondaires. Mettant de l’avant les musiciens de l’OSM, ces capsules aident les jeunes à surmonter des difficultés techniques propres aux instruments de l’orchestre symphonique. Ce projet vise à offrir aux enseignants et aux élèves des outils pédagogiques qui répondent à leurs besoins.

Toutes ces initiatives sont rendues possible entre autres grâce au soutien de nos fidèles donateurs. Les dons récoltés permettent à l’OSM de poursuivre sa mission d’accessibilité et d’éducation et de développer des initiatives qui prônent les vertus de la musique pour le développement des jeunes. Si vous aussi vous voulez faire un don :

Partenaires publics