JOSHUA BELL

JOSHUA BELL PLAYS AND CONDUCTS THE OSM

SEASON PARTNER

Maison symphonique de Montréal

The OSM is delighted to welcome back acclaimed American violinist Joshua Bell in this program of Romantic German music. Following his 2011 appearance in Montréal, he swapped his bow for a baton at the prestigious Academy of St Martin in the Fields. This is the first time he will play the dual role of soloist and conductor in Montréal. A not-to-be-missed event!

TICKETS PRICES

From 43$*

TUESDAY FEBRUARY 14 2017

8:00 PM

SOLD OUT

WEDNESDAY FEBRUARY 15 2017

8:00 PM

SOLD OUT

Joshua Bell, violin and conductor

PROGRAM:

Mendelssohn, Overture The Hebrides (approx. 10 min.)

Bruch, Violin Concerto no 1 in G minor, op. 26 (approx. 24 min.)

Beethoven, Symphony no 7 in A major, op. 92 (approx. 36 min.)

  Are you 34 or under?

The Club des jeunes ambassadeurs de l’OSM invite you to the foyer Parterre for a cocktail after the 15th February concert. Chat with OSM musicians and music lovers such as yourself. A free drink coupon is offered!

PROGRAM NOTES

Overture – concerto – symphony: this is the standard, traditional format for many an orchestral program. But none of the works we hear tonight is “standard” in its conception and/or layout. All are by Germans and span a period of barely more than half a century, from Beethoven’s symphony of 1813 to Bruch’s concerto of 1866. Each has special and unique elements that set it apart from other works in the genre: twenty-year-old Mendelssohn’s superb depiction of a natural phenomenon set in a classical mode; Bruch’s striking departure from traditional form for a concerto; and Beethoven’s almost manic obsession with rhythmic patterns rather than melodic shapes to propel his symphony.

 

 

FELIX MENDELSSOHN

Born in Hamburg, February 3, 1809 – Died in Leipzig, November 4, 1847

 

Scotland especially appealed to Mendelssohn’s romantic sensibility and penchant for picturesque landscapes as musical stimuli. He wrote rapturously of the waterfalls, valleys, wildflowers, forests and craggy rocks: “Everything looks so stern and robust, half enveloped in haze or smoke or fog.” In early August of 1829, Mendelssohn and his traveling companion Karl Klingemann (a young German diplomat and poet) reached the western coast and took a boat to the Hebrides, a group of about five hundred rugged, picturesque islands where Gaelic is widely spoken and the people still live much as they have for hundreds of years, tending cattle and sheep, weaving Harris tweed, and raising crops such as barley, oats and potatoes. Best known of the islands is Skye, but it was Staffa that left the deepest impression on young Mendelssohn, for here was located the spectacular cavern named after the folk hero Fingal.

 

The vast cave, open to the sea, measures 69 by 13 meters and rises to a height of 20 meters. The sea forms the floor; along the walls stand towering pillars of basalt lava, inspiring Klingemann to describe the scene as resembling “the interior of an immense organ. It lies there alone, black, echoing, and entirely purposeless  ̶  the grey waste of the sea in and around it.” Mendelssohn put his own impression into tone instead, noting down a twenty-one-measure passage that became the opening of his overture and perfectly captures the air of hushed mystery, dark mists and the restless sea. Two main musical ideas are developed within the context of a sonata-form movement: the “lapping wave” motif that opens the work, and a long-breathed, rising melody for the lower strings and woodwinds.

 

 

Max Bruch

Born in Cologne, January 6, 1838 – Died in Friedenau, near Berlin, October 2, 1920

 

Max Bruch is remembered by concertgoers today on the strength of just two or three works: Kol Nidre for cello and orchestra, the Scottish Fantasy for violin and orchestra, and of course, the First Violin Concerto in G minor. We of the twenty-first century have largely forgotten that Bruch was highly regarded in his day, especially for secular choral music. His career as a composer embraced more than seven decades, from his earliest orchestral work at the age of eleven to the songs and choral music written just before he died at 82.

 

Bruch began working on his First Violin Concerto in 1857 but put it aside for nine years. It was taken up again and completed in 1866. Otto von Königslow performed the work on April 24, with the composer conducting. But Bruch was not satisfied with the concerto; after some revisions, he submitted it to the famous violinist Joseph Joachim for comment. Joachim suggested numerous changes, but rejected the composer’s opinion that, because of the free-form first movement, it would be better entitled a fantasy than a concerto. Joachim wrote: “The designation ‘concerto’ is completely apt. Indeed, the second and third movements are too fully and symmetrically developed for a fantasy. The separate sections of the work cohere in a lovely relationship, and yet  ̶  and this is the most important thing  ̶  there is adequate contrast. Moreover, Spohr entitled his Gesangszene a concerto!” The final version was first heard in Bremen in January, 1868. Nearly forty years later, Joachim still ranked the concerto as one of the four greatest of the nineteenth century, alongside those of Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Brahms, noting that Bruch’s was “the richest, the most seductive.”

 

The first movement, marked “Prelude,” does not follow the standard sonata-allegro form. Nevertheless, its dark undercurrent of passion and drama serves to maintain interest. A brief cadenza precedes the orchestral transition to the second movement, the emotional heart of the concerto. Here we find three distinct themes, some of the loveliest and most lyrical in the violin repertory. A vigorous, energetic orchestral passage introduces the third movement. The soloist enters with a full statement of the gypsy-like theme, played with virtuosic flair across all four strings of the instrument. It has been suggested that Brahms had this movement in mind when he composed the finale of his own violin concerto. A more expansive and lyrical second theme alternates with the first, and the movement builds to an exciting, brilliant conclusion.

 

 

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Born in Bonn, December 16 (or 17), 1770 – Died in Vienna, March 26, 1827

 

Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony received its premiere at a gala benefit concert for wounded soldiers on December 8, 1813 in the Great Hall of the University of Vienna. This was the same concert at which Beethoven’s patriotic effusion Wellington’s Victory (or the “Battle” Symphony) was introduced, amidst wild excitement and special effects (cannonades, mechanical trumpets, etc.). The symphony was considered merely a “companion piece” to the real showstopper, Wellington’s Victory, yet in spite of the circusy atmosphere, the symphony was well received.

 

The introduction to the first movement is the longest such passage Beethoven, or anyone else up to that time, had ever written for a symphony, amounting almost to a whole movement in itself, and lasting a third of the movement’s length of approximately twelve minutes. In addition to having its own pair of themes, the introduction defines the harmonic regions that will have reverberations throughout the rest of the symphony. The tonic key of A major is emphatically established in the opening “call to attention”; excursions then follow to C major (the lyrical oboe theme that arrives after the succession of rising scales in the strings) and F major (the lyrical theme later in the flute). So important to the symphony’s grand structural design are these three keys that Robert Simpson has deemed them “more like dimensions than keys.”

 

The transition to the movement’s main Vivace section is scarcely less imaginative and extraordinary, consisting as it does of 61 repetitions of the same note (E) to varied rhythms; these eventually settle into the rhythmic pattern that pervades the entire Vivace. From here Beethoven propels us through a sonata-form movement of enormous energy, bold harmonic changes, startling alternation of loud and soft, and obsessive rhythmic activity.

 

The second movement (Allegretto) is hardly a “slow” one, but it is more restrained and soothing than the frenetic first movement. Again, an underlying rhythmic pattern pervades. The virtually melody-less principal subject in A minor is heard in constantly changing orchestral garb. There is also a lyrical episode of surpassing beauty in A major (woodwinds) and a stormy fugato built from the principal theme.

 

The third movement, like that of the Fourth Symphony, is a double scherzo and trio. The slower trio section, with its accordion-like swells and strange low growls from the second horn, is believed by some to have been based on an old Austrian pilgrims’ hymn. Following the customary scherzo-trio-scherzo format, the trio is presented complete a second time, and then again the complete scherzo. With characteristic humor, Beethoven threatens to present the trio still a third time (“What, again?” is the expected reaction from the listener), but suddenly he dismisses it with five brusque chords from the full orchestra, and we are ready for the next movement.

 

The whirlwind finale, like the previous movements, is built from a single rhythmic cell. The Dionysian energy that infuses this movement has caused many listeners, in the words of musicologist Klaus G. Roy, to “come away from a hearing of this symphony in a state of being punch-drunk. Yet it is intoxication without a hangover, a dope-like exhilaration without decadence.”

 

© Robert Markow

Traduit de l’anglais par / Translated from English by Francine Moreau

BIO

Joshua Bell

Violin and conductor

With a career spanning more than 30 years as a soloist, chamber musician, recording artist, and conductor, Joshua Bell is one of the most celebrated violinists of our time. An exclusive Sony Classical artist, Bell has recorded more than 40 CDs garnering Grammy, Mercury, Gramophone, and Echo Klassik awards, and is a recipient of the Avery Fisher Prize. As Music Director of the Academy of St Martin in the Fields since 2011, he is the first in this post since Sir Neville Marriner formed the orchestra in 1958. Bell’s newest album, For the Love of Brahms, with the Academy of St Martin in the Fields, cellist Steven Isserlis, and pianist Jeremy Denk was released in September 2016.

 

A member of former President Obama’s Committee on the Arts and the Humanities, Bell participated in the U.S. inaugural cultural mission to Cuba, and is involved in Turnaround Arts for the same Committee, led by Michelle Obama.

 

His 2016-2017 season includes appearances with the Atlanta Symphony and Minnesota Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, and the Symphony Orchestras of San Francisco, Seattle, Montreal, and Ottawa’s National Arts Centre. He performs with the Vienna Philharmonic, Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, Frankfurt Radio Symphony, and Czech Philharmonic, and embarks on international tours throughout Europe and Asia with the Academy of St Martin in the Fields, Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra, Swedish Radio Symphony, and Orchestre de Paris. He makes recital appearances throughout North America, including the Lincoln Centre with Alessio Bax, and in a West Coast tour with Sam Haywood.

 

Bell serves as 2016–2017 Artist-in-Residence with the National Symphony Orchestra at the Kennedy Centre in Washington, D.C. He explores the depths of artistic possibilities by examining synergies between music, dance, the culinary arts, literature, education, and technology.

 

Joshua Bell performs on the 1713 “ Huberman” Stradivarius violin.

YOU WILL ALSO LIKE

Les grands concerts du mardi BMO, Les grands concerts du mercredi 2 Fillion électronique

JOSHUA BELL

JOSHUA BELL JOUE & DIRIGE L'OSM

PARTENAIRE DE SAISON

Maison symphonique de Montréal

C’est avec grand plaisir que l’OSM retrouve le célèbre violoniste américain Joshua Bell, dans ce programme sous le signe du romantisme allemand. De passage en 2011, il a depuis troqué l’archet pour la baguette à la prestigieuse Academy of St Martin-in-the-Fields. C’est donc pour la toute première fois qu’il occupe le double rôle de soliste et de chef d’orchestre à Montréal. Un événement à ne pas manquer!

PRIX DES BILLETS

À partir de 43$*

MARDI 14 FÉVRIER 2017

20h00

COMPLET

MERCREDI 15 FÉVRIER 2017

20h00

COMPLET

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Joshua Bell, violon et chef d’orchestre

PROGRAMME :

Mendelssohn, Ouverture Les Hébrides (approx. 10 min.)

Bruch, Concerto pour violon no 1 en sol mineur, op. 26 (approx. 24 min.)

Beethoven, Symphonie no 7 en la majeur, op. 92 (approx. 36 min.)

  Vous avez 34 ans ou moins?

Le Club des jeunes ambassadeurs de l’OSM vous invite à un cocktail après le concert du 15 février au foyer Parterre. Échangez avec des musiciens de l’OSM ainsi qu’avec des mélomanes comme vous. Un coupon de consommation gratuite vous sera offert !

NOTES DE PROGRAMME

LES ŒUVRES

 

Ouverture, concerto, symphonie, voilà la formule habituelle, régulière, de plusieurs concerts d’orchestre.  Mais aucune des œuvres présentées ce soir n’est « régulière » en ce qui concerne sa conception ou son agencement. Toutes trois composées par des Allemands, elles couvrent une période d’à peine plus d’un demi-siècle, depuis la symphonie de Beethoven, qui date de 1813, jusqu’au concerto de Bruch, de 1866. Chacune comporte des éléments particuliers qui les distinguent d’autres œuvres du genre : à la manière classique, un jeune Mendelssohn de 20 ans évoque merveilleusement un phénomène naturel; Bruch s’éloigne manifestement de la forme traditionnelle du concerto; et Beethoven emploie, de manière presque obsessive, des patrons rythmiques plutôt que des formes mélodiques pour faire évoluer sa symphonie.

 

 

FELIX MENDELSSOHN

Né à Hambourg, le 3 février 1809 – Mort à Leipzig, le 4 novembre 1847

 

Ouverture Les Hébrides (La grotte de Fingal), op. 26

Overture The Hebrides (Fingal’s Cave), op. 26

L’Écosse attise particulièrement la sensibilité romantique de Mendelssohn et son penchant pour les paysages grandioses comme sources d’inspiration musicale. Il s’est délecté à écrire à propos de chutes d’eau, de vallées, de fleurs sauvages, de forêts et de rochers escarpés : « Tout semble si sévère et puissant, à demi enveloppé de brume, de vapeurs ou de brouillard. »  Début août 1829, Mendelssohn et son compagnon de voyage Karl Klingemann (jeune diplomate et poète allemand) atteignent la côte ouest de l’Écosse et se rendent en bateau jusqu’aux Hébrides, archipel de quelque 500 îles accidentées et pittoresques, où le gaélique est largement parlé et où la population vit encore en grande partie comme elle l’a fait depuis des siècles, pratiquant l’élevage du bétail et des moutons, tissant le tweed Harris et cultivant l’orge, l’avoine et les pommes de terre. Skye est la plus connue de ces îles, mais c’est Staffa qui impressionne le plus le jeune Mendelssohn, avec sa spectaculaire caverne qui porte le nom du héros populaire Fingal.

 

Ouverte sur la mer, l’immense grotte mesure 69 x 13 mètres et est haute de 20 mètres. De gigantesques piliers de basalte s’élèvent le long des parois, ce qui donne à Klingemann l’impression qu’elle ressemble à « l’intérieur d’un immense orgue. Elle est là, seule, noire, sonore et totalement inutile, la grisaille de la mer en elle et autour d’elle. » De son côté, Mendelssohn traduit plutôt ses impressions en musique, notant un passage de vingt-et-une mesures, qui deviendra le début de son Ouverture et qui saisit parfaitement cette atmosphère de mystère, de brouillard et de mer agitée. Deux thèmes principaux sont développés dans le cadre d’un mouvement de forme sonate, soit celui du « ressac des vagues », qui ouvre l’œuvre, et une ligne mélodique ascendante qui va s’amplifiant, confiée aux cordes graves et aux bois.

 

 

MAX BRUCH

Né à Cologne, le 6 janvier 1838 – Mort à Friedenau, près de Berlin, le 2 octobre 1920

 

Concerto pour violon et orchestre no 1 en sol mineur, op. 26 / Violin Concerto no. 1 in G minor, op. 26

 

De nos jours, les mélomanes se souviennent de Max Bruch par seulement deux ou trois de ses œuvres, Kol Nidre pour violoncelle et orchestre, la Fantaisie écossaise pour violon et orchestre et, bien sûr, le Concerto pour violon no 1 en sol mineur. Au XXIe siècle, nous avons presque complètement oublié qu’en son temps, Bruch jouissait d’une grande estime, surtout pour sa musique chorale profane. Sa carrière s’est déployée sur plus de sept décennies, depuis sa première œuvre orchestrale composée à l’âge de 11 ans, jusqu’aux mélodies et œuvres chorales écrites juste avant sa mort à 82 ans.

 

Bruch commence la composition de son Concerto pour violon no 1 en 1857, le met de côté pendant neuf ans, puis y revient et le termine en 1866. Le 24 avril, Otto von Königslow le joue sous sa direction, mais Bruch n’en est toujours pas satisfait. Après lui avoir apporté quelques modifications, il le soumet aux commentaires de l’illustre violoniste Joseph Joachim qui lui suggère plusieurs changements et qui conteste la préférence de Bruch pour le terme de fantaisie plutôt que celui de concerto, compte tenu de la liberté formelle du premier mouvement. Joachim écrit : « Ici, le mot concerto convient parfaitement. En effet, les deuxième et troisième mouvements sont trop pleinement et symétriquement développés pour parler ici d’une fantaisie. Les diverses sections de l’œuvre forment un ensemble cohérent et harmonieux, et cependant – et c’est là l’aspect le plus important  ̶  le contraste est adéquat. Qui plus est, Spohr a qualifié sa Gesangszene de concerto ! » La version finale de l’œuvre est créée à Brême en janvier 1868. Près de quarante ans plus tard, Joseph Joachim considère encore ce Concerto comme l’un des quatre plus grands du XIXe siècle avec ceux de Beethoven, Mendelssohn et Brahms, ajoutant que celui de Bruch est « le plus riche, le plus séduisant ».

 

Le premier mouvement, marqué « Prélude », ne suit pas la forme habituelle sonate-allegro. Néanmoins, sa sombre connotation de passion et de drame sert à soutenir l’intérêt. Une brève cadence précède la transition orchestrale qui mène au deuxième mouvement, le cœur affectif du concerto. Nous y entendons trois thèmes distincts, parmi les plus beaux et les plus poétiques du répertoire pour violon. Un passage orchestral énergique marque le début du troisième mouvement. Le soliste énonce entièrement le thème à la tzigane, joué avec panache sur les quatre cordes de l’instrument. Certains ont supposé que Brahms avait ce mouvement en tête lorsqu’il a composé le Finale de son propre concerto pour violon. Un deuxième thème plus exubérant et lyrique alterne avec le premier, et le mouvement évolue vers une brillante et passionnante conclusion.

 

 

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Né à Bonn, le 16 (ou 17) décembre 1770 – Mort à Vienne, le 26 mars 1827

 

Symphonie no 7 en la majeur, op. 92 / Symphony no. 7 in A major, op. 92

           

La  création de la Symphonie no 7 de Beethoven a lieu le 8 décembre 1813 dans la grande salle de l’Université de Vienne, lors d’un concert-bénéfice organisé au profit de soldats blessés.  C’est au cours de ce même concert qu’est aussi créé son épanchement patriotique La victoire de Wellington (ou La bataille de Vittoria), dans la frénésie générale et avec effets sonores spéciaux (canonnades, trompettes spéciales, etc.). Malgré cette ambiance de foire et même si elle est tout au plus considérée comme un « accompagnement » à la pièce vedette, La victoire de Wellington, la symphonie est bien accueillie.

 

L’introduction au premier mouvement est le plus long passage du genre que Beethoven – ou d’ailleurs qui que ce soit d’autre jusqu’alors – ait jamais écrit pour une symphonie. En effet, elle équivaut presque à un mouvement en soi, occupant un tiers des quelque douze minutes que compte le mouvement. En plus d’avoir sa propre paire de thèmes, elle définit les régions harmoniques qui se répercuteront au cours de la symphonie. La tonique la majeur, clairement établie dans « l’appel » du début, évolue ensuite vers le do majeur (le thème poétique du hautbois qui suit la série de gammes ascendantes aux cordes), puis vers le fa majeur (le thème lyrique plus tard énoncé à la flûte). Ces trois notes revêtent une telle importance pour le plan global de la symphonie que selon Robert Simpson, elles constituent « davantage des dimensions que des tonalités ».

 

La transition vers la section Vivace du mouvement est à peine moins inventive et exceptionnelle, avec ses 61 répétitions de la même note (mi) sur divers rythmes qui s’installent ensuite dans le patron rythmique du Vivace. À partir d’ici, Beethoven nous propulse dans un mouvement de forme sonate marquée par une intense énergie, d’audacieux changements harmoniques, de surprenantes alternances entre volumes fort et doux, et une activité rythmique obsessive.

 

Le deuxième mouvement (Allegretto) peut à peine être qualifié de « lent », mais il est plus retenu et apaisant que le frénétique premier mouvement. Ici encore domine un patron rythmique sous-jacent.  Son thème principal en la mineur, pour ainsi dire dépourvu de ligne mélodique, fait l’objet d’une orchestration toujours changeante. Il comporte aussi un passage lyrique en la majeur (bois) d’une incomparable beauté, et un tumultueux fugato issu du thème principal.

 

Le troisième mouvement, tout comme celui de la Symphonie no 4, est un double scherzo et trio. Avec ses timbres évocateurs de l’accordéon et ses curieux bourdonnements de la part du second cor, la section trio plus lente serait inspirée, selon certains, d’un hymne ancien chanté par des pèlerins autrichiens. Suivant l’ordre habituel scherzo-trio-scherzo, le trio est présenté au complet une deuxième fois, et le scherzo complet encore une fois lui aussi. Avec son humour caractéristique, Beethoven menace de présenter le trio une troisième fois (« Comment, encore ?!… », peut se demander l’auditeur), mais il l’écarte subitement par cinq brusques accords de tout l’orchestre, et nous voilà prêts à passer au mouvement suivant.

 

Comme les mouvements précédents, le Finale tourbillonnant est construit à partir d’une seule cellule rythmique. L’énergie dionysiaque qui anime ce mouvement a fait dire au musicologue Klaus G. Roy qu’après une écoute de cette symphonie, il est arrivé à plusieurs auditeurs de se sentir « abasourdis. Mais c’est une ivresse sans gueule de bois, une griserie semblable à l’effet d’une drogue, mais inoffensive. »

 

BIO

Joshua Bell

Violon et chef d’orchestre

 

Avec une carrière de plus de 30 ans comme soliste, chambriste, artiste du disque et chef d’orchestre, Joshua Bell est un des violonistes les plus célèbres de notre temps. Sous contrat exclusif avec Sony Classical, il a enregistré plus de 40 CD consacrés par des prix Grammy, Mercury, Gramophone et Echo Klassik en plus d’être lauréat du prix Avery Fisher. Nommé directeur musical de l’Academy of St Martin in the Fields en 2011, il est le premier à occuper ce poste depuis la fondation de l’orchestre par Sir Neville Marriner en 1958. Lancé en septembre 2016, son plus récent album avec l’ensemble, For the Love of Brahms, met en vedette le violoncelliste Steven Isserlis et le pianiste Jeremy Denk.

 

Membre du Comité présidentiel pour les arts et les Humanités de l’ex-président Obama, Joshua Bell a participé à la mission culturelle inaugurale des États-Unis à Cuba et il est impliqué dans le programme Turnaround Arts présidé par Michelle Obama.

 

Sa saison 2016-2017 comprend des prestations avec l’Atlanta Symphony Orchestra et le Minnesota Orchestra, le New York Philharmonic, le Los Angeles Philharmonic et les Orchestres symphoniques de San Francisco, Seattle, Montréal et du Centre national des Arts d’Ottawa. En Europe, il joue avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Vienne, l’Ochestre du Gewandhaus de Leipzig, l’Orchestre symphonique de la radio de Francfort et l’Orchestre philharmonique tchèque, en plus d’entreprendre des tournées internationales en Europe et en Asie avec l’Academy of St Martin in the Fields, le Verbier Festival, l’Orchestre symphonique de la radio suédoise et l’Orchestre de Paris. Il donne aussi des récitals un peu partout en Amérique du Nord, y compris au Lincoln Centre avec Alessio Bax et dans une tournée sur la côte ouest des États-Unis avec Sam Haywood.

 

En 2016-2017, Joshua Bell est artiste en résidence du National Symphony Orchestra au Kennedy Centre, à Washington, D. C. Il explore la gamme des possibilités artistiques qu’offrent les synergies entre la musique, la danse, l’art culinaire, la littérature, l’éducation et la technologie.

 

Joshua Bell joue le violon Stradivarius « Huberman » datant de 1713.

VOUS AIMEREZ AUSSI