Classical spree - friday - Maison symphonique

5. The Romanticism of Vadim Repin under the direction of Kent Nagano

5. The Romanticism of Vadim Repin under the direction of Kent Nagano

Maison symphonique de Montréal

As night falls, a toymaker’s store comes to life as dolls throw themselves into a series of unruly dances: welcome to Respighi’s Magic Toyshop! As for Bruch’s Violin Concerto no. 1, it has become so famous as to virtually eclipse the composer’s other works. Its performance will showcase the dazzling virtuosity and lyricism of violinist Vadim Repin.

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Kent Nagano, conductor
Vadim Repin, violin

 

Respighi/Rossini, The Magic Toyshop, excerpts

Bruch, Violin Concerto no. 1 in G minor, op. 26

Mr. Repin produced a big, seductive sound and played the solo line with an easygoing lyricism engulfing islands of fiery virtuosity.”

Allan Kozzin, The New York Times

TICKET PRICES

$22 to $45*

pastille_17_EN

FRIDAY August 9, 2019

8:15 P.M.

Win a pair of VIP tickets to the opening concert of the Classical Spree
and meet Maestro Kent Nagano!

Purchase a minimum of two Classical Spree concerts and you become eligible to win front row seats at the OSM’s concert on the Esplanade of Olympic Park, August 7! From the VIP loge, you will contemplate the Orchestra’s magic and even meet its conductor Kent Nagano during a private post-concert cocktail.

Your participation couldn’t be made any simpler: by purchasing two concerts or more through osm.ca or at the OSM ticket office, you are automatically entered in the draw to win 1 of 10 pairs of tickets, next August 1**. Get ready to immerse yourself at the heart of the music by transforming your concert experience into a simply unforgettable adventure!

*Valid exclusively for tickets purchased at osm.ca or at the OSM box office. Purchases via the Place des Arts website or ticket services will not be entered into the draw.
**For details, please consult the Contest Rules.
PROGRAMME NOTE

From 1858 until his death in 1868, Rossini and his wife hosted renowned salon evenings at their villa outside Paris. There, young musicians and intellectuals enjoyed Rossini’s gourmandise and the musical manifestations of his famous wit—songs and piano miniatures that the composer called his Péchés de vieillesse. These good-humoured, tongue-in-cheek, delightfully zany pieces are Erik Satie avant la lettre with titles like “Abortive Polka” and Four hors-d’oeuvre: Radishes, Anchovies, Gherkins, and Butter.

Commissioned by Ballets Russes director Sergei Diaghilev in 1918 (shortly before Pulcinella was commissioned from Stravinsky), Respighi’s La boutique fantasque is a brilliant pastiche of Rossini’s Péchés. Colourfully scored with delightful timbres from celesta, harp, bells, and piano, the ballet consists chiefly of dances performed by mechanical dolls, such as the “Tarantella,” “Mazurka,” and “Can-Can.”

The seductive appeal of Bruch’s First Violin Concerto was immediately apparent at its 1868 premiere, in its final version revised by Brahms’ intimate friend, violinist Joseph Joachim. One contemporary review wrote, “The two main movements, the Adagio and the energetically clever Finale-Allegro are excellently contrasted; the former will, on its own merit, pioneer a way though music.” The innovative opening Prelude is almost like a fantasy with two dreamy, expansive melodies framed on either side by solemn chords. These chords lead into an inspired, lyrical sonata-form Adagio, followed by a crackling Finale.

© Ariadne Lih

MORE INFORMATION

Kent Nagano

Vadim Repin

DOWNLOAD THE BROCHURE

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Virée classique - Vendredi - Maison symphonique

5. Le romantisme de Vadim Repin sous la direction de Kent Nagano

5. Le romantisme de Vadim Repin sous la direction de Kent Nagano

Maison symphonique de Montréal

À la nuit tombée, le magasin du fabricant d’automates s’anime et les poupées se lancent dans une suite de danses effrénées : bienvenue dans La Boutique fantasque de Respighi, sur des thèmes de Rossini! Quant au Concerto pour violon no1 de Bruch, il a acquis une telle renommée qu’il a pratiquement éclipsé les autres œuvres du compositeur. Cette pièce mettra en valeur la virtuosité et le lyrisme du violoniste Vadim Repin.

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Kent Nagano, chef d’orchestre
Vadim Repin, violon

 

Respighi/Rossini, La boutique fantasque, extraits arr. Malcolm Sargent (15 min)

Bruch, Concerto pour violon no 1 en sol mineur, op. 26

Repin a fait entendre une sonorité imposante et séduisante, et joué la partie solo avec un lyrisme décontracté où pointaient des élans de virtuosité ardente »

Allan Kozzin, The New York Times

PRIX DES BILLETS

De 22$ à 45$*

pastille_17_fr

VENDREDI 9 AOÛT 2019

20h15

Gagnez une paire de billets VIP pour le concert d’ouverture de la Virée classique
et rencontrez maestro Kent Nagano !

Achetez au minimum deux concerts de la Virée classique et courez la chance d’assister, en premières loges, au célèbre concert de l’OSM sur l’Esplanade du Parc olympique le 7 août prochain! Depuis la loge VIP, vous pourrez contempler la magie de l’Orchestre et même rencontrer son chef Kent Nagano lors du cocktail privé qui suivra.

Comment participer ? Rien de plus simple : en achetant deux concerts ou plus via osm.ca ou à la billetterie de l’OSM, vous serez automatiquement éligible pour le tirage des 10 paires de billets qui aura lieu le 1er août prochain**. Préparez-vous à plonger au cœur de la musique en transformant votre expérience de concert en une aventure tout simplement inoubliable!

* Valable seulement sur osm.ca et à la billetterie de l’OSM. Les achats sur le site web ou à la billetterie de la Place des Arts ne seront pas comptabilisés.
**Pour plus de détails, consultez les règlements du concours.
NOTE DE PROGRAMME

De 1858 à sa mort dix ans plus tard, Giacomo Rossini tenait salon avec sa femme dans leur demeure non loin de Paris. La jeunesse musicienne et intellectuelle s’y pressait pour goûter tant ses friandises que ses compositions pleines d’esprit, chansons et courtes pièces de piano que le maître qualifiait de Péchés de vieillesse. Ces miniatures délicieuses, débordantes de bonne humeur et pince-sans-rire anticipent l’art d’Erik Satie avec des titres comme Fausse couche de polka mazurka et Quatre hors-d’œuvre (Les radis, Les anchois, Les cornichons, Le beurre)

Commandée à Ottorino Respighi par les Ballets russes et son directeur Serge de Diaghilev en 1918 – un peu avant la commande de Pulcinella à Stravinski –, La Boutique fantasque se présente comme un brillant pastiche des Péchés de Rossini. Instrumentée de façon très colorée, avec la présence de célesta, harpe, cloches et piano, la musique consiste en danses, comme Tarentella, Mazurka ou Can-Can, accompagnant les mouvements de poupées mécaniques.

Le Premier Concerto pour violon de Max Bruch a séduit dès sa création en 1868, dans sa version finale révisée par le violoniste Joseph Joachim, un proche ami de Brahms. Le Vorspiel (prélude) d’ouverture se déroule comme une fantaisie, avec deux thèmes rêveurs encadrés d’accords solennels, accords qui débouchent sur un Adagio lyrique de forme-sonate, avant le crépitant finale. Un critique a noté à l’époque que « les deux principaux mouvements, l’Adagio ainsi que l’ingénieux Allegro energico conclusif, forment un magnifique contraste », ajoutant que « le premier ouvre par son mérite particulier une voie nouvelle à la musique ».

 

© Ariadne Lih
Traduction de François Filiatrault

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

Kent Nagano

Vadim Repin

TÉLÉCHARGER LA BROCHURE