Classical spree - Saturday - Maison symphonique

29. Herbert Schuch Plays Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto

Herbert Schuch

29. Herbert Schuch Plays Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto

Maison symphonique de Montréal

Under the direction of Maestro Kent Nagano, Herbert Schuch engages in a dialogue with the OSM in Beethoven’s Piano Concerto no. 3, expressing all the composer’s passion and determination. To conclude this concert, Bizet’s dazzling Farandole entices you into a veritable whirlwind of notes.

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Kent Nagano, conductor
Herbert Schuch, piano


Beethoven, Piano Concerto no. 3 in C minor, op. 37

Bizet, L’Arlésienne, Suite no. 2: “Farandole”

“Schuch’s mastery of colour and of summoning up the composers’ creative individuality shines different lights on his invocatory stimulus, and the entire recital is much more than the sum of its parts.” – Gramophone


$22 to $45*


SATURDAY August 10, 2019

9:00 P.M.

Win a pair of VIP tickets to the opening concert of the Classical Spree
and meet Maestro Kent Nagano!

Purchase a minimum of two Classical Spree concerts and you become eligible to win front row seats at the OSM’s concert on the Esplanade of Olympic Park, August 7! From the Parterre seated area, you will contemplate the Orchestra’s magic and even meet its conductor Kent Nagano during a private post-concert cocktail.

Your participation couldn’t be made any simpler: by purchasing two concerts or more through or at the OSM ticket office, you are automatically entered in the draw to win 1 of 10 pairs of tickets, next August 1**. Get ready to immerse yourself at the heart of the music by transforming your concert experience into a simply unforgettable adventure!

*Valid exclusively for tickets purchased at or at the OSM box office. Purchases via the Place des Arts website or ticket services will not be entered into the draw.
**For details, please consult the Contest Rules.

Beethoven’s Piano Concerto no. 3 was premiered on April 5, 1803, on a mammoth program that also featured his first two symphonies. Beethoven himself played piano, although he had no time to fully transcribe his part, leaving his page-turner to decipher empty pages with incomprehensible scribbles on them. The work begins with an orchestral introduction summarizing the whole Allegro con brio with its dramatic first and romantic second theme; the movement ends with piano and orchestra together at last. The ensuing Largo begins with a sustained, shimmering hymn that an 1803 audience member called “holy, distant, and celestial Harmony.” The decorative filigree of this movement extends all the way to 124th notes for the piano, supported by muted strings. In the final Rondo, an extensive coda shifts into C major and buoyant 6/8 time, ending the concerto with pianistic fireworks.

Bizet’s “Farandole” originally appeared as incidental music for Daudet’s play L’Arlésienne, the story of a young man who falls for an unfaithful woman from Arles; the farandole is a traditional chain dance of the Arles region in southern France. In this excerpt from the subsequent orchestral suite, an initial minor melody—brisk and almost martial—alternates with a bright, rushing tune led by the flutes, until the two themes come together, both in major, for a triumphant conclusion to the dance.

© Ariadne Lih


Kent Nagano

Herbert Schuch