Classical spree - Saturday - Piano Nobile

28. Opera Soiree

28. Opera Soiree

Piano Nobile

Accompanied by Marie-Ève Scarfone, collaborative pianist at the Opéra de Montréal and OSM, two brilliant lyric artists will guide you through great moments of opera, with a vast selection of arias and duos. The warm, luminous voice of Leslie Ann Bradley and the crystalline tones of Mario Bahg, winner of the Montreal International Music Competition in 2018, will transport you through a gamut of emotions.

Leslie Ann Bradley, soprano
Mario Bahg, tenor
Marie-Ève Scarfone, piano

 

Great opera arias and duets

« Soprano Leslie Ann Bradley gave a performance of sweeping virtuosity and radiance.” – Opera Going Toronto

TICKET PRICES

$22*

pastille_17_EN

SATURDAY August 10, 2019

8:45 P.M.

Redirection to the Place des Arts

PROGRAMME NOTE

This recital touches on three cornerstones of nineteenth-century opera: father-daughter relationships, romantic love, and, of course, parties! In “O mio babbino caro,” Gianni Schicchi’s daughter (successfully) implores him to help the Donati family, thereby enabling her marriage. Farewell aria “Ebben, ne andrò lontana” occurs after the title character, La Wally, has been banished by her father for refusing to marry the local baritone; she resolves to seek out some solitary mountain refuge. A contemporary of Puccini, Alfredo Catalani was closely associated with Italian Scapigliatura or bohemianism, which favoured the rugged natural settings and morbid linking of love and death found in La Wally.

As for love, Nadir’s romance from Les pêcheurs de perles recalls the enchanting voice of Hindu priestess Leïla; Don José’s passionate declaration of love for Carmen foreshadows his dangerous obsession; and the duet that stages Mimi and Rodolfo’s first kiss in La Bohème incorporates the Rodolfo motif from his earlier aria, “Che gelida manina.”

Two beloved numbers from La Traviata contrast Alfredo’s love with Violetta’s life of desperate pleasure and folly—one public drinking song and one private monologue. Two other party scenes embody libertinism and love, respectively. During the opening revels of Rigoletto, “Questa o quella” introduces the cynical, womanizing Duke of Mantua, while the two protagonists of The Merry Widow finally confess their affection for one another in “Lippen schweigen,” the quintessential Viennese operetta waltz.

DOWNLOAD THE BROCHURE

Virée classique - samedi - Piano Nobile

28. Soirée à l’opéra

28. Soirée à l’opéra

Piano Nobile

Accompagnés par Marie-Ève Scarfone, répétitrice à l’Opéra de Montréal et à l’OSM, deux brillants artistes lyriques vous feront revivre de grands moments d’opéra à travers plusieurs airs et duos célèbres. La voix chaude et lumineuse de Leslie Ann Bradley et le timbre clair et radieux de Mario Bahg, lauréat du Concours musical international de Montréal en 2018, vous offriront une somptueuse gamme d’émotions.

Leslie Ann Bradley, soprano
Mario Bahg, ténor (lauréat du CMIM 2018)
Marie-Ève Scarfone, piano

 

Grands airs et duos d’opéras

« Soprano Leslie Ann Bradley gave a performance of sweeping virtuosity and radiance. » – Opera Going Toronto

PRIX DES BILLETS

22$*

pastille_17_fr

SAMEDI 10 AOÛT 2019

20h45

Redirection vers la Place des Arts

NOTE DE PROGRAMME

Ce récital aborde trois des principaux thèmes de l’opéra du XIXe siècle : les relations père-fille, la passion romantique et, bien sûr, les réjouissances de tous ordres. Dans l’air « O mio babbino caro » (Ô mon petit papa chéri), la fille de Gianni Schicchi implore, avec succès, son père de venir en aide à la famille Donati, afin de favoriser son propre mariage. L’air d’adieu « Ebben? Ne andrò lontana » (Eh bien, je partirai au loin) arrive après que Wally a été bannie par son père pour avoir refusé d’épouser le chasseur Gellner, avant de trouver refuge dans une montagne solitaire – Alfredo Catalani, contemporain de Puccini, adhérait au mouvement anticonformiste de la Scapigliatura, ou bohème italienne, qui privilégiait les décors de paysages accidentés où, comme dans La Wally, l’amour et la mort tissent des liens funestes.

Deux airs et un duo illustrent la passion amoureuse. La romance de Nadir, dans Les Pêcheurs de perles, évoque la voix enchanteresse de la prêtresse hindoue Léïla. La déclaration d’amour enflammée de Don José à Carmen laisse présager leur funeste destin. Et le duo durant lequel Mimi et Rodolfo échangent, dans La Bohème, leur premier baiser reprend le motif de l’air de ce dernier « Che gelida manina » (Quelle petite main gelée).

Deux morceaux toujours populaires tirés de La Traviata mettent en contraste le sentiment amoureux d’Alfredo et la vie débauchée de Violetta : un air à boire entonné en public suivi d’un monologue tout intérieur. Deux autres scènes festives incarnent respectivement le libertinage et l’amour véritable : durant le divertissement sur lequel s’ouvre Rigoletto, l’air « Questa o quella » (Celle-ci ou celle-là) montre tout le cynisme du tombeur qu’est le duc de Mantoue, tandis que les deux protagonistes de La Veuve joyeuse s’avouent leur amour dans le duo « Lippen schweigen » (Heure exquise), quintessence de la valse d’opérette viennoise.

© Ariadne Lih
Traduction de François Filiatrault

TÉLÉCHARGER LA BROCHURE