MIDORI & BRITTEN

MIDORI & BRITTEN’S VIOLIN CONCERTO

SEASON PARTNER

Maison symphonique de Montréal

Discover the landscapes of Scotland, in Mendelssohn’s Third Symphony, a musical evocation of a “Scottish fog,” and of England, in the Violin Concerto by Britten, one of the greatest English composers in the history of music. And to complete the program, you’re invited to take a short hop across the Channel to hear Ravel’s Valses nobles et sentimentales.

TICKETS PRICES

From 43$*

THURSDAY FEBRUARY 9 2017

8:00 PM

SOLD OUT

SUNDAY FEBRUARY 12 2017

2:30 PM

SOLD OUT

James Feddeck, conductor
Midori, violin

PROGRAM:

Ravel, Valses nobles et sentimentales (approx. 16 min.)

Britten, Violin Concerto, op. 15 (approx. 32 min.)

Mendelssohn, Symphony no 3 in A minor, op. 56, “Scottish” (approx. 40 min.)

PROGRAM NOTES

Common to all three works on this program is the disconnect we find between their sources of origin or inspiration and where they were composed. Ravel’s Valses nobles et sentimentales were composed in France to a quintessentially Viennese subject, the waltz; in fact, they intentionally evoke the world of Schubert. Benjamin Britten, one of England’s iconic composers, completed his Violin Concerto right here in French-speaking Quebec (in St. Jovite, to be specific). And while Mendelssohn found inspiration for his Scottish Symphony while touring cloudy Scotland, he  composed much of the work in sunny Italy.

 

 

Maurice Ravel

Born in Ciboure, Pyrénées-Atlantiques, France, March 7, 1875 – Died in Paris, December 28, 1937

 

Valses nobles et sentimentales

 

Like several other orchestral works of Ravel, the Valses nobles et sentimentales began life as solo piano music in 1911. The premiere, by Louis Aubert to whom the work was dedicated, took place under highly unusual circumstances. All the works on the program of the Société musicale indépendante were performed anonymously in an effort to encourage listeners (and critics!) to evaluate fairly what they actually heard, rather than casually granting approval to well-known names and ignoring the efforts of obscure or young up-and-coming composers. In other words, the luxury of “labels” or brand-names was denied. As a concert piece, it was first presented in February of 1914 in Paris, led by Pierre Monteux.

 

Just as Ravel had evoked the world of eighteenth-century France in Le tombeau de Couperin, so did he attempt to conjure up the nineteenth-century Vienna of Schubert in his Valses nobles et sentimentales. Schubert himself had composed a series named (probably by his publisher) Valses nobles, op. 77, and another named Valses sentimentales, op. 50. In Ravel’s words, “The title  …  shows clearly enough my intention to compose a chain of waltzes in the style of Schubert. In the place of virtuosity … there was a style clearer, brighter, that emphasized the harmonies and brought them into relief.” There are eight waltzes in all, including an introductory number and an Epilogue, mostly played without interruption. Alternately charming, coy, sophisticated, expansive and elegant, Ravel’s interpretation of the waltz can stand beside those of Johann Strauss, Richard Strauss (Der Rosenkavalier), Brahms (Liebeslieder Waltzes), Tchaikovsky (Waltz of the Flowers) and Ravel’s own La valse.  The waltzes are unified by an Epilogue containing allusions to separate numbers in a masterly summary.

 

 

 

 

Benjamin Britten

Born in Lowestoft, Suffolk, England, November 22, 1913 – Died in Aldeburgh, December 4, 1976

 

Benjamin Britten is universally recognized as one of England’s greatest and most representative composers, but in the months leading up to the beginning of World War II and for several years thereafter, he felt politically and spiritually alienated from his native land, due generally to his pacifist outlook and to the various appeasement policies into which his government had entered with Germany and Italy. Following the lead of fellow artists W. H. Auden and Christopher Isherwood, he sailed to America in May of 1939. In his luggage was the score of the still incomplete Violin Concerto, which he had begun the previous November. Britten finished the concerto during a sojourn in Quebec in September, 1939. The Violin Concerto was the first of several major works Britten either wrote or completed in the New World. The first performance was given by the Spanish violinist Antonio Brosa (a longtime friend of the composer) with the New York Philharmonic on March 28, 1940, conducted by John Barbirolli. It was warmly received and Britten himself believed that “so far it is without question my best piece.”

 

Violinists recognize Britten’s concerto as one of the most fearsomely difficult in the repertory. It is often compared with Berg’s concerto for its elegiac character and with Walton’s for its expansive lyricism, qualities obvious from the soloist’s initial entry. The first movement is laid out in traditional sonata form, with the soloist introducing both main themes. At the moment of recapitulation, the roles are reversed, with the orchestral strings now singing the sweetly nostalgic theme and the soloist playing the accompaniment figure introduced by timpani in the opening bars. The use of timpani to open a violin concerto with a rhythmic figure that will pervade the entire first movement recalls the analogous concerto by Beethoven.

 

The second movement, which follows without pause, is something of a danse macabre, full of flying leaps, glissandos (slides) and other acrobatic feats. A contrasting lyrical episode interrupts the proceedings.

 

The cadenza, which serves as a link between the second and third movements, begins in a lyrical vein but devotes most of its span to the rhythmic figure introduced by timpani back in the concerto’s opening moments. Solemn trombones enter with the scale-like motif that is to run continuously throughout the final movement, a passacaglia. (The passacaglia may be defined as a method of composition in which a set of variations is constructed over a repeating bass line or chord progression, in Britten’s concerto presented by the trombones.)  After four overlapping statements of this motif (trombones – strings – trumpet – woodwinds) the solo violin begins the first of nine variations over the motif played ppp tremolo in the cellos. Each variation that follows can be recognized by its own character, tempo, dynamic level and instrumentation. The concerto ends with a passage marked Lento e solenne  ̶  resigned, glowing and poignant, a fitting testimonial to Britten’s somber and sobering thoughts about the war that raged while he composed.

 

 

Felix Mendelssohn

Born in Hamburg, February 3, 1809 – Died in Leipzig, November 4, 1847

 

During July and August of 1829, the twenty-year-old Mendelssohn enjoyed himself touring Scotland. As he was an inveterate letter writer, we know in considerable detail his reactions, mostly favorable, to the Highland country, its weather, and its people with their “long, red beards, tartan plaids, bonnets and feathers, naked knees, and their bagpipes in their hands.” One day in Edinburgh he came upon the picturesque ruins of the Palace of Holyrood, in which Mary, Queen of Scots, had once lived. On July 30, the impressionable young tourist wrote home that this had inspired the beginnings of his Scottish Symphony. But nothing more came of it until twelve years later, by which time Mendelssohn had already been to Italy and had written his Italian Symphony. In 1831, he wrote from Italy that he could “not find his way back into the Scottish fog mood,” a quite understandable condition given Italy’s sunny climes. The Scottish Symphony was eventually completed in January of 1842, making it Mendelssohn’s last major orchestral work. Hence, though called “no. 3,” it is really the fifth of his five mature symphonies.

 

The degree of “Scottishness” in this symphony is dependent on the individual listener’s susceptibility to programmatic suggestion and on hindsight. The somber, melancholic opening is certainly at least suggestive of the brooding, misty Scottish land; the ebullient clarinet theme of the Scherzo may be based on a Scottish folk air, since the scale pattern corresponds to that of the country’s folk music; the leaping, vigorous, dance-like main theme of the finale is thought by some to be a musical representation of the gathering of the clans.

 

None of this is conclusive, of course. But we do know that Mendelssohn had little sympathy with native folk idioms, and had he not spoken of it as his “Scottish” symphony, probably no one would have guessed as much. Scottish or not though, this work is fully representative of Mendelssohn at his best, and we can thoroughly enjoy this classically-chiseled symphony for its gentle charms, melodiousness and imaginative ideas.

 

 

© Robert Markow

THE ARTISTS

JEFFREY TATE

CONDUCTOR

Internationally renowned and versatile British conductor Jeffrey Tate’s commitment to music was preceded by a doctoral degree in medicine from Cambridge University. He began as a staff member of the Royal Opera House Covent Garden, and subsequent experience as Assistant to Pierre Boulez in Wagner’s Ring Cycle at the Bayreuth Festival generated his own highly regarded interpretation in Cologne and Paris (with the Orchestre national de France). The Paris production was taken over by the State Opera of South Australia, Adelaide, making history as the first complete Ring performance in Australia. In addition to Wagner, Mozart’s works are another focus of Tate’s diverse repertoire.

 

After these successes, Mr. Tate quickly rose to international prominence as an opera and concert conductor in Paris, Milan, Venice, Vienna, London, Geneva, as well as the United States and Australia.

 

His comprehensive discography includes the operas Arabella, Hänsel and Gretel, Les contes d’Hoffmann, and Lulu, as well as Mozart’s piano concertos with Mitsuko Uchida, the complete symphonies of Mozart with the English Chamber Orchestra, Elgar’s greatest orchestral works with the London Symphony, and the complete A Midsummer Night’s Dream of Mendelssohn with the Rotterdam Philharmonic.

 

In 2001, 2002, and 2010 Maestro Tate was awarded the prestigious Franco Abbiati Prize for his work with the Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della RAI, at the Teatro San Carlo in Napoli, and for his Götterdämmerung at La Fenice in Venice. He was made a Chevalier de la Légion d’honneur, Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres, and Commander of the British Empire. In 2016, he received the coveted Una Vita nella Musica award in Venice. The same year, Jeffrey Tate received the knighthood from Queen Elizabeth II for his services to British music overseas.

 

From the outset of the 2009/2010 season, Jeffrey Tate has devoted most of his time to his appointment as Principal Conductor of the Hamburg Symphony. In 2015, he was appointed Principal Guest Conductor of the Adelaide Symphony.

 

MIDORI

VIOLIN

Midori is renowned worldwide as one of the most legendary violinists of her generation. In addition to performing at the highest level internationally, the United Nations and World Economic Forum have recognized her exceptional commitment to education and community throughout the USA, Europe, Asia, and the Developing World. Her sustained commitment to the violin repertoire of the future has led to the creation many new recital works and concertos.

 

Recently, Midori has added several recordings to her extensive catalogue, including Bach’s complete Solo Sonatas and Partitas as well as the Violin Concerto DoReMi written for her by Peter Eötvös and performed with the Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France (forthcoming). Her 2014 recording of Hindemith’s Violin Concerto with NDR Symphony Orchestra and Christoph Eschenbach won a GRAMMY for Best Classical Compendium.

 

In 1992 she founded Midori & Friends, a not-for-profit organization bringing music education to underserved New York City schoolchildren. Other initiatives are Music Sharing and Partners in Performance, based respectively in Japan and the U.S.A., dedicated to access for everyone to the arts. Her Orchestra Residences Program furthers her commitment to music outreach and community inclusion. In 2007, she was named a Messenger of Peace by U.N. Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon.

 

Midori was born in Osaka, Japan, in 1971 and began violin studies with her mother, Setsu Goto. Zubin Mehta first heard her in 1982 and invited her to make her debut, at 11, with the New York Philharmonic at their traditional New Year’s Eve concert, where she received a standing ovation and immediately embarked on a major career. Today, Midori lives in Los Angeles, where she continues to serve as Distinguished Professor of Violin and Jascha Heifetz Chair at the University of Southern California’s Thornton School of Music.

 

Midori’s violin is a 1734 Guarnerius del Gesù “ex-Huberman.” She uses three bows: two by Dominique Peccatte, and one by Paul Siefried.

YOU WILL ALSO LIKE

MIDORI & BRITTEN

MIDORI & LE CONCERTO POUR VIOLON DE BRITTEN

PARTENAIRE DE SAISON

Maison symphonique de Montréal

Imprégnez-vous des paysages de l’Europe anglophone avec la Troisième symphonie de Mendelssohn illustrant en musique les « brumes écossaises » ainsi que le Concerto pour violon de Britten, l’un des plus grands compositeurs britanniques de l’histoire de la musique. Une brève escale de l’autre côté de la Manche, avec les Valses nobles et sentimentales de Ravel, vient compléter ce programme.

PRIX DES BILLETS

À partir de 43$*

JEUDI 9 FÉVRIER 2017

20h00

COMPLET

DIMANCHE 12 FÉVRIER 2017

14h30

COMPLET

James Feddeck, chef d’orchestre
Midori, violon

PROGRAMME :

Ravel,Valses nobles et sentimentales (approx. 16 min.)

Britten, Concerto pour violon et orchestre, op. 15  (approx. 32 min.)

Mendelssohn, Symphonie no 3 en la mineur, op. 56, « Écossaise » (approx. 40 min.)

NOTES DE PROGRAMME

Les trois œuvres au programme ont en commun d’avoir été composées à des kilomètres des pays et des cultures qui les ont inspirées. En effet, c’est en France que Ravel a écrit ses Valses nobles et sentimentales sur un sujet typiquement viennois, avec l’intention avouée d’évoquer l’univers de Schubert. Benjamin Britten, figure emblématique parmi les compositeurs anglais, a achevé son Concerto pour violon ici même, au Québec (à Saint-Jovite précisément). Quant à Mendelssohn, bien que sa Symphonie « Écossaise » lui ait été inspirée à l’occasion d’un voyage d’agrément sous le ciel voilé de l’Écosse, il composa la plus grande partie de l’œuvre dans la radieuse Italie.

 

 

Maurice Ravel

Né à Ciboure (Pyrénées-Atlantiques), en France, le 7 mars 1875 – Mort à Paris, le 28 décembre 1937

 

Valses nobles et sentimentales

 

Comme plusieurs autres œuvres orchestrales de Ravel, les Valses nobles et sentimentales sont d’abord écrites pour piano solo en 1911. La création est confiée à Louis Aubert, dédicataire de l’œuvre, et est donnée dans des circonstances tout à fait inusitées. Présentées par la Société musicale indépendante, les Valses sont inscrites au programme sans mention du compositeur. Ainsi, les auditeurs (et les critiques !) sont invités à apprécier de manière impartiale ce qu’ils entendent au lieu de s’incliner trop aisément devant des artistes célébrés, et ce, au détriment d’obscurs compositeurs ou de jeunes musiciens en pleine ascension. En d’autres termes, le public est privé du luxe des étiquettes ou de ses repères habituels. Dans leur version orchestrée, les Valses sont présentées pour la première fois en février 1914, à Paris, sous la direction de Pierre Monteux.

 

Ainsi qu’il avait évoqué la France du xviiie siècle dans Le tombeau de Couperin, Ravel tente ici de rappeler Schubert et la Vienne du xixe siècle. Ce dernier avait lui aussi composé une série de pièces intitulées Valses nobles, op. 77 – le titre était sans doute de son éditeur – et une autre, Valses sentimentales, op. 50. Selon les termes de Ravel : « Le titre de Valses nobles et sentimentales indique assez mon intention de composer une chaîne de valses à l’exemple de Schubert. À la virtuosité […] succède une écriture nettement plus clarifiée, qui durcit l’harmonie et accuse les reliefs de la musique. » Avec l’introduction et l’épilogue, l’ensemble comporte huit valses jouées pour la plupart sans interruption, tour à tour charmantes, timides, raffinées, expressives et élégantes. En plus d’annoncer sa propre Valse, elles rendent compte chez Ravel d’une compréhension de cette danse qui n’a rien à envier à celles de Johann Strauss, Richard Strauss (Der Rosenkavalier), Brahms (Liebeslieder) et Tchaïkovski (Valse des fleurs). Dans une synthèse magistrale, l’épilogue reprend des éléments des différents morceaux, assurant l’unité de l’œuvre.

 

 

BENJAMIN BRITTEN

Né à Lowestoft (Suffolk), en Angleterre, le 22 novembre 1913 – Mort à Aldeburgh, le 4 décembre 1976

 

Concerto pour violon et orchestre, op. 15 / Violin Concerto, op. 15

 

Benjamin Britten est reconnu partout dans le monde comme un des compositeurs les plus éminents de son pays et qui incarnent le mieux l’âme britannique. Cependant, dans les mois précédant le début de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et les années qui suivent, il se sent étranger à son pays natal pour des considérations politiques et spirituelles, surtout en raison de ses convictions pacifistes que heurtent les diverses mesures de conciliation prônées par le gouvernement britannique envers l’Allemagne et l’Italie. À l’instar de ses amis artistes, W. H. Auden et Christopher Isherwood, il s’embarque pour l’Amérique en mai 1939. Il emporte avec lui la partition encore incomplète de son Concerto pour violon, esquissée en novembre de l’année précédente, et qu’il terminera en septembre 1939 durant un séjour au Québec. C’est le début d’une série d’œuvres majeures que Britten écrira ou achèvera dans le Nouveau Monde. Le violoniste espagnol Antonio Brosa (son ami de longue date) joue le concerto en première avec le New York Philharmonic le 28 mars 1940, sous la direction de John Barbirolli : c’est un véritable succès. Britten, quant à lui, juge qu’il s’agit sans contredit de sa meilleure œuvre.

 

Les violonistes considèrent le concerto de Britten comme un des plus redoutables du répertoire. Il est souvent comparé à celui de Berg pour son caractère élégiaque et à celui de Walton pour son lyrisme débordant, des qualités manifestes dès la première entrée du violon. Conçu selon la forme sonate traditionnelle, le premier mouvement comporte deux thèmes principaux introduits par l’instrument solo. Dans la récapitulation, les rôles sont inversés : les cordes orchestrales chantent maintenant le thème doucement nostalgique pendant que le soliste exécute la figure d’accompagnement présentée par les timbales dans les premières mesures de l’œuvre. Cette utilisation des timbales en ouverture d’un concerto pour violon, avec une figure rythmique qui sera récurrente dans tout le mouvement, rappelle le concerto pour violon de Beethoven.

 

Enchaîné avec le premier mouvement, le deuxième revêt l’allure d’une danse macabre avec ses nombreux sauts spectaculaires, ses glissandos (en glissant d’un son à l’autre) et diverses prouesses techniques. Un épisode lyrique contrastant vient interrompre ces procédés.

 

La cadence qui sert de lien entre les deuxième et troisième mouvements commence dans une veine poétique, mais la suite est basée presque entièrement sur la figure rythmique exposée par les timbales tout au début du concerto. Les trombones, solennels, font leur entrée avec un motif de gamme qui sera sans cesse repris dans le mouvement final, une passacaille. (La passacaille est un genre musical dans lequel une série de variations est construite sur une basse obstinée ou sur une progression d’accords répétée – dans le Concerto de Britten, la basse est jouée par les trombones.) Ce motif fait l’objet de quatre énoncés qui se chevauchent (trombones, cordes, trompettes et vents), puis il est joué en pianissimo et tremolo par les violoncelles auxquels se superpose le violon pour amorcer la première de neuf variations. Chacune d’elles se distingue par son caractère, son tempo, sa nuance ou son instrumentation. Le Concerto se termine sur un passage marqué Lento e solenne – résigné, lumineux et poignant, juste reflet des pensées sombres et inquiètes qui animent Britten au moment de la composition, tandis que la guerre fait rage.

 

Felix Mendelssohn

Né à Hambourg, le 3 février 1809 – Mort à Leipzig, le 4 novembre 1847

 

Symphonie no 3 en la mineur, op. 56, « Écossaise » / Symphony no. 3 in A minor, op. 56, « Scottish« 

 

En juillet et août 1829, à l’âge de vingt ans, Mendelssohn s’offre un voyage de tourisme en Écosse. Épistolier invétéré, il fait connaître par le détail ses impressions, favorables pour la plupart, de la région des Highlands, de son climat et de ses gens, « avec leur longue barbe rouge, leur manteau de tartan et leur toque de plumes, qui se promènent les genoux dénudés et une cornemuse à la main ». Un jour, à Édimbourg, il tombe sur les ruines pittoresques du palais de Holyrood où avait vécu Mary Stuart, reine des Écossais. Le 30 juillet, l’impressionnable jeune touriste écrit à ses proches que cette découverte avait inspiré les premiers jets de sa Symphonie « Écossaise ». Il n’en tire cependant rien de plus à cette époque. Il la reprend douze ans plus tard, après avoir voyagé en Italie et composé sa Symphonie « Italienne ». En 1831, à l’occasion d’un nouveau séjour dans la péninsule, il écrit qu’il « n’arrive pas à retrouver l’ambiance des brumes écossaises » : rien de plus normal quand on travaille sous le soleil méditerranéen ! La Symphonie « Écossaise » est finalement achevée en janvier 1842, ce qui en fait la dernière pièce orchestrale majeure de Mendelssohn. Ainsi, bien qu’on la connaisse comme étant la troisième, il s’agit en réalité de la dernière des cinq symphonies de maturité du compositeur.

 

Le caractère écossais de l’œuvre est perceptible à des degrés divers, selon la sensibilité de l’auditeur à des éléments de musique à programme et la perspective qu’il adopte. Certes, l’ouverture sombre et mélancolique suggère à tout le moins les brumeuses terres d’Écosse ; dans le Scherzo, deuxième mouvement, le thème exubérant de la clarinette pourrait être inspiré d’un air écossais, car il est construit sur un mode emprunté au folklore national ; le thème du Finale, bondissant, vigoureux et dansant, est considéré par certains comme une représentation musicale du rassemblement des clans.

 

Évidemment, ce ne sont là que conjectures, mais nous savons que Mendelssohn était peu porté sur le folklore ; s’il n’avait jamais parlé de Symphonie « Écossaise », personne n’aurait probablement songé à faire de telles suppositions. Écossaise ou pas, cette symphonie ciselée à la manière classique est représentative du meilleur de la production du musicien, et nous pouvons à juste raison l’admirer pour son charme discret, son caractère mélodieux et ses idées pleines d’imagination.

 

LES ARTISTES

JEFFREY TATE

CHEF D’ORCHESTRE

 

Avant de se consacrer à la musique et de jouir d’une reconnaissance internationale dans le domaine, le chef britannique Jeffrey Tate a d’abord obtenu un doctorat en médecine de la Cambridge University. Il débute sa carrière dans le milieu musical au Royal Opera House du Covent Garden et, par la suite, comme assistant de Pierre Boulez dans le cycle L’anneau du Nibelung de Wagner au festival de Bayreuth, il acquiert une expérience dont il tirera profit pour livrer sa propre interprétation de l’œuvre, laquelle sera  très prisée à Cologne et à Paris (avec l’Orchestre national de France). La production parisienne est reprise par le State Opera of South Australia, à Adelaïde, marquant l’histoire en tant que première exécution complète du cycle dans le pays. Explorant un répertoire très diversifié, Jeffrey Tate manifeste une prédilection non seulement pour les œuvres de Wagner, mais aussi pour celles de Mozart.

 

Après ces succès, il connaît en peu de temps une célébrité internationale, tant au concert qu’à l’opéra, et ce, à Paris, Milan, Venise, Vienne, Londres, Genève ainsi qu’aux États-Unis et en Australie.

 

Son abondante discographie comprend les opéras Arabella, Hänsel et Gretel, Les contes d’Hoffmann et Lulu, de même que les concertos pour piano de Mozart avec Mitsuko Uchida, l’intégrale des symphonies de Mozart avec l’English Chamber Orchestra, les principales œuvres orchestrales d’Elgar avec le London Symphony et Le songe d’une nuit d’été de Mendelssohn avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Rotterdam.

 

En 2001, 2002 et 2010, maestro Tate est récompensé du prestigieux prix Franco Abbiati pour son travail auprès de l’Orchestre symphonique national de la RAI, au Teatro San Carlo de Naples, et pour son interprétation du Crépuscule des dieux, donnée à La Fenice de Venise. Il est élevé au rang de chevalier de la Légion d’honneur, de chevalier des Arts et des Lettres et de commandeur de l’Ordre de l’Empire britannique. En 2016, il reçoit le prix tant convoité de l’Una Vita nella Musica à Venise. La même année, Jeffrey Tate est honoré du titre de chevalier par la reine Élizabeth II en guise de reconnaissance pour avoir diffusé la musique britannique à l’étranger.

 

Depuis le début de la saison 2009-2010, Jeffrey Tate consacre la plus grande partie de son temps à ses fonctions de chef principal de l’Orchestre symphonique de Hambourg. En 2015, il est nommé chef invité principal de l’Adelaide Symphony Orchestra.

 

 

MIDORI

VIOLON

 

Midori est reconnue partout dans le monde comme une des violonistes légendaires de sa génération. Les Nations Unies et le Forum économique mondial ont reconnu sa contribution exceptionnelle dans les domaines de l’éducation et de l’action communautaire aux États-Unis, en Europe, en Asie ainsi que dans les pays en voie de développement. Son engagement constant relativement à l’avenir du répertoire a suscité la création de nombreuses œuvres pour violon solo et de concertos pour violon et orchestre.

 

Récemment, Midori a ajouté de nouveaux titres au catalogue déjà impressionnant de ses enregistrements : l’intégrale des sonates et partitas pour violon seul de Bach et le Concerto DoReMi, écrit pour elle par Peter Eötvös et qu’elle a interprété avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France (à paraître). Datant de 2014, son enregistrement du Concerto pour violon d’Hindemith avec l’Orchestre symphonique de la NDR, dirigé par Christoph Eschenbach, a remporté un prix Grammy dans la catégorie Best Classical Compendium.

 

En 1992, la violoniste fondait Midori & Friends, un organisme à but non lucratif qui permet d’offrir une éducation musicale aux écoliers issus des milieux défavorisés de New York. Music Sharing et Partners in Performance sont deux autres organismes qu’elle a mis sur pied : établis respectivement au Japon et aux États-Unis, ils ont pour mission de rendre les arts accessibles à tous. Confirmant son engagement à l’égard de la diffusion de la musique et de l’inclusion communautaire, elle fonde aussi le programme Orchestra Residences. En 2007, le Secrétaire général de l’ONU, Ban Ki-moon, l’honorait du titre de « Messagère de la paix ».

 

Née à Osaka, au Japon, en 1971, Midori a commencé ses études de violon avec sa mère, Setsu Goto. En 1982, elle est remarquée par Zubin Mehta qui l’invite à faire ses débuts, à l’âge de onze ans, avec le New York Philharmonic à l’occasion de son traditionnel concert de la Saint-Sylvestre : cette prestation lui vaut une ovation et la propulse vers une brillante carrière. Aujourd’hui, Midori vit à Los Angeles, où elle est professeure émérite de violon et titulaire de la chaire Jascha Heifetz à la Thornton School of Music de l’University of Southern California.

 

Midori joue d’un violon Guarnerius del Gesù « ex-Huberman » datant de 1734. Elle utilise trois archets différents, deux fabriqués par Dominique Peccatte et un par Paul Siefried.

VOUS AIMEREZ AUSSI