Rafael Payare

CONDUCTOR RAFAEL PAYARE,
THE NEW MUSIC DIRECTOR OF THE OSM

Internationally renowned conductor Rafael Payare will take on the role of Music Director of the OSM. Mr. Payare will become the 9th Music Director in the history of the Orchestra.

The Venezuelan conductor, whose appointment was unanimously endorsed by the selection committee, will take up the position of Designated Music Director  on September 1st, 2021. Succeeding Kent Nagano, he will assume his full duties beginning with the 2022-2023 season, for a period of at least five years.

Rafael Payare and the OSM, an ongoing relationship

Mr. Payare’s debut with the Orchestra in 2018 was a hugely memorable occasion and his natural rapport with the OSM musicians was immediate. This connection was reaffirmed on his return to the Orchestra in 2019. For the 2020-21 season of the OSM, it is as artist-in-residence* that Mr. Payare will demonstrate the extent of his talents to the Quebec public.

“Rafael Payare’s passion, energy and determination, his Latin roots and his engaging personality are attributes that will undoubtedly appeal to Montreal audiences.” – Madeleine Careau, CEO of the OSM

Montreal, the continuation of a dazzling journey

Rafael Payare, who is 40, is one of the most prominent and internationally sought-after conductors of the new generation. His innate musicianship, his brilliant technique and the charisma he radiates on the podium characterize his musical style and approach. Mr. Payare trained as a French horn player and graduated from the acclaimed music education program El Sistema. His talent was soon recognized by Maestro José Antonio Abreu, El Sistema’s founder, with whom he began his formal studies in orchestral conducting in 2004.

Since winning the prestigious Malko International Competition for Young Conductors in Denmark in 2012, Mr. Payare’s career has advanced rapidly. From 2014 to 2019, he was Music Director of the Ulster Orchestra and since 2019 he has been Music Director of the San Diego Symphony.

«He is a prodigious artist, who combines the gift of rare sound perfection with a deep, delicate, intense and quivering sensitivity.» – Le Monde

In recent years, he has conducted many of the world’s most prestigious symphony orchestras, in Paris, Vienna, London, Munich, Chicago and Berlin, among others.

To consult:

– Our portrait : Rafael Payare: Music as the Breath of Life
– Website : rafaelpayare.com

* Artist-in-residence generously sponsored by The Rossy Foundation

SUNDAY, JANUARY 10 AT 2:30 P.M.
FREE BROADCAST – LIVE FROM THE MAISON SYMPHONIQUE

Rafael Payare Conducts Brahms’ First Symphony

ico_diffusion_gratuite

Rafael Payare

LE CHEF D’ORCHESTRE RAFAEL PAYARE,
NOUVEAU DIRECTEUR MUSICAL DE L’OSM

Rafael Payare, chef d’orchestre de renommée internationale, prendra le rôle de directeur musical de l’OSM. M. Payare deviendra le 9e directeur musical de l’histoire de l’orchestre.

Le chef d’orchestre vénézuélien, dont la nomination a été recommandée à l’unanimité par le comité de sélection, entrera en poste comme directeur musical désigné à compter du 1er septembre prochain. Succédant à Kent Nagano, il assumera pleinement ses fonctions à compter de la saison 2022-2023, pour une période d’au moins cinq ans.

Rafael Payare et l’OSM, une relation qui se poursuit

Les débuts de M.Payare avec l’Orchestre, en 2018, ont donné lieu à une occasion des plus mémorables, la relation naturelle qu’il a alors établie avec les musiciens de l’OSM étant instantanée. Cette connexion a été réaffirmée en 2019, lorsqu’il a dirigé l’Orchestre à nouveau. Pour la saison 2020-21 de l’OSM, c’est comme artiste en résidence* que M.Payare démontre l’étendue de ses talents au public québécois.

« La passion, l’énergie et la détermination de Rafael Payare, ses origines latines ainsi que sa personnalité attachante sont des attributs qui plairont sans nul doute au public montréalais.» – Madeleine Careau, chef de la direction de l’OSM

Montréal, la suite d’un parcours fulgurant

Rafael Payare, qui est âgé de 40 ans, est un des chefs d’orchestre de la nouvelle génération les plus en vue et les plus en demande sur la scène internationale. Son sens inné de la musique, sa technique brillante et le charisme qu’il dégage sur le podium caractérisent son style et sa démarche musicale. Corniste de formation, Rafael Payare est diplômé du célèbre programme d’éducation musicale El Sistema. Son talent a été rapidement reconnu par le maestro José Antonio Abreu, le fondateur d’El Sistema, auprès duquel il a entrepris, en 2004, ses études formelles en direction d’orchestre.

 

Depuis qu’il a remporté au Danemark, en 2012, le prestigieux concours international Malko pour jeunes chefs d’orchestre, sa carrière connaît une progression fulgurante. De 2014 à 2019, il a été directeur musical de l’Ulster Orchestra et, depuis 2019, il occupe cette fonction au sein du San Diego Symphony.

«C’est un artiste prodigieux, qui allie le don d’une rare perfection sonore à une sensibilité profonde, délicate, intense, frémissante » – Le Monde

Au cours des dernières années, Rafael Payare a dirigé un grand nombre d’orchestres symphoniques parmi les plus prestigieux dans le monde. Ce fut notamment le cas à Paris, à Vienne, à Londres, à Munich, à Chicago et à Berlin.

À consulter également:

– Notre portrait : Rafael Payare, la musique comme souffle vital
– Site web : rafaelpayare.com

* Artiste en résidence généreusement parrainé par La Fondation Rossy

DIMANCHE LE 10 JANVIER À 14 H 30
CONCERT GRATUIT ET EN DIRECT DE LA MAISON SYMPHONIQUE

Rafael Payare dirige la Première Symphonie de Brahms

ico_diffusion_gratuite