Copied to clipboard

Tchaikovsky’s Poignant Symphony no. 5 2024-2025

After a remarkable performance in 2023, Tianyi Lu is back on the OSM podium to conduct Tchaikovsky’s poignant Symphony no. 5.

Season Presenting Partner

After her remarkable performance in 2023, Tianyi Lu returns to the OSM. She is joined by pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard, undisputed champion of Bartók’s music who performs the composer’s exquisitely poetic Concerto no. 3, infused with elements of Hungarian folklore. This work’s relative tranquility is paired with the tormented inflections of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony no. 5, through which this composer related his most profound personal anxieties.


Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Tianyi Lu, conductor

Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano


Samy Moussa, Nocturne (12 min.)*

*Canadian work

Béla Bartók, Piano Concerto no. 3 in E major, Sz. 119 (23 min.)

Intermission (20 min)

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Symphony no. 5 in E minor, op. 64 (50 min.)

Total duration105minutes