EDUCATION AT THE OSM

EDUCATION AT THE OSM

Since its founding in 1934, the OSM has positioned education at the heart of its mission. Through the Orchestra’s bold, ground-breaking initiatives, music leaves a lasting impression on the lives of the younger generations. At present, close to 30,000 young people are directly affected every year by the activities of the OSM’s education department, whether by young-audience concerts, programs for young musicians, or special projects. The education division collaborates with numerous partners in cultural, community and musical-instruction circles in order to make the OSM’s artistic and educational resources available, along with the expertise of its musicians. Support for the rising generations is a source of pride for the OSM and a driving force in its commitment.

November is the month of youth

Taking its cue from UNESCO, which celebrates World Children’s Day each year on November 20, the OSM has chosen November to highlight its constant and ongoing commitment to all youth.

> OUR ACTIVITIES IN NOVEMBER

 

OUR ACTIVITIES AND CONCERTS

FOR SCHOOLS

Discover our Youth Concerts with their facilitation or staging, allowing students between 5 and 17 to discover the orchestra in all its aspects.

FOR FAMILIES

The Children’s Corner series presents fun-filled concerts intended for 5 to 12 year olds as a means to discover the orchestral repertoire with the family.

OSM COMPETITION

The most important performance competition reserved for Canadian musicians. A highpoint in the musical season and an opportunity for the general public to discover outstanding young talents.

 

EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES AND ACTIVITIES

Consult the learning resources developed by the OSM for use by teachers and by parents who wish to accompany their children in their musical discoveries. These resources can be used in preparing a concert experience, to round off the musical material presented in class, or simply to kindle an interest in music on a case-by-case basis.

INTRODUCTION TO THE ORCHESTRA

The OSM offers an educational guide for discovering the symphony orchestra in all its facets. Learn about instrument families, the role of the conductor, great moments in the history of orchestral music, and much more.

CONCERT GUIDES

Prepare your youngsters for their visit to the OSM with this content developed especially for young-audience concerts. With the program’s theme and musical repertoire fresh in mind, they will be in a position to enjoy the concert that much more.

CONCERT VIDEO

Around the World in 80 Days…Or Almost!

An OSM concert-spectacle to be watched in its entirety in class or at home, accompanied by a listening guide. The OSM is pleased to make this concert video available free of charge to all young music lovers in the province and beyond. For 5 to 12 year olds.

OSM AT YOUR SCHOOL

OSM musicians meet with school groups at informal presentations, music facilitations or ensemble rehearsals. These activities are often inspiring and motivating for students.

MASTERCLASSES

Every year the OSM welcomes the greatest international musicians as soloists and conductors. Advanced music students are invited to refine their talent with OSM guest artists, an exceptional contribution to their training.

 

COMMITMENTS AND COMMUNITY

LA MUSIQUE AUX ENFANTS

An initiative of the OSM’s and of its music director, Kent Nagano, La musique aux enfants is a musical prekindergarten and kindergarten in the Montréal North neighborhood that enables over 200 children from disadvantaged backgrounds to benefit from intensive instruction in music.

L’ÉDUCATION À L’OSM

L’ÉDUCATION À L’OSM

Depuis sa fondation en 1934, l’OSM place l’éducation au cœur de sa mission. Grâce à des initiatives audacieuses et innovantes, l’OSM permet aux jeunes générations d’inscrire durablement la musique dans leur parcours de vie. À présent, ce sont près de 30 000 jeunes qui sont directement touchés annuellement par les activités du service d’éducation de l’OSM, qu’il s’agisse des concerts jeune public, des programmes pour les jeunes musiciens ou des projets spéciaux. Le secteur éducatif collabore avec de nombreux partenaires du milieu culturel, communautaire et de l’enseignement musical, afin de rendre accessibles les ressources artistiques et pédagogiques de l’OSM ainsi que l’expertise de ses musiciens. Le soutien à la relève est une source de fierté et un moteur d’engagement à l’OSM.

NOVEMBRE C’EST LE MOIS DE LA JEUNESSE À L’OSM

Prenant le pas de l’UNESCO, qui a célèbre chaque 20 novembre la journée mondiale de l’enfance, l’OSM a choisi le mois de novembre pour rappeler son engagement constant et soutenu pour la jeunesse dans son ensemble.

> CONSULTER TOUTES NOS ACTIVITÉS DE NOVEMBRE

 

NOS ACTIVITÉS ET CONCERTS

POUR LES ÉCOLES

Découvrez nos Matinées jeunesse avec animation ou mise en scène, permettant aux élèves âgés de 5 à 17 ans de découvrir l’orchestre sous toutes ses facettes.

POUR LA FAMILLE

La série Jeux d’enfants propose des concerts ludiques destinés aux 5 à 12 ans pour découvrir le répertoire symphonique en famille.

CONCOURS OSM

Le plus important concours d’interprétation destiné aux musiciens canadiens. Un moment fort de la saison musicale et une opportunité pour le grand public de découvrir de jeunes talents exceptionnels.

 

RESSOURCES ET ACTIVITÉS ÉDUCATIVES

Consultez les ressources pédagogiques développées par l’OSM pour l’usage des enseignants et des parents qui souhaitent accompagner les découvertes musicales de leurs jeunes. Ces ressources peuvent être utilisées pour préparer la venue au concert, pour compléter la matière musicale vue en classe ou tout simplement pour susciter un intérêt musical de façon ponctuelle.

INTRODUCTION À L'ORCHESTRE

L’OSM propose un guide éducatif pour découvrir l’orchestre symphonique sous toutes ses facettes. Découvrez les familles d’instruments, le rôle du chef d’orchestre, les grands moments de l’histoire de la musique symphonique et bien plus encore.

GUIDES PÉDAGOGIQUES

Préparez vos jeunes à leur visite à l’OSM par ce contenu développé spécialement pour les concerts jeune public. En ayant en tête la thématique et le répertoire musical au programme, ils seront en mesure d’apprécier pleinement le concert.

VIDÉO
DE CONCERT

Le Tour du monde en 80 jours… ou presque!

Un concert-spectacle de l’OSM à visionner intégralement en classe ou à la maison, accompagné d’un guide d’écoute. L’OSM est heureux de rendre cette captation disponible gratuitement pour tous les petits mélomanes de la province et au-delà. Pour les 5 à 12 ans.

L'OSM
À VOTRE ÉCOLE

Les musiciens de l’OSM rencontrent des groupes scolaires lors de présentations informelles, animations musicales ou répétitions d’ensembles. Des rencontres souvent inspirantes et motivantes pour les élèves.

COURS
DE MAÎTRE

L’OSM accueille chaque année les plus grands musiciens internationaux à titre de solistes et de chefs. Les étudiants de niveau supérieur sont invités à se perfectionner avec les artistes invités de l’OSM, une contribution exceptionnelle à leur formation.

 

ENGAGEMENTS ET COMMUNAUTÉ

L’OSM invite les Québécoises et Québécois à prendre part à la vie musicale en proposant des projets inclusifs favorisation l’intégration sociale. Des activités de médiation sont offertes : soutien à la francisation, projets d’accompagnements de nouveaux arrivants et d’enfants atteints du spectre de l’autisme, entre autres. Également soucieux de soutenir la relève musicale, l’OSM offre des opportunités de prestation et de formation aux interprètes, chefs, compositeurs et orchestres de jeunes, développant de nombreux partenariats avec le milieu de l’enseignement et des amateurs.

LA MUSIQUE AUX ENFANTS

Initiative de l’OSM et de son directeur musical Kent Nagano, La musique aux enfants est une prématernelle et maternelle musicale dans le quartier de Montréal-Nord permettant à plus de 200 enfants issus de milieux défavorisés de bénéficier d’un enseignement intensif en musique.