Classical spree – saturday – cinquième salle

24. The Extraordinary Vadim Repin in Recital

24. The Extraordinary Vadim Repin in Recital

Cinquième salle

Considered by his musical peers as one of the greatest living violinists, Vadim Repin gives a recital featuring two signature works of the repertoire for violin: Debussy’s last major composition, his Sonata no. 3, as well as Grieg’s Sonata no.3. Tchaikovsky’s poignant “Lensky’s Aria” from his opera Eugene Onegin, completes this programme.

Vadim Repin, violin
Mari Kodama, piano

 

Debussy, Sonata no. 3 for Violin and Piano in G minor

Grieg, Violin Sonata no. 3 in C minor, op. 45

Tchaikovsky, Eugene Onegin, op. 24: Act II “Lensky’s Aria”

« Kodama is widely experienced and her performances of sonatas she calls “lyrical islands” are graceful, fluent and musically transparent. Everything proceeds in a faultless flow of sound » – Gramophone

TICKET PRICES

$27*

pastille_17_EN

SATURDAY, August 10 2019

6:45 P.M.

PROGRAMME NOTE

“I finally finished the Sonata,” wrote Debussy in 1917. “In a very human spirit of contradiction, it is full of a joyous tumult.” The Violin Sonata premiered that same year in what would be the composer’s last concert appearance. The opening Allegro alternates between passion and almost hypnotic calm, while the capricious Intermède begins with a violin somersault and features a sinuous, seductive second theme. Both second and third movements display Spanish influences; Debussy described the Finale’s main theme running in circles “like a snake biting its own tail.”

Grieg considered his three sonatas among his very best works and remarked on the comparatively “wider outlook” of the 1886 Violin Sonata, which focuses more on bold, expressive structure and harmony than specifically Norwegian traits. After the dark and stormy Allegro, the central movement frames an upbeat dance with poignant outer sections; structured ABA’B’, the swirling finale brings violin and piano into rapid-fire dialogue.

The celebrated tenor aria from Tchaikovsky’s Eugene Onegin concludes this recital. Lensky, the poet, muses on his premonitions of death and his love for his fiancée Olga as he waits for his sometime friend, Eugene Onegin, to arrive to the duel that will shortly kill him. The famed first and last line: “Where have you gone, o golden days of my spring?”

MORE INFORMATION

Vadim Repin

DOWNLOAD THE BROCHURE

Virée classique - samedi - cinquième salle

24. L’extraordinaire Vadim Repin en récital

24. L’extraordinaire Vadim Repin en récital

Cinquième salle

Considéré par ses pairs comme l’un des plus grands violonistes actuels, Vadim Repin propose un récital réunissant deux œuvres phares du répertoire violonistique : la Sonate no3 de Debussy, sa dernière composition importante, et la Sonate no3 de Grieg.  Le poignant Air de Lenski, tiré de l’opéra Eugène Onéguine de Tchaïkovski, complète ce programme.

Vadim Repin, violon

Mari Kodama, piano

 

Debussy, Sonate pour violon et piano en sol mineur

Grieg, Sonate pour violon et piano no 3 en do mineur, op. 45

Tchaïkovski, Eugène Onéguine, op. 24 : Acte II « Air de Lenski »

« Kodama jouit d’une vaste expérience et ses prestations des sonates, qu’elle appelle des « îles lyriques » sont gracieuses, fluides et transparentes. Tout découle d’une sonorité infaillible. » – Gramophone

PRIX DES BILLETS

27$*

pastille_17_fr

SAMEDI 10 AOÛT 2019

18h45

Redirection vers la Place des Arts

NOTE DE PROGRAMME

« J’ai enfin terminé la sonate », écrivit Debussy en 1917, ajoutant : « par une contradiction bien humaine, elle est pleine d’un joyeux tumulte. » Il s’agissait de la Sonate pour violon et piano en sol, créée la même année lors de la dernière apparition en concert du musicien. L’Allegro initial fait alterner des élans passionnés et des passages d’un calme presque hypnotique. Plein de caprice, l’Intermède commence par une pirouette du violon et déroule un second thème sinueux et séducteur. Le finale, comme le précédent, laisse transparaître des influences espagnoles, et Debussy a décrit son thème principal comme « une idée tournant sur elle-même comme un serpent qui se mord la queue ».

Edvard Grieg considérait ses trois Sonates pour violon et piano parmi ses œuvres les plus abouties; il estimait que la troisième, en do mineur et achevée en 1887, était la plus ambitieuse, qui tablait davantage sur une structure et une harmonie propres à une grande intensité expressive que sur des éléments plus typiquement norvégiens. Après un sombre et tumultueux Allegro molto, le mouvement central encadre une danse à contretemps par des passages pleins de tendresse, avant que le finale n’engage les protagonistes dans un tournoyant dialogue.

Le célèbre air de ténor de l’opéra Eugène Onéguine de Tchaïkovski termine ce récital. Le poète Lenski jongle avec sa possible mort imminente et pense à son amour pour Olga, sa fiancée, en attendant le duel au cours duquel son ancien ami Eugène Onéguine le tuera. C’est là qu’il chante l’air « Où vous êtes-vous enfuies, belles années de ma jeunesse? »

© Ariadne Lih
Traduction de François Filiatrault

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

Vadim Repin

TÉLÉCHARGER LA BROCHURE