Copied to clipboard

‘Tis the Season with Kent Nagano 2024-2025

A true hallmark of the holidays, Tchaikovsky’s The Nutcracker delights all ages with its air of magic. Experience the enchantment with Kent Nagano and Marie-Nicole Lemieux.

Presented by

That emblem of the holidays, Tchaikovsky’s The Nutcracker, delights all ages with its air of magic and its sparkling sounds. The rich, warm voice of Marie-Nicole Lemieux as she performs the world premiere of a work by Canadian composer Matthew Ricketts also lights up the concert. And yet another gift, Vivaldi’s beloved Four Seasons, will be played in a completely new orchestration!


Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Kent Nagano, OSM conductor emeritus

Marie-Nicole Lemieux, contralto

Vincent Boilard, oboe

Paul Merkelo, trumpet

Anna Burden, cello

Serge Desgagnés, percussion


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, The Nutcracker, excerpts (24 min.)

Matthew Ricketts, Christmas Symphony, for contralto and orchestra, world premiere – OSM commission (20 min.)*

**Canadian work

Antonio Vivaldi The Four Seasons, for oboe, trumpet, cello, percussion and orchestra, North American premiere (arr. A. Sadikova, 37 min.)

Intermission (20 min)

Total duration100minutes