cancelled, Hors serie 19-20, Samedi 19-20, Saturday 19-20

CANCELLED – Kent Nagano conducts : Music, Fashion and Movement

Kent Nagano conducts : Music, Fashion and Movement


Maison symphonique de Montréal

The idea of combining classical music, movement, dance and clothing has led to an unprecedented meeting between the universes of fashion creator Marie Saint-Pierre and Maestro Kent Nagano.

On the programme: the nobility of Bach’s concertos, the frenetic pace and atmosphere of the needle industry (upon entering the concert hall with Le fil conducteur by Robert Normandeau) that inspired Régis Campo’s work, the grace and virtuosity of Anna Burden in Lamentatio, and finally, the music of Strauss’ Le bourgeois gentilhomme, which reminds us that … we shouldn’t judge an emperor by his clothes! These works are heard alongside the music of the runway, fashion and dance while incorporating gesture, music and theatricality.

Some great feminine figures set the tone for the evening. Apart from Marie Saint-Pierre, who first collaborated with the OSM about a decade ago, choreographer and dancer Louise Lecavalier, and actress Julie Le Breton also take part in the event. Le Breton plays M. Jourdain, the famous Molière character who now makes a landing on the stage of the Maison symphonique after a modernistic interpretation by talented stage director Mani Soleymanlou.

The textures and the fluidity of Marie Saint-Pierre’s clothing are showcased in this concert, magnified by the models with within a choreography that brings movement to the forefront.

On Friday night, this “soirée éclatée” makes its way to the foyers at the Maison symphonique after the concert!

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Kent Nagano, conductor
Marie Saint Pierre, designer
Anna Burden, OSM associate principal cello
Louise Lecavalier, choreographer and dancer
Julie Le Breton, actress
Mani Soleymanlou, actor, playwright and stage director

With the participation of composer Robert Normandeau and models


J. S. Bach, Brandenburg Concerto no. 3 in G major, BVW 1048 (12 min.)

                I. (Allegro)

                II. Adagio

                III. Allegro

Giovanni Sollima, Lamentatio, for solo cello (8 min.)

Régis Campo, Heartbeats (12 min.)

R. Strauss, Der Bürger als Edelmann [The Bourgeois Gentleman], Suite, TrV 228c (45 min.)
(Texts in french)



From $46*



Soirée éclatée

9 P.M.


8 P.M.


Kent Nagano

Anna Burden