Classical spree - Saturday - Maison symphonique

12. The OSM and Kent Nagano : from Prokofiev to Glenn Miller

12. The OSM and Kent Nagano : from Prokofiev to Glenn Miller

Maison symphonique de Montréal

From the Concerto for two trombones by young Canadian composer Matthew Ricketts to the swingin’ tunes of Glenn Miller and Tommy Dorsey, brass instruments take centre stage under the baton of Maestro Kent Nagano. Treat yourself to this exquisite musical cocktail, a mix of jazz and classical spiced with the gripping modulations and humorous touches of Prokofiev’s Symphony no. 1.

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Kent Nagano, conductor
Ian Bousfield, trombone
James Box, trombone


Prokofiev, Symphony no. 1 in D major, op. 25, “Classical”

Matthew Ricketts, Halo, Concerto for two trombones, World premiere – OSM commission

David Martin, Tommy and Glenn, Homage to Glenn Miller and Tommy Dorsey, World premiere – OSM commission


$22 to $45*


SATURDAY August 10, 2019

1:00 P.M.

Win a pair of VIP tickets to the opening concert of the Classical Spree
and meet Maestro Kent Nagano!

Purchase a minimum of two Classical Spree concerts and you become eligible to win front row seats at the OSM’s concert on the Esplanade of Olympic Park, August 7! From the Parterre seated area, you will contemplate the Orchestra’s magic and even meet its conductor Kent Nagano during a private post-concert cocktail.

Your participation couldn’t be made any simpler: by purchasing two concerts or more through or at the OSM ticket office, you are automatically entered in the draw to win 1 of 10 pairs of tickets, next August 1**. Get ready to immerse yourself at the heart of the music by transforming your concert experience into a simply unforgettable adventure!

*Valid exclusively for tickets purchased at or at the OSM box office. Purchases via the Place des Arts website or ticket services will not be entered into the draw.
**For details, please consult the Contest Rules.

Prokofiev composed his First Symphony shortly after his first two piano concertos and Scythian Suite—all strikingly dissonant, modernist works. Premiered in 1918, the “Classical” Symphony departs significantly from this trend. In his memoirs, Prokofiev wrote, “It seemed to me that if Haydn had lived in our day, he would have retained his own compositional style while absorbing something of the new. This was the kind of symphony I wanted to write.”

Prokofiev’s writing is so compact that the Symphony barely runs fifteen minutes. In the opening sonata, the second theme spans two whole octaves; the Larghetto is a rondo with a smooth, high violin melody for the refrain. The Gavotte and central trio replace the traditional minuet, with some adventurous modulation in the outer gavotte sections, and the dashing finale returns to brilliant, Haydn-inspired sonata form.

Trombone takes center stage in the two premieres that follow. Matthew Ricketts’ double trombone concerto is his second OSM commission after last season’s Chaakapesh: The Trickster’s Quest (in collaboration with Cree playwright Tomson Highway). Tommy and Glenn, by conductor and trombonist David Martin, honours two trombonists and bandleaders of the swing era—Glenn Miller, beloved for his dance band and seamlessly crafted arrangements, and Tommy Dorsey, renowned for his versatile big band and instrumental prowess.


Kent Nagano, OSM Conductor Emeritus

Ian Bousfield

James Box