Classical spree - Saturday - Salle Claude-Léveillé

11. The trio of Laureates

The Trio Of Laureates

Salle Claude -Léveillée

Three young musicians gifted with undeniable talent and great sensitivity, each one a winner of the prestigious OSM Competition, come together for an exceptional performance of Brahms’ Piano Trio no. 2, op. 87. The richness and depth of the thematic material, the variation form, and borrowings from the Hungarian Gypsy style combine to make this work one of the composer’s most characteristic compositions.

Laureates of the OSM Competition
Timothy Chooi, violin (2010)
Bruno Tobon, cello (2016)
Carter Johnson, piano (2018)

« Clearly a violinist of talent, Chooi has a solid technique and an easy, effortless way of playing “ – Calgary Herald

TICKET PRICES

$10*

pastille_17_EN

SATURDAY August 10, 2019

11:45 A.M.

Redirection to Place des Arts

PROGRAMME NOTE

Brahms had a lifelong affinity for the piano trio, writing his first as a young man in 1853. The Second Piano Trio, composed in 1883, perfectly showcases his high maturity. Past master of chamber music, Brahms uses the trio medium to create gorgeous integrated textures as well as clever dialogue, both rife with his compositional signatures. Creative variation pervades this piece—Brahms joked that the variations of the second movement should earn him an extra fee, since audiences had “come to expect them from him.” Violin and cello playing in parallel octaves, a typically Brahmsian nod to folk music, is another recurring feature: all four movements begin this way.

The opening Allegro cycles through an abundance of musical ideas, with an emphasis on the bold, triadic opening motive in various transformations; this motive, played in octaves by all three instruments, closes the movement. The passionate theme of the A minor Andante shares the style of Brahms’ many Romani-inspired works, and the ensuing variations contain everything from melancholy call-and-response to fiery, fully voiced chords. The skittish, urgent Scherzo has an evocative fairy-tale feeling, while the broad, singing Trio sounds unabashedly romantic. The final Allegro giocoso again unfolds with conspicuous variation of the main theme, and an extensive coda gives the Trio a powerful and harmonically bold conclusion.

© Ariadne Lih

DOWNLOAD THE BROCHURE

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Virée classique - samedi - Salle Claude-Léveillé

11.Le trio de lauréats

Le trio de lauréats

Salle Claude-Léveillée

Trois jeunes musiciens dotés d’un incontestable talent et d’une grande sensibilité, tous lauréats du prestigieux Concours OSM, se réunissent pour un concert exceptionnel. Ils interprètent le Trio no 2, op. 87 de Brahms. La richesse et la profondeur des thèmes, la forme variation et les emprunts au style tzigane hongrois font de cette œuvre l’une des plus stylistiquement représentatives du compositeur.

Lauréats du Concours OSM
Timothy Chooi, violon (2010)
Bruno Tobon, violoncelle (2016)
Carter Johnson, piano (2018)

Dvořák, Romance pour piano et violon en fa mineur, op. 11, B. 38

Brahms, Trio avec piano no 2 en do majeur, op. 87

« Clairement un violoniste de talent, Chooi a une technique solide et une façon de jouer avec aisance, sans efforts » – Calgary Herald

PRIX DES BILLETS

10$*

pastille_17_fr

SAMEDI 10 AOÛT 2019

11h45

NOTE DE PROGRAMME

La composition de ses trois Trios avec piano couvre toute la carrière créatrice de Johannes Brahms. Le premier date de 1853 et le deuxième, trente ans plus tard, témoigne de la pleine maturité de son style. Passé maître en musique de chambre, Brahms ménage dans ce genre spécifique, entre autres éléments tout à fait caractéristiques de son style, d’opulentes textures comme d’inventifs dialogues. L’art de la variation imprègne son Trio avec piano nº 2 en do majeur – le compositeur disait à la blague que les variations du deuxième mouvement devraient lui valoir un petit extra, puisqu’elles comblaient les attentes du public! – et le jeu en octaves parallèles du violon et du violoncelle, clin d’œil à la musique populaire typique du maître, revient au début de chacun des quatre mouvements.

L’Allegro initial s’élabore autour d’une pléthore d’idées musicales, avec un accent particulier sur l’énergique motif triadique qui l’amorce et ses diverses transformations, avant que les trois instruments ne le jouent à l’octave en guise de conclusion. Le thème passionné, en la mineur, de l’Andante con moto relève du goût de Brahms pour la musique tzigane, tandis que ses variations vont de la profonde mélancolie des protagonistes à la fougue de puissants accords communs. Traversé par un sentiment d’urgence, l’ombrageux Scherzo dégage une atmosphère de conte de fée, et son ample Trio, un lyrisme résolument romantique. L’Allegro giocoso final se déploie lui aussi en variant le thème principal, avant que l’œuvre ne se conclue sur une longue et vigoureuse coda.

 

© Ariadne Lih
Traduction de François Filiatrault

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

Carter Johnson

TIMOTHY CHOOI

TÉLÉCHARGER LA BROCHURE